We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Coniston Hotel & Country Estate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Coniston Hotel & Country Estate to your Saves list
The Coniston Hotel & Country Estate
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Skipton | Skipton, Coniston Cold BD23 4EA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coniston Cold
Solihull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Superb stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We had a wonderful few days at this hotel. Nothing was to much trouble for the staff who were always willing to help and there were no problems or concerns for them to deal with. The bedrooms were clean and very comfortable. The bar, restaurants and service was faultless. the crowning glory to this hotel is the food which was stunning, divine, magnificent.

Although the WiFi was freely available the signal was very weak. A minor gripe.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear of the hotel have splendid views over the lake whilst rooms on the front look over...
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBolton, General Manager at The Coniston Hotel & Country Estate, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Many thanks for your lovely feedback I was thrilled to read that you liked all aspects of the Hotel. I have passed on your kind comments on to Craig our Head Chef & team they thrive on this feedback.
I do hope that you will stay again with us in the near future.

Kindest regards

Louise Bolton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    122
    36
    7
    7
See reviews for
90
346
13
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed here recently for a friends wedding. We upgraded our room and we were not disappointed. The room was very spacious with plenty of furniture and amenities. The breakfast was lovely too. The room was dog friendly and the patio doors opened straight onto the garden which was perfect. The staff were friendly and welcoming. Would stay again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBolton, General Manager at The Coniston Hotel & Country Estate, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind words following your recent stay. It was pleasing that you upgraded your room to a luxury room overlooking the 24-acre lake. We hope one day you will come back and enjoy the experience again.

Kindest regards

Louise Bolton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed at the Coniston Hotel for one night only but could not have been more impressed. The staff on reception greeted us with a smile and helpfulness that was to be echoed throughout our stay. Every staff member was polite, pleasant and efficient. We stayed in a Luxury Double room which was spotlessly clean, spacious and comfortable and had a lovely balcony that overlooked the lake - shame the weather meant we couldnt enjoy it!! We ate in the restaurant and the bar and in both the food was of a high standard, beautifully and freshly prepared and served by helpful and couteous staff.
The bar area is a beautiful room that is comfortable and relaxed.
There were 2 weddings in the hotel but residents were not disturbed in anyway by this.
Whilst there we did a half day Bird of Prey experince - the Falconer was very knowledgeable, easy to talk to to and made the experience very enjoyable. We also used the Clay Pigeon Shooting Range and again found the staff helpful and polite.
All in all I would rate this as was one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in and most certainly will return.

Room Tip: Luxury double was well worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBolton, General Manager at The Coniston Hotel & Country Estate, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such an amazing review following your one night break with us.

We pride ourselves on the fact that all the staff are local, very much led by owners who have a very hands on approach which is the secret to the success of Coniston.

We hope to see you back at Coniston soon.

Kindest regards

Louise Bolton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel at the beginning of March 2013. We had been before in 2012 and had enjoyed it so much that we wanted to return to celebrate my husband's 50th birthday. Our friends came with us and we all had a great time. We enjoyed the Clay pigeon shooting and the Falconry. So much so that we have booked to come back again in the Autumn for a 'Hunting' day with the birds of prey. Food was excellent, surroundings pleasant and comfy we loved it!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the lake as this is the most attractive view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBolton, General Manager at The Coniston Hotel & Country Estate, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
I cannot thank you enough for your glowing review following your recent stay with us. I was delighted that you felt the team and the hotel/activities exceeded your expectations in so many ways. I have passed on your kind words to the team.

We look forward to welcoming back in the Autumn.

Kindest regards

Louise Bolton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights, ample car park. The staff are wonderful welcoming and helpful. Had lunch in the Huntsman Lounge, lovely views and feature fireplace, food was good. Bedroom was adequate but bathroom looked tired. Found the mattress to be very hard and uncomfortable as were the pillows. Breakfast was good but, not exceptional. We were greeted by an enormous hairy dog barking at us in the McLeod bar during the evening visit for a nightcap, which I found off putting, when I enquired about the pet policy at reception I was told it was a pet friendly hotel and dogs are allowed in the bedrooms, this is apparently on their website, well if it is I couldn't find it. Had we known this fact I wouldn't have booked this hotel and will not return there, as I am not a pet friendly guest.

Room Tip: Get a lake facing view, if you have an allergy to pets make sure the staff know this so you don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBolton, General Manager at The Coniston Hotel & Country Estate, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review on trip advisor. We are delighted you found the staff wonderful, helpful and that the food was good. But disappointed that breakfast did not meet your expectation – this has been brought to our team’s attention. Please note the classic rooms are undergoing a refurbishment this year.

We understand that while being a pet friendly hotel, we still need to be aware of other guests who are not traveling with pets. We ask pet owners not to leave their pets unattended so that pets do not create a disturbance to other guests. Please accept my sincere apology for not taking the proper steps to ensure your comfort. This type of incident is not typical and generally, our visitor's with pets are aware of other guests and are very accommodating.

We do have a pet policy in place and apologise for it not being displayed on the website. It appears that it has been omitted from our new website and will be reinstated immediately.
Please be assured of my attention in these matters.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed recently at last minute and staff could not be more helpful. Very child friendly, lovely suite over looking the fabulous lake ideal for walks, not far from skipton. will definitely be staying again in future.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBolton, General Manager at The Coniston Hotel & Country Estate, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your kind words following your recent stay with us. I was so pleased that you liked our hotel including the lovely suite overlooking the lake and the location.

Please do come and stay with us again soon so we can once again ensure you have a great stay with us.

Kindest regards

Louise Bolton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed at this Hotel recently as part of a wedding group.
We found the staff to be helpful and pleasant.
The room was clean and very comfortable and the Reception rooms and bars were
warm and welcoming, especially with the open log fires.
The scenery around is stunning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBolton, General Manager at The Coniston Hotel & Country Estate, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review with regards to our staff, Hotel and grounds. The team love praise like this and it really motivates everyone.

You were the first guests to sit outside this year! Let’s hope we have many more to come..
Thank you also for your understanding at breakfast as you mentioned due to extensive numbers sitting down at the same time – the Hotel has always prided itself on cooking a hearty breakfast to order which can take a bittle lit longer.

Bedrooms are allocated to wedding groups for a preferential rate but on occasion allocations can be released 3—weeks prior to the wedding and the Hotel will then have to sell rooms via the internet for a quick sale.

Once again thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Coniston Hotel & Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coniston Hotel & Country Estate

Address: Skipton | Skipton, Coniston Cold BD23 4EA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Coniston Cold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coniston Cold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coniston Hotel & Country Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a 1400 acre estate, this 4 star hotel overlooks its own stunning lake, offers excellent conference and meeting facilities as well as offering a wide range of activities including shooting, Land Rover off-road driving, archery, falconry and fishing. An independent hotel owned by the Bannister family who pride themselves on the friendly and welcoming team across the hotel and the estate. Guests are at the centre of all the major developments decisions made at the hotel. The hotel hosts many weddings and specialises in both leisure breaks as well as corporate packages. A dedicated conference and events manager will work with event organisers to help you combine enjoyable on-site activities such as team building. The hotel works with many of the north of England's leading companies and will prepare a proposal or quotation at any time. If it is a reward or recognition event you are planning then we have plenty of ideas to theme a room or dinner to best set the scene. The Coniston also hosts many other events, large and small from weddings, family celebrations to charity days. The hotel has 71 bedrooms and has the very popular Huntsman's lodge with its panoramic views over the lake and beyond. This restaurant serves food all day from morning coffee, traditional lunch, afternoon tea to dinner in the evening. Free WiFi throughout, makes it an ideal meeting place on the A65 between Skipton and Settle. Shooting at The Coniston Hotel -The clay pigeon shooting ground is a CPSA Premier status and is one of the best in Europe. Absolute beginners to seasoned shooters can have a day to remember. The Land Rover Experience offers a truly exhilarating experience; guests can get to grips with one of the latest specification brand new fleet and tackle some of the most challenging terrain. We also have the Falconry centre and fantastic fishing on the lake or the river Aire. It also has walking and cycling trials for guests to explore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Coniston Hotel & Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coniston Hotel Skipton
The Coniston Hotel & Country Estate Coniston Cold, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Coniston Hotel & Country Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.