We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A year of dining - fine and dandy!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salutation Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Salutation Inn
Church Street | Nettleton, Market Rasen, England
+44 1472 851228
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 26 Restaurants in Market Rasen
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Caistor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A year of dining - fine and dandy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

The 'Boss' and I have been eating at "The Sally" for about a year. Originally it was just the odd early evening meal, but in the last 6 months it has been a weekly outing. Is it worth the two mile round trip walk from Caistor? Let me elaborate:
Atmosphere - can be really nice, especially if its quite busy, with the open fire giving a focus. The interior has been refreshed - an improvement on its previous incarnation. It cannot escape from its history - the bar is a large L-shaped room, with the restaurant semi-screened from the main bar area, with a variety of tables to seat 2, 4 or more. An open fire is usually alight during the winter months. There is a seperate room, ideal for large groups, at the other end of the pub (and it also has a fire when needed).
Service - has always been friendly and obliging.
Mondays - Fish 'N Chip special (2 for £10) - never rated at less than 8.5/10, and now chip portions are slightly bigger, rated at 9/10 on every visit since the autumn ( for both battered and grilled). The fish is never over-cooked,and the handcut chips are spot-on.
Evening meals - have always been well presented, wholesome and good value
Special occasions - Burn's Night; Spanish Night - A lot of effort goes into producing these well cooked and presented meals which have been good value, and held in a very pleasant friendly atmosphere.
Lunch - on Thursday I, and 3 friends, tried one of the current promotional £5 lunches including a pudding. A chioce of two dishes is available, plus two desserts. Great value pub grub - the cottage pie, served with glazed root vegs and cabbage was exactly right for a chill winter's day. The Peach Gateaux served with single cream was substantial. No veggie choice shown, but knowing how adaptable the staff are, and how well the two main cooks perform, I am sure that something suitable would be rustled up. (Jo ????).
Quiz Nights - Thursday night at 2050 - for your £1 entry fee you get a friendly fun quiz (down to John who tweaks the format every week); a chance to win the roll-over jackpot, ranging from £50 - £100; and a mug of homemwde soup and a hunk or two of bread. Lovely.
If you like straight forward food, made with wholesome ingredients, and locally sourced where possible, and at a price which is in keeping with the times we live in - give it a try. The cask beer is pretty good too... .

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    11
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Food not so good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

We had fish & chips, but it was cold. They were very apologetic but we had been told the fish was fresh, but after compaining. The chef came out with a fresh meal but announced sorry but it had only just defrosted!!. Say no more.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jopub1, Owner at Salutation Inn, responded to this review, March 3, 2012
Dear Lizzie dripping s
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and I apologise for the bad experience that you had when you came to visit us in December.
We have Fresh Fish delivered on a regualar basis but at times this can run out. In such cases we either then take it off the menu or we should make you aware that you are still able to have the Fish (if we have reserves in the Freezer) but this would mean a delay. It appears when you came that neither of these two options happened and I can only apologise once more.
All staff have now been reminded on what should happen and I hope we do not have any more occurances like this. We have a good team but at times we are only human!
Please come back and give us another visit as you are very local to us.
Thanking you
Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pretentiously served food at inflated prices”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

We found the food quality to be OK, however it was overpriced for the small size of portions, which were overly fussy in their presentation. The slither of cheesecake was lost on a dinner plate! Must try harder at remembering what pub food really should be ...

  • Visited September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jopub1, Owner at Salutation Inn, responded to this review, December 10, 2011
Dear ptjsjm
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. It is much appreciated that you have done this as we take our customers feedback very seriously. I hope you don't mind me asking but did you bring your concerns to our attention when you visited us? When we get a review we try and work out when the customer came but we are struggling to remember back to September and obviously this is the first we have known about it as the review is dated today!
We have made some menu changes and alterations in how we serve some of our food since September as we have been through some changes and I can say that some of your comments have already been addressed.
We hope if ever you are in the area again that you come back and visit us and that you will then be able to be more positive about your visit.
Thank you once again.
Jo Parsons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Interesting and varied menu, good value, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Only been opened a year so has had to build its own style and character. Service now assured and efficient. Menu covers basics such as Steak and Fish & Chips but explores more subtle tastes such as pea & bean humous with goats cheese and spiced courgette risotto - all at very reasonable prices.
The pub is now a welcoming venue for the whole community, due mainly to the energy and hospitality of its new owner who supervises the menu.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Lincolnshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Food expensive for the little portion recieved, especially the ploughmans lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011 via mobile

Visited the pub for lunch with wife and daughter, couple of drinks, 2 open sandwiches and 1 ploughmans lunch came to £32. Extremly small portions, paid up and left still hungry.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salutation Inn also viewed

Caistor, Lincolnshire
Market Rasen, Lincolnshire
 
Market Rasen, Lincolnshire
Market Rasen, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Salutation Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salutation Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.