We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tollerton Road, Huby YO61 1JB, England (Formerly Tulip Inn York - Burn Hall)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huby
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

Just returned from a 2 night break at Burn Hall. The food was very tasty and plentiful. The staff were very attentive, friendly and made our trip special. A very quiet and rural location but easily accessible to York. The hotel was clean and freshly decorated however the room was on the small side especially as we also had a fold away bed included for our young son.

Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    361
    198
    111
    55
See reviews for
89
619
12
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

Stayed with my wife for a leisure break during the deep freeze and was put into a room with a radiator that was stone cold. Called reception who sent the duty manager to investigate. He was aware that the radiator was faulty, which makes me ask why put anyone in a room with no heating when temperatures outside touched -4. To his credit he up graded us and we moved rooms. I have to say we where not sorry to move from a very dreary room into a better standard room, Most of the rooms are located in a annex which is not seen on any photographs of the hotel which leads you to think it is a old manor house converted into a country hotel? It is not. In fact even the Hall has been modernized and unlike its outer appearance in side is more like a new build Travel Lodge which will suit a lot of people. On the plus side the public area are very good, the breakfast and restaurant served a good standard of food and the staff are very nice and being off season it was good value for money, but it was not what we expected?

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teesside
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

I was worried by some of the negative reviews on this site- they are all wrong! This is a really lovely hotel, food was great and hot, room was spacious and very clean, staff all lovely. I recommend the room welcome pack option- it's a lovely touch. Would definitely stay again, only 20 mins from York centre (avoid rush hour - there were some queues). Thanks!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

We found Burn hall to be an excellent three star Hotel in a great location and easy access to York, only 15 minutes drive away. The breakfast was excellent as was the buffet meal in the Cabaret room. Our room was spotlessly clean and although small, very comfortable. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful. We have visited many four star Hotels and some would not equal Burn Hall. We had a great weekend stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

Burn hall is a three star hotel masqueading as a 4 star at least. A quiet rual location but just minutes from the park & ride to York and all the other Yorkshire attractions.
It's the staff and food that make it special - very friendly from reception to room service to restaurant. It is a conference centre as well but we found it still has the hallmark of a smaller, more attentive ambience. Food quality is excellent at very reasonable prices.

Well worth looking out for their deals but it's the friendliness of the staff that make it special

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakewell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

Our stay was only for 2 nights over a weekend, came away with a wish it had been longer. Really first class from a pleasant welcome to the departure. The room was cosy, comfortable and warm with everything you could wish for. Staff were very friendly and efficient in all departments with a welcome smile. the food both in the Restuarant for evenings or breakfast was plentiful, well cooked and superbly served by friendly pleasant staff. Throughout the Hotel we found it spotlessly clean including our Room and Bathroom. Highly recommended.
All in all, a great visit, will definitely return, made our weekend an unforgettable one.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

I cant believe we stayed at the same hotel on reading some of the negative reviews. We stayed for two nights in an executive room, it was spotless, the staff were very helful and pleasent and couldnt do enought for you. The breakfast and evening meals which are optional were lovely and very hot. No noise at night and room was very warm as we controlled the radiator in our room. The hotel is in the middle of nowhere but that i would say is a positive and we knew that when we booked it. Would we recomment this hotel and return, YES, we deffineatly would. Thank You very much Burn Hotel for the lovely memories.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Huby hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel

Address: Tollerton Road, Huby YO61 1JB, England (Formerly Tulip Inn York - Burn Hall)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Huby
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel in York is packed full of personality and countryside character! We offer fine food, comfortable accommodation and a can-do approach to customer service, which all combine to make our hotel as inviting as its stunning setting! Nestled in the heart of North Yorkshire, the BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel offers the best of both worlds, secluded enough to offer tranquility and relaxation yet close enough to the county's must-visit towns, villages and cities to give you easy access to the shops, cultural hot spots and tourist sites that keep people coming back for more every year! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burn Hall Hotel
BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel Huby, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.