We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booked as they allowed dogs, LOVED THE STAT” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tollerton Road, Huby YO61 1JB, England (Formerly Tulip Inn York - Burn Hall)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huby
Gosport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Booked as they allowed dogs, LOVED THE STAT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We booked a night at this hotel as it allowed dogs to stay at a very reasonable extra of £10.
The room was clean and basic, which was all we wanted. We ordered room service which was fantastic.
Breakfast was very well set up, with a great selection on offer.
There was a wedding on, but only knew this because I saw them in the bar. We didn't hear a thing all night.

Keeping this in the book for future visits.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    361
    198
    111
    55
See reviews for
89
619
12
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We only live in York but with a two year old and me going through a difficult second pregnancy we needed a overnight break. We chose the hotel because of it's remote location - we wanted peace and quiet. The area certainly offered that even if the hotel didn't - There was a large wedding taking place so inevitably there was quite a lot of noise downstairs when we dined. We booked bed and breakfast on the same day. The lovely lady on check in made us feel welcome and we were disappointed with the hotels' 'standard' room. The meal and breakfast were disappointing in our opinion (maybe the chef that night / morning wasn't their usual staff. However, after bringing it to the managers attention he kindly offered us a discount. Good service. We would stay again and even give the dining another go - hoping the same chef isn't on shift.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Generally everything was great although the food service was haphazard and I would recommended the gala dinner but every other hotel I have attended on New Year's eve put's couple together if they are on their own. There was a number of couples sitting together and this was not Valentines Day. It would have been great to share a table and ge to kow people. The mixed table seems to be having more fun as a party.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We had a lovely weekend here.. Will defiantly recommend to people about this hotel .. We will be coming back in the future when we want to visit York again :-) a nice hotel to go and relax at as it's in the middle of no where and very quite. not far in the car to York City centre.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Booked New year's via superbreak

Rooms clean and very warm (not a bad thing as u can always open a window)

The whole evening was well organised with the food a particular highlight

Well done to all at tulip Inn

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Guest

I am glad you had such a good time! Hope to see you this year!

Kind regards

Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Stayed here just after Christmas for something like £50 per night for a basic double, the room is basic but very clean and comfortable beds.
I found the food very good quality, although the drinks aren't cheap, the hotel lacks any vintage chic decor that a more expensive hotel would offer but this one ticks all the boxes it should.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Guest

I was glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards

Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frodsham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We arrived on Sunday evening for a two night stay, booked through Super breaks the deal included breakfast on both mornings and a evening meal on the first night, our room was on the first floor down a series of corridors all of which were decorated exactly the same which caused some of the elderly guests to be disoriented, the hotel was very very hot even with the room radiator turned off the temperature was very warm, a balancing act with opening the window for cooling down was required.

We took our selfs off to the bar for a cold drink but had to chase down the bar staff who were in another room setting up for New Years Eve party (29th) waited 20 mins before getting served, another couple gave up waiting, we were assured more staff would be available later as a coach was due in?

The evening meal starters were very good, the Rib Eye steaks were chewy and more pepper sauce was needed, the deserts were disappointing sticky toffee puddings were stodgy.

Back to the bar more staff but mainly running between the bar and restaurant, long delays before getting served, not much chance of over indulging Birthday or not!

Buffet Breakfast, good quality ingredients but dried out under the lights!!

Do take notice of reviews not everyone was happy with the hotel, that said you pays your money and takes your chances from what we experienced and what others have written some people loved it and some were not so keen?

Room Tip: Pot Luck all looked the same?
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Guest

I am sorry that you had a poor stay in the hotel and I would be delighted to discuss it further with you if you call the hotel or email me on manager@tulipinnyork.com

Thank you

Kind regards

Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel

Address: Tollerton Road, Huby YO61 1JB, England (Formerly Tulip Inn York - Burn Hall)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Huby
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel in York is packed full of personality and countryside character! We offer fine food, comfortable accommodation and a can-do approach to customer service, which all combine to make our hotel as inviting as its stunning setting! Nestled in the heart of North Yorkshire, the BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel offers the best of both worlds, secluded enough to offer tranquility and relaxation yet close enough to the county's must-visit towns, villages and cities to give you easy access to the shops, cultural hot spots and tourist sites that keep people coming back for more every year! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burn Hall Hotel
BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel Huby, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.