We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parsonage Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Parsonage Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Parsonage Hotel & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Street, Escrick YO19 6LF, England (Formerly Parsonage Country House Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Escrick
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

i have just returned from the indulgance package and it was fantastic. From the min you arrive the staff are friendly and cannot do enough for you, the building is georgeous and the package is exellent value for money. The spa is spotless clean and the treatments lovely. The food is out of this world and very well presented. The rooms are beautiful we stayed in an annex away from the main hotel it was lovely and quiet. I cannot fing any fault with this hotel and will be returning many times.

Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    163
    103
    46
    30
    18
See reviews for
53
152
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We just stayed here one night, but wished we had booked in for another. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was quite spacious, clean and cmfortable. Most memorable though as the use of the spa. This really was very relaxing, with a decent sized swimming pool, hot tub, sauna, steam room, aromatherapy and salt room. Would love to go back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rawcliffe, null, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Went to lunch at the parsonage the other Sunday. plenty of choice from the Sunday menu .
However the standard of food when it came was less than you'd expect from a Toby Carvery !
It was Mum had gone to Iceland! The main course consisted of over cooked beef ,brown sludge gravy & part cooked frozen veg. If any of this had seen an oven other than a microwave one I be very surprised. The deserts looked liked they come straight from the freezer section & the cheese & biscuits (for which you had to pay a premium for) must have been left out for an age because all the cheese had a skin forming on it. York is full of better places to spend £20 plus per head ! be warned

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I booked the 'overnight indulgence' package for my mum's birthday, and we were both absolutely thrilled with it. It included spa treatments, afternoon tea, 3 course meal, overnight stay, and breakfast.

We were so impressed with the spa. It was spotlessly clean and had such lovely facilities. We really enjoyed our treatments. It was quiet so I had the gym all to myself as well, which was nice. It's very well equipped! We had out afternoon tea in the spa lounge. Overall it was an amazing spa experience.

Our room was nice, it was a decent size and very clean. It looked a bit dated but I suppose it's not really to my taste. It was very comfortable though.

Our evening meal was another highlight- absoluely gorgeous food. Very tasty and well presented.

Service at breakfast was a little slow but not bad. Again, the dining room was a bit dated but not really an issue.

This hotel, teamed with the spa, is a perfect little getaway. I recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel where the staff are so friendly and nohting is too much trouble. Particular highlights: the afternoon tea in front of a roaring fire, the evening meals, the magnificent breakfasts and the next door Spa, completely free to Parsonage guests, which is extremely comfortable and up market. The Black Bull and Sangthai restaurants within walking distance in the village provide splendid alternatives for evening meals. Atogether a simply wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a "Superior" room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Just returned from a one nights stay which included coffee and petit fours on arrival. Lovely and warm hotel which was most welcome considering the amount of snow outside. Large rooms and tastefully decorated. Slept well but unfortunately we were woken at 6am with noise from next doors bathroom.

Staff friendly at both the hotel and the spa. Beautiful spa facilities with large (cold) swimming pool, larger than average spa pool and 4 different steam/sauna rooms.

We were the only ones at breakfast when we went at about 8.30. The trouble is with these self service breakfasts is that the food drys out under the heat of the lamps when there is a lack of diners. There was a good choice but it would have been nice to have been offered poached eggs as an alternative.

Really good position as 10 minutes by car to York. We took the park and ride which was hassle free.

We ate in the local pub called the Black Bull. This has just been taken over by new management and found the new owners to be really friendly. Food was a little bit pricy for a pub but we had an enjoyable evening.

Looking forward to returning to this hotel and I expect it is lovely in the summertime.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I booked a mother and daughter spa break at this hotel and was not disappointed. Due to the inclement weather, we were running late for our treatments at the spa but they accommodated us with grace and were very friendly, taking care to ensure we were relaxed and enjoyed our day. The facilities in Cloisters spa are up to date and it has a beautiful, large jacuzzi and four different steam/sauna rooms.

On checking in at the hotel, the staff were polite and we were greeted and helped with our bags to our room. The room was nice and large but perhaps a little dated, however this is befitting of an old victorian property such as this. The bathroom was stocked with complementary products and the tea making facilities were good. Double doors opened onto the gardens and the room was kept adequately warm..

We had afternoon tea and petite fours on arrival in a sitting room with a nice open fire, which kept us going until our dinner reservation at the onsite restaurant. We were both absolutely bowled over by the quality of the four course meal we ate that evening; it was packed full of flavour and used fresh, seasonal ingredients. As a vegetarian, I had far more choice than is usually offered in restaurants, with none of the usual bland/ beige offerings and for meat eaters, the chicken and fish were good quality and very well prepared. It really exceeded all expectations and I will be going back for a meal in the future. The service was also excellent and we felt well tended to, though it was a fairly quiet Tuesday night.


The beds were comfortable The only downside was a constantly buzzing fuse box in the room which we reported to reception on checking out. Breakfast was a mix of continental and full english served buffet style, which was again nicely presented and flavoursome.

All in all a nice break with friendly, accommodating staff. The highlights of this hotel are undoubtedly the spa and restaurant.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not in the room with the fuse box.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Parsonage Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parsonage Hotel & Spa

Address: Main Street, Escrick YO19 6LF, England (Formerly Parsonage Country House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Escrick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Escrick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Parsonage Hotel & Spa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parsonage Hotel & spa is set in five acres of beautiful formal gardens and only a short drive from the historical city of York. Boasting 50 stylish decorated bedrooms, each one offers en-suite facilities, flat screen digital tv and wifi. All residents (over 18) have access to Cloisters Spa & Health Club. Dine in our award winning Lascelles restaurant or enjoy afternoon tea in the drawing room or conservatory which overlook the beautiful gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Parsonage Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parsonage Country Hotel
Hotel Parsonage Country
Parsonage Hotel & Spa Escrick, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parsonage Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.