We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful wedding - slightly let down but not put off” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parsonage Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Parsonage Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Parsonage Hotel & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Street, Escrick YO19 6LF, England (Formerly Parsonage Country House Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Escrick
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful wedding - slightly let down but not put off”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

I attended a wedding at the Parsonage in October. The day was wonderful and the setting was perfect - the outdoor area made for great photo's and place to socialise on a surprisingly warm afternoon. The food was delicious and the service seemless. The only disappointment was that the receptionist, K, made disparaging remarks about some guests outfits within earshot of the wedding party. Whilst this didn't detract from the day for my friends I have to say this lack of professionalism tarnished what otherwise would have been a fantastic event. Unfortunately we didn't have time to sample the spa but it does indeed look beautiful. I would return to the Parsonage but a little training wouldn't go amiss.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    139
    69
    35
    20
See reviews for
68
229
12
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

A one night stay was just too short at this very nice hotel. Staff superb and could not be more helpful. Food and drinks were good and well priced for a hotel. overall great value for money and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The Parsonage was a last minute change of mind for us to go to and did not disappoint.
The staff were very friendly and food was great; excellent choices for breakfast, the hot food was kept hot and not left out to cool, great choices on the dinner menus and sandwiches served on a slate with the best homemade chunky chips ever.
We stayed in a standard double, which wasn't too bad, could do with being modernised and extra sockets (only 2 in the room, 1 was for the TV), but everything else was topped up regularly, tea, biccies etc.
If you go, we'd definately recommend the Cloisters Spa...recent addition to the hotel, we were told, and has a large great pool with jacuzzi and 4 specialised rooms; sauna, steam room, aromatherapy and salt rooms...the gym is well equipped too, and massages weren't too badly priced either (20% off if your staying in the hotel).
The grounds were good to walk around, with the nearby village, Escrick, nice too....The hotel is also well placed to visit York (less than 10mins away), Selby and the old MacArthur Glen shopping centre.

Definately would go back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The hotel is situated in a quiet village approximately 20 minutes drive from York.

The hotel is on a busy main road and is signposted, but the signs are quite difficult to read whilst driving, they could do with being a bit larger.

As you enter the grounds, you are greeted by the beautiful building land the well kept gardens. There are plenty of parking spaces near the hotel.

Entering the hotel, we were given a pleasant welcome by a young lady and shown to our room and could smell a roaring fire from the lounge.

The room was well appointed, we were given a room in the attic space, which felt really cosy. The room is decorated with bold, but not overpowering wallpaper.

The bathroom was fairly small, but contained a toilet, bath and basin. The bath had a few rougue hairs, which was a bit disappointing.

The furniture didn't really do the room justice, being fairly utilitarian for a country house hotel room.

We were supplied a hospitality tray, which contained a selection of teas, instant coffee and hot chocolate with milk, sugar and biscuits.

We ate at the hotel the first night and the evening meal was fantastic! I can not fault the food and service. The atmosphere in the restaurant felt a little lacklustre, the music could have been played a little louder to allow a conversation without being overheard by fellow diners.

The hotel has a lovely lounge area, with an open fire and comfortable sofas. Great to have a coffee in and relax!

A brand new Spa is just a short walk from the hotel and must be used! It contains a gym, pool, hot tub, aromatherapy room, steam room, salt room and a sauna. You can also purchase additional treatments of which there are many!

You can help yourself to breakfast, there is a huge selection of cereals, cheeses, fist, yogurts, fruit and bread. We were given toast and coffee, the toast was thin and hard, but the coffee was delicious!

The cooked breakfast tainted what could have been an excellent stay. The cooked breakfast is served on a buffet trolley but had been left out for too long. The eggs were hard, the bacon chewy and the hash browns and sausages were dry. There didn't seem to be many guest around. The hotel would have been better placed to cook breakfast to order to prevent this happening.

All of the staff were very friendly with one exception. An older lady with short hair and glasses who worked at reception didnt raise her eyes from the reception desk and didnt greet or smile once. I also overheard her speaking to a colleague about what a bad mood she was in. This contrasts to the younger receptionist who was very friendly and personable. Perhaps the older receptionist could benefit from some customer service training by her younger colleague?

All in all, this hotel could easily be a 4 star with a few improvements. I would certainly stay here again and recommend to friends, but with a couple of disclaimers.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorkshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

We didn't stay here we booked a spa day through a living social deal. This included access to the spa and afternoon tea plus a discount on any treatments booked. Since it was for my birthday my friend and I both booked some treatments in preparation for going out that night.
On arrival it's a pleasant spa area and the place is clean and tidy. Escrick itself is on a bus route but its a bit out of the way as there is nothing else really to visit.
We used the swimming pool and sauna in the morning there is a bit of a shortage of chairs round the pool when it's busy and it was a busy day with people using the deals. We had our afternoon tea before our treatments which was a major disappointment no cake stand and tea served in mugs! Not what you expect from a hotel that's supposed to be 4 star. We raised it with the staff and were told to write it in the comments book. You didn't even get a whole scone each and the other sweet stuff was a mismatch of bought biscuits which we had to break in 2 since there wasn't 2 of everything. You understand it's a deal price but still it's a bit cheap.
I had a hot stone massage and facial and even with 20% off is rather expensive compared to what you could get elsewhere closeby. My friend had a facial and a gelleration manicure which was a major disappointment. There was bubbles in the nail varnish that instead of rectifying were just filed off and they were painted so poorly you could still see her nails through the paint! If we had time my friend would have made her do the nails again.
I emailed twice to say how disappointed we found it and eventually wrote to the manager who thinks mugs are perfectly acceptable for afternoon tea and says we should have raised some of our points on the day! Perhaps the staff should be advised of this instead of telling you to write it in the comments book!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Consett
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a fantastic weekend at this lovely hotel, food was great, staff very helpful and friendly. There was plenty or space in our room, the bed was lovlely and comfortable. One of the best hotels we've stayed at in along while. Its not far from York and a few miles up the raod towards York is a designer outllet centre. We're looking forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed here for an overnight spa break. Room was ok - very large and could have done with more furniture. Decor in the room dated and could do with updating. Had a three course evening meal with our deal - food was good and service was great. Breakfast buffet had the full English option, cereals, fruit and pastries. Again the food was good. Spent the morning in the spa making full use of the gym and pool facilities. The sauna and steam rooms were very relaxing. Had our treatments on the afternoon followed by afternoon tea. The sandwiches and cake were average. Would definitely stay here again for the spa package as it was such good value and very relaxing. All of the staff we encountered were very helpful and accommodating. In our room there was a finernail on the floor that did not belong to my friend or I! On closer inspection the carpet in our room could have done with a good Hoover. The spa however was very clean.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Parsonage Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parsonage Hotel & Spa

Address: Main Street, Escrick YO19 6LF, England (Formerly Parsonage Country House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Escrick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Escrick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Parsonage Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parsonage Hotel & spa is set in five acres of beautiful formal gardens and only a short drive from the historical city of York. Boasting 50 stylish decorated bedrooms, each one offers en-suite facilities, flat screen digital tv and wifi. All residents (over 18) have access to Cloisters Spa & Health Club. Dine in our award winning Lascelles restaurant or enjoy afternoon tea in the drawing room or conservatory which overlook the beautiful gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Parsonage Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parsonage Country Hotel
Hotel Parsonage Country
Parsonage Hotel & Spa Escrick, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parsonage Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.