We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ilchester Arms Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Ilchester Arms Hotel to your Saves list
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Church Street, Ilchester, Yeovil BA22 8LN, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Ilchester
Ilchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

The room was comfortable and clean and large enough for a family with extra beds for children. The only bad point I have to make is that the windows are quite thin and it's unfortunate that the weather was so disgusting and windy. The noise of the wind and the rain woke me up, I'm sure if the weather had been nicer I would have slept right through as I was so comfy.

The Bull Inn is fabulous, it's got a really homely feel about it. As we live not far from the village we are often in the Bull for drinks with friends and have eaten here several times. If you're going to eat here then you NEED the steak, it's cooked perfectly however you like it. It was nice to wobble just across the road to bed after celebrating, instead of waiting for a taxi - exactly the point of booking the room!!

As The Ilchester Arms & The Bull Inn are both owned by Lucy and Brendan, you can expect a warm welcome in both!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    18
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
23
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cambridge
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We stayed at this hotel to break up our journey to Cornwall. Firstly the rooms were clean and of an ok standard. I'm a bit dubious about the other reviews that state a warm welcome, when we arrive we waited at the bar for some time before being served, we were then given a key and a bit of paper, that gave info about checking out. The guy behind the bar grunted, no eye contact! and gave me the key, i was not impressed. The room had no information about breakfast so we had to go back down and cue again. Lack of information was frustrating and there were no available staff to talk to. We went to the Bull pub, the food was very good and friendly staff. breakfast was lovely to. It's a shame I think the place is overrated and we expected more for £80 for one night, this is more like a B&B not a hotel.

The noise downstairs was not except able, at one point some guy came out of his room a shouted abusive language, this should be considered in the price charged for a room.

However, food was good.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011 via mobile

Stayed just the one night and the service was impeccable. Food in their restaurant was great quality and the meat of a very high standard. Rooms very clean and everyone on duty so helpful, welcoming and accommodating to our needs.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

What a lovely place! Arrived after a very long delayed journey, staff lovely, service excellent, room clean and spacious. Menu was great although due to having (slightly fussy) teenage children with us chose to eat in the Bull opposite (same owners) which was absolutely fantastic. One highlight was the outdoor table tennis table. Will return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
telford
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We had another lovely room for our stay while we visited family. Our 6 year old Grandaughter was able to stay with us as we were given a family room and she was very excited!!! Staff were helpful as always and the food was of a high standard. Would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Mids
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2010

We stayed here on a visit to the Fleet Air Arm museum, which it is very convenient for. The room was pleasant, nice and warm and clean. The staff were friendly and efficient, but the real star of this show has to be the food. Our dinners were excellent- beautifully cooked, hot and generous portion sizes. So good that we cancelled a booking at a competitor and stayed put- and we didn't regret it. An imaginative menu and reasonably priced. Cooked Breakfast was good too!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

Spent 2 nights on the way home to Cornwall from London. We were made very welcome and staff are friendly and very helpful. Room was very good. The food was
wonderful and reasonably priced. Wells Cathedral and Glastonbury not far away as is the Hains Motor Museum (well worth a visit). We would certainly recommend the Illchester Arms .

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ilchester Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ilchester Arms Hotel

Address: Church Street, Ilchester, Yeovil BA22 8LN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil > Ilchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Ilchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ilchester Arms Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Ilchester Arms Hotel, situated in the Historic Town of Ilchester. The Ilchester Arms Hotel is a charming building full of character and offers the perfect setting to eat, drink and relax. Our team take pride in making sure that your visit is an experience you will want to repeat over and over again. A Warm Welcome is always assured. Brendan, Lucy and their young energetic team are dedicated to providing the highest level of customer service and we take great pride in serving you our exceptional quality cusine made from local fresh produce (wherever possible). Whether you are staying at the Hotel or just using the Bar or Bistro, you will always find a warm welcome at the Ilchester Arms. The bar is open all day for drinks and the bistro is open every day for Lunch and Dinner (except Sunday evening). We have 10 Ensuite Bedrooms, conference and private dining facilities, walled patio garden, bar and off street parking. At the Ilchester Arms Hotel we have 10 beautiful rooms. All Rooms are en-suite and have colour TV, tea and coffee making facilities, a telephone and wireless internet access. We are happy to provide room service. Our rooms feature 2 single, 2 twin and 6 doubles; of the 6 double rooms. 2 Of these doubles are available as family rooms, one features a small room off the main bedroom containing twin built-in bunkbeds (max height 5ft), the other a seperate room with single bed and sofa bed if needed. We are child friendly providing toys in both the rooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Ilchester Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ilchester Arms Hotel Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ilchester Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.