We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Most Perfect B&B you will ever visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Liongate House

Save Saved
You added Liongate House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Liongate House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Northover, Ilchester, Yeovil BA22 8NG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Ilchester B&B and Inns
West Bromwich
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The Most Perfect B&B you will ever visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

If you are looking for the perfect B&B in the Ilchester area you will have found it if you stay with Judy & Stuart at the Liongate House. This B&B is tucked away from the main road, just behind Darlington House in the village of Ilchester. It is the most perfect place you will ever stay and the roomslooked after personally by the kind and caring hosts plus the breakfasts with a very varied choice are all brilliant. I am a perfectionist myself and believe me you cannot fault this place. The hosts are so welcoming, and give their very best to help you, the home grown fruits are wonderful and always varied at breakfast each day. The full English Breakfast is to die for and is a must, so forget the calories just enjoy the freshly prepared, hot breakfast. Judy and Stuart are the nicest people you could ever wish to meet and we would not hesitate to stay here again and again, we are now on our 5th visit and prefer to stay here when we are visiting family in the area and now we would not stay anywhere else when in this part of Somerset. The whole place is perfection personified and so very clean too, absolutely spotless. Liongate and the owners deserve a Five Star Luxury Award. The kindness and consideration that is given to all visitors is wonderful, especially when you have an elderly relative in tow like we have!!!! Judy and Stuart cannot do enough for you and they take pride in every detail, it is a wonderful and relaxing place to stay and we would have no hesitation in reccommending anyone to this B&B. It was another brilliant find by us a while back and we now look forward to visiting again and again even when our relatives move to another part of Somerset. Thank you Judy and Stuart, keep up the good work and see you again very soon.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely so it does not matter which one you have plus all the bathrooms are lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoojudy, Owner at Liongate House, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
My goodness - what an accolade! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such an amazing review. It is always a pleasure having you stay with us at Liongate and so easy to welcome back lovely guests who have become more like friends. Mum is a delight. We look forward to seeing you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
18
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on our way to Sidmouth - and what a find. Our room was lovely, it was large, spotlessly clean and aesthetically pleasing. The en-suite was particularly good and had a lovely double shower. Breakfast delicious and Judy and Stuart were fantastic hosts. I honestly could not fault anything, My only regret was I wasn't staying longer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoojudy, Owner at Liongate House, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you had a great time in Sidmouth. On your recommendation we will be visiting Sidmouth on our next trip out. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants, England
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

After quickly scanning TA for hotels in the Yeovil area for a hastily arranged Christening we decided on Liongate. What a brilliant choice. Stuart and Judy are the perfect hosts and we really did have everything we could have needed. We would not hesitate to stop here again if we are in the area. The easiest five star I've ever given.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoojudy, Owner at Liongate House, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for this lovely review and for writing such favourable comments in our Visitors Book. Matthew is a credit to you and we enjoyed having you to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

A five star B&B with ultimate Pampering. Attention to detail especially comfort. Lovely Hosts a great pleasure to stay in every way. A FIVE STAR LUXURY B&B. We cannot praise enough.

Room Tip: Stay Here absolutely !!Try the homemade jam from blackberries at the Roman Cemetry, SUPURB. Yum !! I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Liongate House, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
What a fabulous review - thank you so much! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you return to Liongate in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhahran
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed at Liongate House for two nights and were impressed by the high standard of comfort, cleanliness and hospitality. Our room had everything we could have wanted, a comfortable bed and sofa, wifi connection, flat screen TV, desk, tea making facilities and a lovely bathroom with powerful shower. Stuart and Judy are wonderful hosts and Stuart cooks a delicious breakfast, including homemade jams and marmalade, the fruit from the jams from his own garden. It is a lovely place to stay and explore the local area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoojudy, Owner at Liongate House, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Many thanks for your super comments. We continually try to improve on our standards and our wish is to make sure our guests are as comfortable as they can be. We are very grateful for your valued feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at Liongate and cannot recommend it highly enough.The room was immaculate, the breakfast excellent and Judy and Stuart were perfect hosts. Without doubt one of the best B & B`s we have ever stayed in. We are looking forward to staying there again soon. Ian and Debbie Hawkins.

Room Tip: We stayed in The Lowry suite which had a great wet room on suite .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoojudy, Owner at Liongate House, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
We also thoroughly enjoyed your visit and look forward to you returning to Liongate House for a cup of tea in the garden! Thank you for your lovely comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

A three day business stay with Stuart and Judy was the most delightful experience. From the moment of arrival I was treated to their genuine and warm hosting and a pot of welcome tea in the garden after a long drive. My en-suite room was imaculate, great attention to detail, quality refreshments and a really comfortable bed. Plenty of storage and hanging space to take all of my requirements. The en-suite was one of the most comforting I have experienced, sparkling clean, a good walk in powered shower with shower gel, shampoo and conditioner, not slip mat, floor mat and good sized bath towel. The suite completed with toilet, bidet and hand basin. Stuarts breakfast (Full english) was freshly prepared and absolutely delicious. Supported with fresh granary toast, home made preserves, fresh fruit juice and a pot of coffee, set me up grandly for a days work. A lovely small family business that takes pride in providing a top class break for its guests. A must stay location in the Yeovil, Ilchester area for singles or families who enjoy good old english hospitality in a relaxed and welcoming atmosphere. I left feeling like one of the family!!! I will be back!! Stuart and Judy .... thank you!!!

Room Tip: Fear not! All rooms are of a super standard, Stuart and Judy would be very happy to explain room det...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoojudy, Owner at Liongate House, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments. We thoroughly enjoyed having you stay at Liongate and I very much enjoyed our morning conversations after I had cooked your breakfast. Feel like I have known you for many years – hopefully see you again soon. Kind regards Stuart and Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Liongate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liongate House

Address: Northover, Ilchester, Yeovil BA22 8NG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil > Ilchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ilchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Liongate House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Liongate House is a sympathetically rebuilt barn situated in the historic Roman town of Ilchester. Completed in 2006 using the original bricks and roof tiles, the integrity of the outer building remains whilst the inside is designed in a more modern contemporary style. Energy efficient underfloor heating together with a heat recovery ventilation system and effective rainwater recycling serving all toilets, make Liongate House an eco-friendly property to stay in. Our hearty breakfast includes local free-range eggs, some organic produce, a choice of teas or Fairtrade coffee, homemade marmalade and jams made with fruit from our garden. We are committed to providing a 4 star quality service whilst minimising the environmental impact of our activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Liongate House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liongate House Ilchester, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Liongate House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.