We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kids love it!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tropiquaria Zoo

Tropiquaria Zoo
Washford Cross, Washford TA23 0QB, England
01984 640688
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 4 Attractions in Washford
Attraction details
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Kids love it!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is a great place for kids. Hands on in the reptile area. Held tarantulas etc. Cafe not so great but a good play area made up for it. Take a picnic!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    57
    21
    20
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“I think the people who rate this Excellent must work their! Don't waste your money!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

As we was parking we was in 2 minds whever to go in. Why did I not listen to my instinct. Really nothing to see interesting at all, their is no lift to go down to the aquarium so u have to carry the pushchair down the stairs, and it's just like fish tanks u got in your houses anyway. If this place would lower the prices to below £5 then it would be reasonable to go, For what you pay and what u get don't add up its a complete rip off " If u go and don't say I didn't warn u!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smudgesmate, Owner at Tropiquaria Zoo, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Had this reviewer asked about the stair lift he would have been told that the building is a grade 2 listed building. The previous owner did apply for planning permission to install a stair lift. This was refused on the grounds that it would damage the building too greatly, as a result the staff will offer to help to take wheelchairs and prams down the 11 steps if the visitor is unable to.

"It's just like fish tanks you got in your houses anyway" sic. I suspect that very few homes have 2000 litre tanks, 20" African Cat fish, mudskippers, 30 + species of African cichlids, 3 species of Mexican Fish that are extinct in the wild, and which are breeding in large numbers. There are at least 5 species of fish here that are exhibited in less than 5 zoos/aquaria in the UK. Next weekend our aquarist in attending an international conference in Austria... I could go on.

Admission prices, we are one of the cheapest in the area. Bear in mind an adult admission is £9.00, of this £1.50 goes straight to the government as VAT. The remaining £7.50 will not buy you 3 cups of coffee on the motorway... For that admission price you also get 5.5 acres of grounds, a puppet show, a radio museum, contact with exotic animals with the freedom to take pictures, 2 full size replica pirate ships and an indoor play area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cullompton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“nothing to exciting”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

very little to see in poor settings but the meer cats were lovely. the inside was very sad and dated

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smudgesmate, Owner at Tropiquaria Zoo, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
"Nothing much to see" ? We have a tropical hall, an aquarium, a radio musuem giving the history of the grade 2 listed building, a puppet theatre, indoor and outdoor play facilities, including two full size replica pirate ships and a fort. 5.5 acres of grounds, the outside animals include 4 species of lemur, tapir, wallabies, mongooses, otters, agoutis, tamarins, rheas, emu, macaws, serval, Scottish wildcats, several parrots and currassows. The inside animals include caiman, several species of snakes and over 100 species of fish, several of which are extinct in the wild.

The inside of the hall is dated, it is a listed building from 1933, we are NOT allowed to modernise it. Whether the building is sad or not is sadly beyond my abilities to understand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fun day out!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Visited this zoo yesterday with our 2 Grandchildren aged 3 and 5. They absolutely loved it. We spent 4-5 hours here and I think if they weren't exhausted we could have stayed longer. There was a good mix of activities. Obviously lots of animals, several play areas including 2 pirate ships and we also saw a puppet show. The highlight was probably the hands on session with the animals which included snakes and lizards. Staff are very patient with the children and also very knowledgeable. Definitely worth a visit!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good day out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I really like going to Tropiquaria. the puppet show is my favorite thing to do. I like seeing the animals though there's not a huge variety.
There are lots of insects and handling activities and a pirate ship in the sand.

Overall a very good day out

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropiquaria Zoo also viewed

Watchet, Exmoor National Park
 
Barnstaple, Devon
 

Been to Tropiquaria Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropiquaria Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.