We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not stay, went for cream tea:-)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Langtry Country House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Langtry Country House to your Saves list
Langtry Country House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   A39 at Washford | Watchet, Washford TA23 0NT, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Washford B&B and Inns
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Did not stay, went for cream tea:-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Three of us dropped in for a cream tea. We sat outside on the terrace and enjoyed a delicious lemon cream tea. The usual strawberry jam being replaced by gorgeous home made lemon curd. My wife does not drink tea, so she was given a cafetiere of very nice coffee. A really enjoyable tea with friendly "nothing too much trouble attitude". No doubt we will return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
60
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a 2 night stay to relax after our wedding a few days ago..having already stayed at the Langtry last year, we knew exactly what to expect and, once again, we weren't disappointed! ! It really is a real gem and the ideal place to relax and unwind ...every need is catered for and nothing is too much trouble. Both susan & penny were extremely helpful and sooo hard working ! A truly gorgeous place and one we will look forward to returning to time and time again !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed in the Burgundy room with ensuite. It was beautifully decorated with great attention to detail. Sue and Penny were extremely welcoming but not at all intrusive. The breakfast was superb with homemade butter, jams, marmalade, muffins, muesli bars as well as the usual cooked breakfast options, cereals, fruit, etc.
We also indulged ourselves with a cream tea mid afternoon. Again it was just delicious - traditional cream tea or the option of a savoury cream tea which consisted of home made chees and herb scones with cream cheese and smoked salmon.
Langtry Country Hotel is definitely the best of British in a lovely setting - lovely gardens. The good life at its best!
We will return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Langtry Country House in July 2013. This is without doubt the best
B&B in Somerset ( possibly England ).
List: Great hosts- spotlessly clean rooms- Wonderful breakfast ( excellent cook )- great location - very comfy beds- great value
And every little extra you could want to make your stay perfect.
If you want to know how to enjoy life you must visit this B&B.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We loved the Langtry Country House - everything had been carefully thought out to give guests the best possible experience of a high class B&B. Accommodation spotlessly clean and beautiful, the food absolutely fabulous and Sue and Penny the perfect hosts. We will definitely be returning and would recommend this B&B to anyone.

Room Tip: We had the blue room and were very satisfied with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Langtry Country House and are looking forward to returning in the very near future. The accommodation is excellent, and the breakfasts without compare, all the food homemade, homegrown or locally sourced. The welcome from Susan and Penny made us feel at home immediately and they catered for our every need. I would highly recommend the Langry Country House.

Room Tip: All the rooms are of the same high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steeple Ashton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The Langtry is a beautiful house run by an owner who is passionate & obviously enjoys what she does. The accommodation is spotlessly clean. It gleams! The beds are big & comfy, the towels; the thickest possible, the decor tasteful and the food too tempting.
Definitely at the top of the B&B market. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Langtry Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langtry Country House

Address: A39 at Washford | Watchet, Washford TA23 0NT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Washford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Washford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Langtry Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Langtry Country House is a luxury four star Bed and Breakfast standing in its own grounds of four acres. Situated on the edge of Exmoor National Park and only two miles from the historic harbour town of Watchet, Langtry is well situated for The Quantocks, The Brendon Hills, and Minehead. All the individually styled bedrooms have en-suite facilities, Egyptian Cotton bed linen, large fluffy towels, hand-made toiletries, hair dryer, bathrobes, flat screen TV with DVD and tea and coffee making facilities. Enjoy breakfast in the drawing room where you can choose from a menu of locally sourced items and home-made fayre. There is also a cosy sitting area with log burner and a terrace to enjoy afternoon tea in the summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Langtry Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Langtry Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.