We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years Eve” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Barnsley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Barnsley to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Barnsley
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Barnsley Road, Dodworth, Barnsley S75 3JT, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dodworth
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“New Years Eve”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

This is the first time we have stayed and been to an event at this Holiday Inn. The good news is weren't disappointed.
The room was fresh with a modern layout, however the bathroom could have likewise been remodelled. The main problem was it was cold and did not have any heating. So it was in and out rapidly.
The meal 5 courses including a sorbet was well cooked and presented. I had a beef Wellington for main that was enjoyable although I wasn't over impressed with the vegetables. A small item but nonetheless worth a mention.
The staff were all helpful and professional.
Overall it was an enjoyable evening.
Ps breakfast looked excellent although I didn't partake.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRHIBarnsley, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Barnsley, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Barnsley.

I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable time with us over the New Year, and particulary that you enjoyed our New Year celebrations.

Your comments have been relayed to the teams that were looking after you during your stay, and they are pleased to here that you had an pleasant stay with us.

I do hope that we can have the pleasure of welcoming you into the hotel again in the not too distant future, and please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any assistance.

Yours Faithfully,

Samuel Allen
Deputy General Manager
Holiday Inn Barnsley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    110
    58
    21
    21
See reviews for
76
99
13
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St. Annes
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from an overnight stay, what a beautiful hotel, the lobby is stunning the staff are faultless, the service was second to none and the breakfast was one of the best I've had in a long time. Our room, located on the second floor was spacious, clean and comfortable the only ting that let it down was the temperature, it was sooooooooooo cold and on a very cold Yorkshire night it was freezing by 3am and we all ended up in the same bed to keep warm. The room has air con but whatever we adjusted the setting to it continued to blow cold air. However it didn't spoil our stay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRHIBarnsley, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Barnsley, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I was pleased to read about your most recent stay with us, and would like to thank you for taking the time we leave us your feedback.

I was excited to read that you had a thoroughly enjoyable experience with us, and I do hope that we can welcome you back into the hotel in the not too distant future.

In response to your comments regarding the room temperature, my housekeeping and maintenance teams are currently looking at the issue to see what we can do resolve this issue, for yourself and future guests.

In the meanwhile, please do not hesitate to contact me should there be anything that I can be of assistance with.

Yours Failthfully,

Samuel Allen
Deputy General Manager
Holiday Inn Barnsley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed on Boxing day was greeted by friendly reception staff, every member of staff we came into contact with was extremely polite and said hello. The room was excellent and had a fantastic night's sleep. Breakfast and service the best iv ever had, never stayed in a holiday in before but will be again thank you

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRHIBarnsley, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Barnsley, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback on your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Barnsley.

I was delighted to read that we had exceeded your expectations, and we look foward to welcoming you back into the hotel in the not too distant future.

In the meanwhile, please do not hesitate to contact me should there be anything that I can be of assistance with.

Yours Faithfully,

Samuel Allen
Deputy General Manager
Holiday Inn Barnsley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

recently brought my mum sister and daughter for pre xmas treat but was a disappointment! We were taken to side room that was being used for the teas most of the empty tables were covered with dirty pots that remained there while we were eating poor selection of sandwiches and had to ask a couple of times for tea etc! Staff did not seem interested seemed more interested with each other.Will find somewhere else next time

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Barnsley, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear linda a,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us and for that please accept my sincere apologies if your stay was negatively affected by the service you received from our hotel. I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best resource for improving guest satisfaction. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Had an absolutely brilliant night, there were 114 of us n not one bad word. The food and service was excellent and the entertainment was great. Would really consider going again, everyone really enjoyed themselves.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We attended our works Christmas party here on the 13th December. I have never been here before so was not sure what to expect. We were greeted in reception and pointed to where we needed to go. The room was clean and a good size. It was very nicely decorated. The staff were earger to help and we were served our meal quickly and efficently. the emal itself was hot when it arrived at the table and was more than acceptable especially when you take in to account the amount of people there. The live band was very good . All round very good experience. The only reason I have not given it an excellent was due to the bar on arrival. It was knee deep and we had to queue for some time to get our first drink. If more staff were available or if someone had been on hand to direct us to the bars which had no one at them in the room for instance that would have been useful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Booked for a party of 4 .We had a lovely summertime tea in July , so were eager to return for this one. What a disappointment.Poor sandwiches with curled up edges and meagre fillings , all sloppy on dry bread. Poor tasteless cake, meagre cream and jam for dry scones. Awful mulled wine and cold coffee. Uninterested staff.No cake stand, horrid flat slates . No occasion at all.
Poor show. Could not wait to leave.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Barnsley, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Katrinadad,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We were disappointed to read that when you visited the restaurant you did not find it to your tastes, we will review for possible modifications so to better accommodate our guest in the future. We do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Thank you for again for your feedback, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Barnsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Barnsley

Address: Barnsley Road, Dodworth, Barnsley S75 3JT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Barnsley > Dodworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dodworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Barnsley 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Barnsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Barnsley Hotel Dodworth
Holiday Inn Barnsley Dodworth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Barnsley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.