We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent works Xmas Party” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Barnsley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Barnsley to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Barnsley
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Barnsley Road, Dodworth, Barnsley S75 3JT, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dodworth
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Recent works Xmas Party”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We attended our works Christmas party here on the 13th December. I have never been here before so was not sure what to expect. We were greeted in reception and pointed to where we needed to go. The room was clean and a good size. It was very nicely decorated. The staff were earger to help and we were served our meal quickly and efficently. the emal itself was hot when it arrived at the table and was more than acceptable especially when you take in to account the amount of people there. The live band was very good . All round very good experience. The only reason I have not given it an excellent was due to the bar on arrival. It was knee deep and we had to queue for some time to get our first drink. If more staff were available or if someone had been on hand to direct us to the bars which had no one at them in the room for instance that would have been useful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    102
    52
    21
    20
See reviews for
72
94
12
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Booked for a party of 4 .We had a lovely summertime tea in July , so were eager to return for this one. What a disappointment.Poor sandwiches with curled up edges and meagre fillings , all sloppy on dry bread. Poor tasteless cake, meagre cream and jam for dry scones. Awful mulled wine and cold coffee. Uninterested staff.No cake stand, horrid flat slates . No occasion at all.
Poor show. Could not wait to leave.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Barnsley, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Katrinadad,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We were disappointed to read that when you visited the restaurant you did not find it to your tastes, we will review for possible modifications so to better accommodate our guest in the future. We do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Thank you for again for your feedback, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LACEBY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Booked room to stay over after local party. Very happy with facilities, would stay again. Spacious room, bed comfortable, good facilities. Friendly staff, no complaints at all. Why do you have to write so much? Lol am happy with it

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We recently attended a party night here, with a Take That Tribute band on, the night was great and enjoyed by our table of 12 people. Everyone agreed they would return.

The food was served fast, was piping hot and delicious. The staff were friendly, couldn’t do enough to help and plenty of them. The disco and band were good and a fun atmosphere.

We didn’t stay overnight so don’t know about the rooms but on a whole the hotel is lovely.

We did a party might the following weekend at Tankersley Manor which was more expensive and definitely not at good. If you are looking for a party venue, this won’t disappoint.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We got married here in July 2013. Shared planning with the wedding co-ordinator at the time had been a pleasure. Communication had been very good and friendly.

We had perfect weather on the day and mostly all went well (the hotel was very accommodating of my daughter who has severe learning disabilities and they didn't bat an eyelid when she had a 'behaviour' just as we were about to go into the ceremony room). Food was very good at the wedding breakfast.

Guests remarked that the setting was nice and we had some lovely photos taken in the Secret Garden.

As part of the package, my new husband and I had use of one of the bridal suites following the celebrations. Unfortunately due to a faulty air con unit directly outside the suite and it being hot anyway (we couldn't open the window as it would have been noisier), sleep quality was poor. The unit boosted at 4am and became noisier. This made sleep impossible.

A few days later I brought the matter up with the wedding co-ordinator and after consulting her manager, she offered a complimentary night's stay and dinner for us.

We took advantage of this a week last Sunday and had a lovely one night's stay in the same bridal suite. The restaurant isn't open on a Sunday but we were able to choose food from the bar menu which we still enjoyed. Breakfast buffet was very good and food items were refreshed often.

This five star review is in respect of the second stay so I cannot review 'value'. Plus, unfortunately I had forgotten my swimsuit or I would have sampled the pool at Bannatyne's this time around.

I've thanked the new wedding co-ordinator at the hotel for her attention to the rebooking and we hope to visit again when the hotel is having one of its social events open to the public.

Room Tip: On the day of the wedding, some of our guest rooms were not ready to check into at 2pm when the wedd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

My wife and I booked via Groupon a Prosseco afternoon tea. I have to say it was very good. We had sandwiches, crisps, salad, fresh home made scones with clotted cream and jam, chocolate brownies and a lemon tart. Plus tea or coffee and a glass of Prosseco. All in all it was lovely. Good friendly service as well. My only criticism would be we were sat in the bar area which lacked atmosphere.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is the second time we had been for Afternoon Tea - the first time was a lovely experience, we sat in the foyer area and the food was excellent. So we decided to do it again,but what a disappointment. We were shown into a "dedicated area", a very bland room - no frills whatsoever. No decoration anywhere - not even a picture on the wall. Two other tables were occupied but it was so quiet in the room everyone was whispering - a bit of background music would have given it a bit more atmosphere. The food arrived - the sandwiches were very basic, sliced bread cut into strips with bland fillings, a tiny bowl of crisps and the same size bowl with salad. The scone and cakes were really nice but were spoilt by the "mushy" strawberries. No nice coffee pot this time - replaced with a "conference room" stainless pot. Couldn't wait to get out really it was so disappointing. The point was made earlier about what to expect for £13 - the cost should have been £25 and that is what this afternoon should have been based on and not what we were given. This was a pre Christmas treat for my husband which sadly went wrong. On a happier note - the staff were still very friendly and polite.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Barnsley, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear PebblyBeaches,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent experience. It is unfortunate this visit was not on par with your previous experience. We were pleased to see the Service did still receive a perfect score. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Barnsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Barnsley

Address: Barnsley Road, Dodworth, Barnsley S75 3JT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Barnsley > Dodworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dodworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Barnsley 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Barnsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Barnsley Hotel Dodworth
Holiday Inn Barnsley Dodworth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Barnsley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.