We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not what we booked and paid for!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Encore Barnsley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Encore Barnsley to your Saves list
Ramada Encore Barnsley
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Whinby Road, Dodworth, Barnsley S75 3TX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dodworth
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“not what we booked and paid for!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

booked a twin room! a twin room to me is to single beds and has been at other places visited. one double bed which was nt really big enough for two and a really uncomfortable single bed seatee. the quilt was a double folded in half i had to lay on half and try and cover up with the other half. they did offer another room for one of us on another floor which is defeating the point of going away together they should have told us this when booking. i would nt want the lady on reception working for me quite miserable and came across rude. the best thing was breakfast it was ok. if looking to book 'don t bother'

Room Tip: dont bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncoreBarnsley, Manager at Ramada Encore Barnsley, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for your fedback, I would like to apologise if you where missled, we do not have any Twin bedded rooms in our hotel and do not take reservations for this room type.

I have had some issues this month with coach trips arriving at the hotel expecting twin rooms, the travel company who has been selling the trips has not advised its customers and we have had to deal with this when guests arrived. I have passed these comments back to the coach trip providers.

Thank you again for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    113
    50
    19
    17
See reviews for
23
115
14
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ENGLAND
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

One night stay at ramada encore Barnsley. Hotel was busy but check in completed swiftly by obliging staff. Clean functional room at the rear of the property overlooking the railway line. Only disturbed once by a train at 4am but otherwise no problems. Breakfast is good with a selection of cereals, hot buffet yoghurts etc but I would like to see a selection of fresh berries and other fruits rather than tinned grapefruit and oranges. But for the price you can't beat it. No access to wi fi in my room as I was right at the of the corridor so I guess it was in a blackspot.I couldn't get back into my room for some strange reason with key card and neither could the maid, but reception came up quickly and sorted it all out. All in all, I would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncoreBarnsley, Manager at Ramada Encore Barnsley, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your review, we do not have WiFi in the guest bedrooms it is hard wired only.

Look forward to seeing you again

Thanks

Dawne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester, UK
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Spent 2 nights at this hotel, as part of Ramada's £20/night promotion. Had a nice room on the 2nd floor - new, clean & pretty spacious (larger than most Premier Inn/ Travelodge rooms). Whilst the hotel is very close to the M1, we didn't really notice any noise. There was a railway line just below the room, but there are only 2 (small trains) an hour - not a problem.

As others have said, the internet is disappointing - can't get wi-fi from the room, & the wired connection proved pretty slow (surprising for what looks primarily a business hotel). There was also a very limited choice of TV channels - not sure why they don't have the normal freeview ones.

Didn't eat at the hotel, but noticed that the pub next door does pretty cheap meals, especially breakfast (& free wi-fi) - so you do have a choice if you're not happy with what the hotel has to offer. Also a nice chip shop about 5 minutes walk away.

Only about 10 minutes away from Barnsley on the bus - but buy a single ticket only - we got a day return only to find that you can't use them on different number buses. Easier to go by car.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncoreBarnsley, Manager at Ramada Encore Barnsley, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you

See you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed overnight on business. The room was very well laid out and clean. The bed was comfortable. Unfortunately this hotel was very badly let down by it's poor quality, poor selection breakfast.
When we arrived for breakfast, we were pointed into a small corner of the hotel where 2 others were seated and shown a small portable buffet unit. On this buffet unit were 2 sausages, baked beans, 3 rashers of greasy bacon, 2 potato waffles, no mushrooms, no eggs, no fried bread.
Their were 2 small bowls containing tinned grapefruit and that was the extent of the fruit selection. Unfortunately, guests who take the common Simvastatin are unable to eat grapefruit and had no alternative choice. The cereal selection was equally poor. Bread for toast existed which you cook yourself and coffee from the machine wasn't too bad. By the time we had finished our cereal, a 4th & 5th guest had arrived and removed what was left of the cooked breakfast. We had to ask for more to be cooked. The hotel representative at breakfast looked puzzled and asked why. We explained and showed her the empty buffet. 4 greasy sausages and 4 bits of greasy bacon arrived to the buffet but still no eggs or mushrooms or even tomatos. At this point we gave up and made toast.
We felt this hotel was badly let down purely on their breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncoreBarnsley, Manager at Ramada Encore Barnsley, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
This review is not the Ramada Encore Barnsley.

We do not have a portable buffet and we have never served waffles at any time

Sorry you did not have a good breakfast you need to stay with us next time

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Don't stay in room 106. When I opened the room door, there was distinct smell of chip fat. My first instinct was to open the window - big mistake. The smell of burnt old chip fat oil was almost overpowering. I decided to sleep with the window closed. Had to fall asleep with the TV on to drown out the motorway noise. In the morning i had a look to see where the smell came from and discovered 12 Biffa industrial bins just below the window.

No WiFi in the room

On a positive note, room was clean and breakfast was good.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the motorway side
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncoreBarnsley, Manager at Ramada Encore Barnsley, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for your review, I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay, the 12 bins below your room ccontained glass not oil however you did have a room overlooking the kitchen vents and the motorway we can allocate you a room away from the motorway on your next stay

Thank you again for your feedback

Regards

Dawne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The Ramada Encore Barnsley is a modern hotel in a great location - right next to the M1 on Junction 37. Love the open-plan style – fresh and bang up-to-date. Prompt and hassle-free check-in involving friendly and efficient Reception staff.

Bedroom:

Rooms are accessed by key-card (which also operates the lights). In a nutshell, the room was clean, tidy and quite spacious. Beds are made up daily. The usual amenities are standard: tea/coffee-making facility, hairdryer, TV (though the number of channels is limited), two-seater leather sofa, spacious double bed (soft pillows - brilliant!!), space for hanging clothes (but not geared up for lengthy stays - only 4 hangers provided) and workstation with 5-point chair.

Incidentally, the lighting provision for the workstation was, surprisingly for a hotel arguably geared towards the business guest, disappointing – a single adjustable lamp with poor luminosity.

There is also free Wi-Fi internet access whereby the access code is available from reception.

Main grumble? Extremely poor mobile phone reception within Room 303 – I struggled to find a signal. However, this may be unique, so don’t take it that reception is poor throughout every room.

Toilet/wet room:

This is a small area but more than sufficient for average requirements. Nonetheless, I couldn’t find a switch to operate the air-vent and can only assume there is either no automatic ventilation system fitted or it wasn’t working.

Eating in:

Superb all-you-can-eat breakfast for just £7. Excellent value. The food was well-presented, fresh, tasty. In particular, there was a wide choice of cooked English breakfast items available, as well as a variety of cereals, yoghurt, toast etc. Plus, a full complement of drinks, hot and cold, to tempt the discerning traveller.

Breakfast is self-service, but friendly and courteous staff members are on hand to help with any query.

I can’t comment on evening dinner – I didn’t eat at the hotel's Hub Restaurant at night. However, there is a superb combined deal whereby breakfast and 2-course evening meal with drink is offered at a very competitive price. Another time, maybe.

Miscellaneous

The conference facility deals currently offered would, I imagine, appeal to many businesses, as there are some good packages available at great prices.

OVERALL

This was a most pleasant stay and apart from my nitpicking can’t fault the set-up and certainly not the staff – they were great. While I would suggest the hotel will appeal to the business traveller and conference delegate, for me personally it didn’t come across as exclusive to that particular niche. As the atmosphere was very relaxing I would therefore also suggest families, the casual traveller or holidaymaker will find this place equally appealing. Therefore, I wouldn’t hesitate staying here again, and would certainly recommend the hotel to anyone prepared to listen to me.

Thanks Encore for your hospitality.

Room Tip: No major issues with Room 303 except for poor mobile phone reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

room was nice pity about the rude .uninterested staff !!! but room was value for money .i would stay there again if the staff went to mc donnalds for a happy meal first !but over all it was clean .but basic but you do get what you pay for

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncoreBarnsley, Manager at Ramada Encore Barnsley, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am happy you like our hotel, however your comments regarding the staff I was dissapointed with, our staff reviews have recentley been very good and I will ensure your comments are fed back to the staff

Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Encore Barnsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Encore Barnsley

Address: Whinby Road, Dodworth, Barnsley S75 3TX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Barnsley > Dodworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dodworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Encore Barnsley 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Encore Barnsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Barnsley Hotel Dodworth
Ramada Encore Barnsley Dodworth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Encore Barnsley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.