We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food-service doesn't match up!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Himley House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Himley House Hotel to your Saves list
Himley House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stourbridge Rd. | Himley Near Dudley, Himley DY3 4LD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Himley
dudley
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good food-service doesn't match up!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Booked meal for 60th birthday party.Arrived promptly & were shown to our table but then had to wait 25 minutes before someone came to take our order.Food was excellent and well presented but long delays between courses.Surrounding tables had not been cleared despite the fact the restaurant wasn't busy and there seemed to be no shortage of staff.Staff were very pleasant but a bit more training and more awareness on the part of the duty manager would make for a more pleasant experience

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Himley House Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear llwchwr

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your stay was not the experience you were expecting. Your comments regarding service have been duly noted and will be followed up with the Management Team.

Many Thanks

Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    39
    48
    19
    11
See reviews for
44
53
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

my wife and i decided to go to himley for a couple of drinks and a meal on our anniversary as we used to go there a lot when we first met 11 years ago. i am a little stumped as to what to put in the reveiw as we didnt actualy have a drink because the bar staff didnt seem to want to serve us, we stood at the bar for 10 mins, which wasnt even busy ( it was a thursday)yet the staff chose to serve any one else who chose to come to the bar at which point i said lets go , at which point we went to the red lion in bobbington which was far better, in fact it was perfect but always is. i will never return to himley and would not recomend it to anybody. go to the red lion where they do value your custom

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Himley House Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear nick140773

Many thanks for your recent review on Trip Advisor. Your feedback was a concern to hear and I would like to investigate this further with the Management team of the hotel. I have sent you a private message with details of our contact form and look forward to hearing from you.

Many Thanks

Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Himley hotels

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This hotel and restaurant is amazing.
Can not fault the food, we went as a family of 5, and all of us thought that is was one of the best meals out we have ever had, will differently be returning for food in the near future. Also i have stayed in this hotel before, its a well kept, lovely hotel, which is extremely comfy. Staff are lovely, and management are great.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Himley House Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear samspiano,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit

Many Thanks

Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We held our daughter's 18th birthday here on 8th July 12. The room we had was the Dudley suite. it was an excellent size, just perfect for the amount of guests we had. the food was very good and the service was excellent, we had everything what we asked for. Many thanks to all the staff and management for making this a very memorable day!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Himley House Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear Blu808

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review following on from your daughters birthday party, we are pleased to hear that the team were able to make it such a special day.

We have passed your kind words onto the manager so she may share them with the team.

Many Thanks
Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We are really amazed at the negative comments made about the wedding reception that was held after ours, we had an absolutely amazing day and our guests could not compliment Himley House enough and how enjoyable and tasty the food was, the buffet on the night excellent, and the manager Claire could not have been more attentive and asked many times during the day if everything was ok and had all our needs been met, we were definately not ushered out like cattle, we where asked at our convenience if we would like to sit in the bar (newly refurbished) whilst the room was made ready for the evenings entertainment which must have only taken 20minutes at the most and our guests also enjoyed sitting in there which was just another part of the day, evening entertainment was great also enjoyed being able to sit outside on the patio area, we stayed the night in the executive room and we had booked 5 rooms for guests to stay all said how lovely the rooms were and how good the breakfast was the next morning great variety. All we can say is we had an absolutely fantastic day than to Claire and her team, we have been back a few times since for drinks and meals and always made to feel welcome. THANK YOU HIMLEY HOUSE FOR MAKING OUR DAY SO SPECIAL, if you need to contact us as any time or any of our guests feel free to do so.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Himley House Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear Lorraine-Thom K,

Firstly we would like to say many congratulations on your marrage, we are pleased to hear that the team at Himley House were able to make it such an enjoyable day.

We have passed your review to Claire so she may share your praise with her team.

Kind Regards
Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

We had a family meal booked for 14 of us. All ordered different foods...steaks, chicken, fish and veggie for me.
Kids love the children's menu.
Not much left on the plates and we were satisfied with the portions.
I tried to not have a delicious pudding but could not resist the temptation...nor could anybody else!
Waitress, Claire i think, was on hand if needed but not all over you like some restaurants.
We ate early because of the children. Generally when eating so early i get annoyed when they hurry you to finish. Not here. We felt welcome and moved into the bar area for one more drink with the family.
Thank you Himley staff for yet another pleasant visit

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Himley House Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear Rachel B,

Thank you for the review of the Himley House, we are pleased to her that yet again you have enjoyed your visit.

We have passed your comments onto tje pub so they may inform the team of your kind words.

Many Thanks
Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We went as guests of a wedding reception, from start to finish it was terribly organised by the hotel - the food was delivered to the tables late and they had to go round each table to ask what they had pre-ordered as they had not detailed the seating plan to the pre-ordered menu. When the food eventually arrived after a very lengthy wait it was barely warm.
After the meal we were sent into the bar area whilst the Dudley room was prepared for the evening but there was no-where sectioned off for the wedding guests to sit, everytime you went to sit somewhere you where told by a member of staff that the table was reserved. - What a shambles - Would definately Not recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Himley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Himley House Hotel

Address: Stourbridge Rd. | Himley Near Dudley, Himley DY3 4LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Himley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Himley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Himley House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Himley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Himley House Hotel Staffordshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Himley House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.