We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Himley Country Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Himley Country Hotel to your Saves list
Himley Country Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   School Road, Himley DY3 4LG, England (Formerly Best Western)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Himley
stourbridge
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Super wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My son and daughter in law were married at this Hotel on 4 th January 2013. The wedding went without a hitch, many of my family and friends stayed in the hotel as part of the wedding package. Full marks to Hotel and staff. The food was as good as you could get anywhere. The staff were efficient, nothing too much trouble. Special mention to "Kat" for her friendliness and efficiency - she made the stay a special one - particularly for bride and groom

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
himley, General Manager at Himley Country Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your lovely review.

I will pass on your comments to the team and I am glad that your son, daughter in law and all your guests had a special day.

All the best wishes and happiness to the newlyweds.

We hope to see you in the future.

Kind regards
Matt Pullen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    103
    97
    65
    62
See reviews for
68
123
17
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
331 reviews 331 reviews
115 hotel reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed overnight with friends as part of a Newmarket Holidays package to see Andre Rieu concert at NEC Birmingham. This Hotel is over an hour away! Clean, but not much else going for it. Friends room key never worked during stay, had to get staff to let them in every time. No meal available in Restaurant as there was a funeral reception on. Ran out of bacon at breakfast. Just a fiasco really.

Room Tip: Find another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
himley, General Manager at Himley Country Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am sorry you did not have an enjoyable experience here at the Best Western Himley Hotel; however the distance between venues unfortunately is not down to the hotel but the coach company you booked with.

As regards to meals we had plenty of space in our bar/lounge area for guests to sit and have something to eat and drink which many of the coach party did do so.
Once again, thank you for bringing your comments to my attention and
hope to see you in the future as there are many attractions around the area for guests to visit.

Kind regards
Matt Pullen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We booked with the Groupon Deal that included Dudley Zoo. what a bargin !!!

The hotel staff were lovely and we received a warm welcome. Sunday lunch was nice and the breakfast' s were excellent. We had a large clean room with lot's of clean towels.
I cannot comment on the evening meals as we were not in the hotel at night to try them but everything else was very good for the amount we had paid.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
himley, General Manager at Himley Country Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review.

I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and the hotel team were friendly and welcoming.

I look forward to seeing you when you return to the hotel.

Kind regards
Matt Pullen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at the Himley Hotel for 2 night new year package. We had a lovely twin room on the ground floor which was clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Quick check in. Breakfast was good each day, the only niggle we have and this is the same for most hotels that have these machines - why do the persist with those toast machines that seem to toast only one side of the bread and take forever? Would it not be quicker to have a couple of 4 sliced toasters?
New Years eve meal and disco was very good. The function room looked lovely. Senior management seemed to be conspictuous by its absence (especially at a New Year Gala Dinner which is the hotels main event at this time of year). However, a big thank you to all the staff who were on duty over the period and were constantly working away and smiling.
Another major plus is the hotel is dog friendly.
There are a few areas that could do with some upgrading and money being spent but these had no actual impact on our stay. The bathroom suites are a bit dated and a couple of fence panels could do with being replaced by the entrance.
Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
himley, General Manager at Himley Country Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor.

Positive always make the Hotel team feel that they have done a good job,

We hope to see you again very soon

Kind regards
Matt Pullen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Himley Hotel for two nights. All the staff were fantastic and the hotel was incredible value for money. It annoyed me to read some to the poor reviews as totally unjustified about being dated as its not the savoy or trying to be thus, comments like this are stupid and quoted by muppets who obviously think they are royalty. It's about the whole experience and it's the staff who makes a hotel not the flashy bathroom and polished door knobs! The staff made us feel totally welcome and nothing was any trouble. i have stayed in 5 star hotels including the one previously mentioned in the above paragraph above and have never found such a relaxed and friendly approach. The breakfast was individually cooked and not just a buffet which is has been sitting there for hours (like most 5 start hotels). Very impressed! Also have to mention the multitasking of all the staff. In-particular the breakfast staff who even fixed our shower! Take the hotel as it is and don't expect Harrods at your friendly local shop prices! Thanks Best Western!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
himley, General Manager at Himley Country Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor, Good Responses always make the Hotel team feel that they have done a good job,

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon

Kind regards
Matt Pullen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Having looked at other reviews I was a little concerned about staying here but when I arrived there was a very pleasant welcome from the staff, quick check-in, rooms were a tiny bit dated but very clean and well appointed. Breakfast is served in a very atmospheric bit of the hotel , obviously the old school. Plenty of choice, very efficient staff , tables quickly cleared so no issues at all. I suppose it needs a little updating overall but step back and consider the price you pay here, I think pound for pound it is fine.
The only issue is the steep entrance to the car park , if you have a low suspension car it will catch on the road, you can even see on the hotel photos the number of gouges on the road. I did actually see a coach grounded there with subsequent damage to the front end.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
himley, General Manager at Himley Country Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for your reveiw.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us here.

I hope we can accommodate you again in the future.

Kind regards
Matt Pullen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel, the room we had was a good size and clean but smelt of damp, the wall outside also apeared to have bubbled plaster which may have been a leak in the past. I would say on the whole the staff were very friendly and approachable but I feel that the lack of managment was evident in as much as curtains were hanging off the end of rails in the bar area, a yellow wet floor sign was lent against the breakfast reception (although not in use), it was clear no hoovering had been done since evening before, coupled with the bar being out of Brandy, Pernod and Baileys indicated that the hotel was not being kept to a reputable standard. There was a general feeling of tiredness about this hotel which is a shame as I feel it still has the potential to be good with what appeared to be a willing workforce. suporting it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
himley, General Manager at Himley Country Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am sorry for your experience at the Best Western Himley Hotel and items were unavailable for you. This is not our usual standard and hope to be able to show you in the future the standards that I know the Best Western Himley can deliver

Once again, thank you for bringing your comments to my attention.

Kind regards
Matt Pullen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Himley Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Himley Country Hotel

Address: School Road, Himley DY3 4LG, England (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Himley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Himley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Himley Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Himley Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Himley Country Dudley
Himley Country Hotel Staffordshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Himley Country Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.