We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real English Country Hotel - Superb!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bell Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bell Hotel to your Saves list
Bell Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Market Hill, Clare CO10 8NN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clare
London England
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A Real English Country Hotel - Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

I feel really lucky to have found the Bell in Clare - everything you could want from a rural village hotel, fantastic 5star hospitality from a really warm family rum business, first class accommodation spotless, well furnished and a freshly cooked excellent breakfast. A fantastic range of local real ales on the bar served with a smile and a warm conversation....a real tranquil break from the speed of modern life - we will be back soon! Thank you.

Room Tip: We had the four poster room - superb!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    22
    7
    14
    14
See reviews for
21
38
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

I stayed at The Bell with 12 colleauges while on a business trip and I have to say that the new owners appear to have done a marvellous job. We were looked after fantastically throughout by the attentive staff and the food was top notch. The rooms also represented excellent value for money. We have already booked to return as it is far better than other hotels in the area we have used previously.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

I had, by chance, the opportunity to stay overnight at 'The Bell' with friends, at the beginning of April and found the hospitality, standards and service second to none. We weren't sure about having a meal, at the hotel but, any doubts we had were dismissed when we tasted the food - excellent! Quality cask ales, fine wine, great company and the room I stayed in (room 4, I think, at the front) was far better than I expected for a small village hotel.
All-in-all, a great hotel with fantastic food, wines and cask ales - the secret is they don't charge much either but, don't tell them.....

Room Tip: The rooms at the back will be quieter than the ones facing the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel with partner and found the hospitality of all the staff second to none. The menu isnt huge but what we ate was delicious and plentiful. The rooms are lovely and very comfortable and good value and our breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice will definitely be making a return visit

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Friday night, and we're the only people in the restaurant: when the food arrived, we knew why! Having eaten at The Bell on many occasions and been wowed with the food, the fact that it was taken over two weeks ago seems to herald a terrible downturn in the menu and the quality of what is served, although we were told that the chef wasn't new. A very ordinary menu at fairly high prices made it difficult to find anything particularly appealing, so the grey mullet dish looked like the best bet. It arrived swimming in a sea of burnt garlic and oil whilst the accompanying vegetables were older than the ones I threw out of my cupboard the evening before; tired, untrimmed and seriously overcooked, they epitomised the whole experience. My husband's dish of sausage and mash wasn't very appealing or tasty. A very disappointing evening. To be fair, the management did waive payment when we complained.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We took advantage of the Bell's unbelievable Valentines week offer. Log fires, great beers and wines, a spacious comfortable room and friendly professional service, rounded off with an excellent meal, including the best steak I've tasted in years. All fresh local produce. Excellent!

Room Tip: All rooms are simply but comfortably furnished. Our first turned out to be a bit too warm, but we we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Had lunch here on a cold, snowy day after an energetic walk with our dog around Clare Country Park.

Warm and welcoming, the staff allowed our dog in the bar with no problem (we agree with the previous reviewers comments about children and dogs in pubs). The Bell is a typical old, timbered, market square inn, with street parking around the war memorial opposite, and there is a posher conservatory restaurant at the back where dogs aren't allowed (but noisy children are).

An interesting and wide-ranging menu at reasonable prices, satisfying portions and 3 real ales, served by cheerful staff, made for an enjoyable lunch experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Hotel

Address: Market Hill, Clare CO10 8NN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Clare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Bell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Hotel Sudbury
Bell Hotel Clare, Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bell Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.