We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Boot Inn

The Boot Inn
Old Warwick Road, Lapworth B94 6JU, England
01564782464
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Lapworth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Warwick, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Superb!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Took a party of 14 for a works "do" recently.....it was brilliant!! No mean feat when you consider that there was a party of 45 in the upper restaurant and every other table was booked too. Our waiter, James, took our order quickly (along with some good natured heckling!!) and our food was served in no time at all. Every meal was as ordered and the food was absolutely superb.

Thanks to all at The Boot for making our evening so enjoyable. Can't wait to visit again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    94
    39
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect valentines x”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I travel from worcester regularly to The Boot. I booked a table weeks ago, not to be disappointed for Thursday 14th. Arrived and were greeted and shown to our table. Fantastic table for two near the live music, an added bonus! He was brilliant setting a warm, relaxed atmosphere. As usual too many wonderful choices on the menu and specials so the charming waiter helped me out! Scallops followed by halibut, amazing!! Sadly I could not squeeze a dessert in, so we decided to have a few informal drinks downstairs. With an open fire and the live singer performing it was the perfect end to a perfect evening.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Belated valentine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Decided to do the valentine meal on Saturday and tried The Boot for a change. What a fabulous, delicious meal! Really first class and service was great too. Always exciting and different choices on the menu too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“So much is wrong.....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Went here for a meal for 4 on a Saturday night. We were shown to our table that was right in the centre of the restaurant and I must have been bumped at least a dozen times by waiting staff passing as they served at other tables. Did anyone say sorry? Not a chance. They have simply tried to squeeze too many tables into a small space. That brings me on to the next problem - the noise. With so many tables so close together it was impossible to have a conversation without raising your voice and, adding to the noise from other tables as other guests had to also talk loudly to be heard was, the piped music! It is more of a background annoyance rather than music - why was it there at all?
Anyway on to the meal.....
My starter was Devilled Whitebait and I normally enjoy this. However instead of being nice and crisp the whitebait was very, very soggy and limp - not nice at all.
Main course was Southern Indian Chicken. With this there was a very basic error of serving it a bowl and this resulted in the sweet potato wedges being soggy and limp (there's a theme developing here) as they were placed under everything else. The chicken was very dry and not very tasty.
Dessert - nothing vaguely interesting on the menu so I gave this course a miss. Why do so many restaurants give so little thought to their desserts? They all seem to go for safe, boring options.
The service was poor and slow. The waitress came to clear away our dishes after the main course; took half of them and did not come back to clear the others for 10-15 minutes.
Overall a very poor dining experience. Personally I would not have tipped but others with me caved into convention - gratuities should be earned and not just given automatically.
I am told by others that this pub used to have a good reputation - not anymore. Give it a miss.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6Lovelypubs, Operations Manager at The Boot Inn, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you ZacMonaco for your feedback and the team and I are very disappointed about your comments.
In terms of the layout we have traded in this format for the last 25 years and whilst we appreciate its tight around those particular tables, we would have tried to move you should you have requested it, but it does not excuse the staff for bumping into you, and at least apologising.
The noise levels on a busy Saturday night especially in our restaurant can be awkward but the general buzz does add to the atmosphere of dining in a busy environment. The music is adjusted according to the volume of the restaurant at any one time.
We are having difficulty in confirming whitebait was on a recent Saturday night menu, but would agree that it should have been small, crisp and usually delicious. The southern Indian chicken is presented in this manner so as to allow the juices, herbs and flavours from the chicken to permeate through to the sweet potato wedges. As to the chicken being dry and tasteless, I would be surprised as all the marinades and spices are prepared from raw ingredients, but will ask chef to look into this as its one of our best sellers.
The pudding list has 7 desserts listed with one or two on the specials which we refresh on a daily basis to keep things interesting.
We have re iterated to the teams about customer focus and completing the tasks in hand, and can only apologise for this blip, because we do get it right most of the time.
In terms of your group of diners, I note they followed convention in leaving a gratuity for the service, and I would implore you, that it should only be given when its well-deserved and hope you get in personal contact with the GM at the Boot to discuss.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Expensive food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Found the food to be on the expensive side but a lovely choice and when food served it was exceptional. We had a lovely meal, and no complaints. Found the wine and drinks to be a bit expensive too.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boot Inn also viewed

Lapworth, Warwickshire
Solihull, West Midlands
 
Alcester, Warwickshire
Solihull, West Midlands
 

Been to The Boot Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boot Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.