We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly Dated but oozes character!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Road, Meriden CV7 7NF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Meriden
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Slightly Dated but oozes character!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

My wife and I stayed here with another couple over the Crufts weekend, for the second time. As after our last visit we were happy to come back again. Very local for the NEC and at a reasonable price. Yes the rooms and the decor are a little dated but I don't think you should expect these types of places to be redecorated every year and to look like a cosmopolitan hotel!
The breakfast buffet was good, similar to what you would expect from the legendary Hilton Buffet Breakfast. Staff are helpful and friendly and the hotel appears clean and tidy. Plenty of parking and the attached pub/restaurant was also very nice.
I think the expectation should be, that "you get what you pay for" as prices for the top hotels at the NEC were double this price.
Overall it was very good value and certainly suited what we were wanting to achieve for the weekend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    25
    32
    15
    15
See reviews for
24
24
4
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I attended a fund-raising function at the hotel recently and the so
called disabled toilet facility is un-useable by active wheelchair users,
and anyone who requires assistance has absolutely nil chance.
Plus, access to function rooms is by steps not ramps and requires a
strong athletic carer.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Stayed here out of desperation as had to , unexpectedly , do a second day at trade show at NEC with my husband.

The hotel was probably very nice once - the frontage onto the road is not un-attractive .

The room was very tired, with single glazed window and dated bathroom suite. Cleanliness was not an issue as everything was very clean - if not I would have left !!!! However, the bed was appalling. Very obviously old and spent the night clinging on to the edge of the matress as the roll together was hideous . Hence no sleep - also noisy plumbing and very thin walls - shame because the hotel itself is in a quiet location. Staff were very friendly and welcoming - shame about the restaurant !! Vast and deserted with a rather peculiar smell and a plethora of cobwebs and dust on the pelmets - not good. The menu looked good but did not hang around to find out if it tasted the same . Went to the pub over the road for dinner and discovered that the hotel had recently been sold to a local, upmarket hotel. Breakfast was ok but too tired to care. Good luck to the new owners and would stay here again once done up as the location is great and potentially this could be a great hotel set in , once , beautiful grounds. Oh and nearly forgot - the tiny, gereatric TV turned itself off, for no apparent reason , on a regular basis !!!

Room Tip: Wait for a major refurb !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Booked restaurant for valentines night, what a let down. First impressions very poor in need of up dating. The meal was no better poor and dated menu food was tasteless and service non existent
When we complained there was no sorry or anything.
At 8.30 they Turned off the heating so by 9.00 the room was freezing. By 9.30 the restaurant was empty apart from 1 couple
Think that says it all on what should have been a busy night. Will not be returning

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Stayed for 1 night, room was a little dated but clean and warm, TV was the smallest flat screen ever seen , reception staff very friendly and chatty, I had the bar menu which was nice and a good price, breakfast was also good (full English) for me.
Gardens looked nice ,will stay here again

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Stayed here as another provider had overbooked. Very helpful receptionist and a warm welcome was received. Rooms good with a double bed and camp bed provided. Bathroom a little dated but overall a good experience for the night. Breakfast good but could have been hotter as the burners on the food warmer were not lit.

Room Tip: A friendly welcome for a night with basic clean rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I stayed here as it was near a business appointment. On arrival it looked like I was one of only a handful of guests. When I entered my room it was apparent that no maintenance had been carried-out for years as everything seemed to be falling to pieces.
An evening meal was not available so walked down the road to The Bulls Head and realised that it would have been better to have stopped here. Never mind I will know next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Main Road, Meriden CV7 7NF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Meriden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Meriden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Strawberry Bank a modern styled drinking and eating destination in Meriden. With our stunning surroundings, relaxed decor and friendly team, we invite you to enjoy the newly refurbished interior with a leisurely drink from our extensive selection in the pub or dine from our range of classic meals in the Restaurant. We also boast an exclusive function room that can be tailored for Weddings, Conferences and other Events to suit your individual needs as well as, 55 bedrooms in The Strawberry Bank Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.