We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is what it is” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant

Save Saved
You added Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant
Main Road, Meriden CV7 7NF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Meriden
Pickering England
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“It is what it is”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We got a good price on a snowy night so very happy with value. It was clean and warm but is in need of some upgrading and improving. Staff were friendly and breakfast was absolutely fine. So at the price we paid quite happy-would have been very miffed if asked to pay the rack rate.
Very handy for NEC and a good pub opposite for a beer and bite.
There is some repaiting going on so hopefully this is part of a larger programme of work

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    11
    17
    8
    11
See reviews for
12
11
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Herne, Germany
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

This is certainly not a hotel for a 2 week vacation but it is very convenient for the NEC. One thing that I love about these smaller hotels in the breakfast. You tell the waiter wat you want and someone prepares it fresh for you. I dislike the buffet type breakfasts in chain hotels. The rooms are simple and the hotel could, with some renovation, make a better impression.
We only stayed one night but I have stayed there several times over the last 5 years.
The price reflects the level of service and fitting in the rooms. No big flatscreen televisions here but clean.

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I have now been for Sunday lunch on 3 occasions.
Fantastic service. Friendly and efficient.
Perfection on a plate!!!
Great value for money.
5* food, lovely ingredients, hot, well cooked, well presented.
Am going back soon to treat my Mum.

Room Tip: Sunday lunch is delicious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed here as we were attending a concert at the LG Arena. It is well situated only 3 miles away and gives decent value for money if you want to avoid the more expensive alternatives on or closer to the NEC site.

The Hotel was fairly basic but clean and upon arrival the staff were welcoming and helpful. The double room adequately sized but dont expect any mod cons. YES the T.V was a small portable. The hotel on the whole appeared rather noisy and you heard every door close (or rather bang) and voices echoed along the corridor.

Don't expect a relaxing glass of wine in the afternoon since the bar doesn't open till 6:30pm and was closed by the time we arrived back at 11:15pm. We couldn't even get a couple of wine glasses to take back to our room because apparently 'It isn't allowed'. Not sure what the staff thought we were going to do with them.

If you need a taxi during your stay avoid the hotels recommended firm 'Village Cars'. They dropped us some 500 yards from our destination 'apparently that is more convenient', for them maybe but not us. They then failed to pick us up later as arranged so we were left standing in the freezing cold for 45 mins.

Overall this is not a bad place to stay. We paid £79 on 'Bookings.com' Their rack rate is £99. Our price is a fairer relection of the value of this hotel, so shop around.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs. UK.
Top Contributor
295 reviews 295 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed here overnight before a trip from Birmingham airport. Good location in the centre of Meriden 10 mins from the airport. Reception staff were friendly, polite and helpful. I asked if I could leave my car at the hotel, while I went abroad and they allowed me to do that for no extra charge ( perhaps they should advertise this service !). The room was very dated, old fashioned decor and a tiny TV - of the old fashioned tube variety - could do with a bit of a makeover.. Overall good value for money, if you are just looking for a bed for the night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The wife and I stayed here for a wedding, the staff was all really nice and friendly and made us feel welcome, the room and bathroom was a little dated but very clean. the only negative was the room was very hot but it was very humid that nite and we didnt mention this to staff, maybe a fan in the room.The breakfast buffet full english and continental was really nice and plentyfull. also there is a nice big car park too. so thank you to all the staff for our pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We recently visited this hotel for an overnight stay. We arrived late and went straight into a meal in the restaurant, which was pretty quiet, but then it was about 8.30. The meal was very nice, no problems with that, the wine was a little bit pricey, but it was nice.
Our room was down a quiet corridor which overlooked the car park, it was ok apart from the overwhelming smell of urine in the bathroom. This is a problem not confined to budget hotels as we have stayed at the Belfry and had the same problem. However in this day and age with so many cleaning products available there really is no excuse. The rooms on the inside overlook the garden and would be nice and quiet. However we had no problem with noise at all.
We went down to breakfast the next morning which was in a rather small dark internal room. About 15 of us were having breakfast. It was totally hideous.
It really was the worst breakfast I have ever encountered.
There were jugs of milk and fruit juice, containers of cereal, so far so good. However the "hot breakfast" part was the big let down. There wer 4 large metal dishes on food warmers, these were keeping fried eggs, sausages, baked beans, bacon and the most hideous greasy hash browns. They smelt awful. All this was all rather lukewarm and it was topped off by a pile of cold plates on which to serve yourself.
There was no toast forthcoming until we asked for it and a lousy cup of tea finished off the whole mess.
It is a shame as it is a nice location and very useful for the NEC.
The staff were friendly and apart from the bathroom and the breakfast it was fine. However we will not be returning unfortunately.
The B & B and evening meal cost us £110 for the night, I suppose this is value for money of a sort but it is a shame.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Main Road, Meriden CV7 7NF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Meriden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Meriden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.