We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A game of two halves” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Springwells

Springwells
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Steyning
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Springwells
Save
You added Springwells to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   9 High Street, Steyning BN44 3GG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Steyning B&B and Inns
Herts
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“A game of two halves”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed at Springwells on the suggestion of a local friend. We read up beforehand so kind of knew what to expect.
There were more rooms free and we were offered an upgrade to The Oak room, a four poster. We took it because it had a shower/bath.
What I should mention is that the staff were welcoming, helpful and friendly at all times. They own a dog so this should be noted by some.
Our room was dated by any reference and in our opinion, at £98 a night B&B was expensive. We do fully appreciate the age of the property and that this is far from being a ring-road, computer built chain 'hotel'. It is a beautiful building in the heart of a lovely Sussex town.
Quirky is nice but we live in modern times and a shower needs to function well and there does need to be sufficient electrical sockets.
The bed was comfortable and the house was nice and quiet.
Breakfast was well presented, hot and freshly cooked.
So on the 'people' side, it was very good. On the 'property' side, I'm afraid that it does need some capital investment.

Room Tip: The Oak is a nice upper front room, with an en suite and four poster.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    14
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
10
18
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Bandarawela, Sri Lanka
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Springwells hotel is a very attractive stone built Georgian house situated in the picturesque village of Steyning and from the moment my partner and I arrived we were warmly greeted by Pip the manageress. We were shown to the ‘Willow’ suite on the first floor, a bright and roomy guestroom with a large window. The homely room had 2 comfortable easy chairs and a large dressing table where I could use my laptop with the free Wi-Fi. With a number of glossy magazines to read and the generous tea and coffee facilities provided, one needed a bit of encouragement to leave the room! Although Springwells do not provide dinner, this is not a problem as there are a couple of restaurants nearby and a particularly good one is only five minutes from the hotel. After dinner we returned to Springwells, made ourselves a Cadburys drinking chocolate and watched a little TV before retiring to the large double bed which was made especially comfortable by the addition of the soft mattress cover. After a comfortable and peaceful night’s sleep and using the well appointed spotlessly clean en suite bathroom we ventured down to take breakfast in the beautifully proportioned breakfast room. The lovely Georgian windows allowing plenty of the early morning sun to glisten across the white linen clothed dining tables set with good quality flatware. We were spoilt for choice over the breakfast menu from porridge with whisky to smoked salmon with scrambled eggs. From the large windows overlooking the pretty front garden we could admire lovely period houses, a beautiful weathervane and a historic church. After a scrumptious breakfast with the best choice of jams we have come across served efficiently by the friendly waitress, we made our way out to explore the surrounding West Sussex countryside. Springwells has a wonderful country house feel about it. We loved the little touches you would not normally come across in a hotel. Such as the warm and friendly service, the cheese board made available in the cosy bar and the offer of tea and biscuits in the sitting room or the sunny conservatory which led to the lovely garden and swimming pool. For those who appreciate the finer things in life it is well worth the £120 charges. During our two day stay we were fortunate and delighted to meet the charming owner, Mrs Jean Heselgrave who made us feel very special and welcome.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Lovely friendly staff but the whole place is very tired and needs a major refit, especially for the prices that they are charging. The rooms are well equiped although we did not have a shower - just a bath with a sixties rubber shower head to clip onto bath taps. We were also travelling with a one year old and our room was on the top floor - up two flights of steep steps. The fruit bowl and fridge with cold milk was useful when our son was hungry at 7am (breakfast started at 8am). There was a good choice at breakfast and a high chair available.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

My family and I stayed at Springwells when my sister in law got married in the summer. To say that the service was above and beyond the call of duty woud be an understaement. From the first moment I called to make the booking, with the challenging request that they also provide a babysitter, they made me feel as if nothing was too much trouble.
When we arrived at the hotel we were pleased that it was well looked after and pretty - it's not uber-chic or anything like that, but clean and nice, with the pleasingly shambolic air that nice English country hotels have.
Our room (can't remember it's name, but it had a big four-poster bed and an ante-room that we put the kids in) was nice. The bed was enormous and the kids had lots of fun clambering all over it.
The babysitting service was very very useful.
Perhaps the thing that really made the trip stand out was the response when my two-year-old son had what I can only describe as a "nappy malfunction" which made one hell of a mess (and was somewhat jarring as we nursed our post-wedding hangovers). The staff swung into action and sorted everything out with no fuss and the smily and helpful approach that made the stay so enjoyable.
Breakfast was great too.
Hotel wasn't cheap, and it's not a super high-spec place, but for what we got I thought it was reasonable and like I say, the team working there made it worthwhile.
I guess some people would rather have a perfectly maintained, modern, chic place for their stay, But I really like this place, and so did the missus (and her sisters, who both stayed there).
Couldn't have been happier.

Room Tip: Our room was massive and had a little ante room - it was great for the kids, and meant we got a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

This hotel takes you back in time with matching wallpaper and bed linen. Old fashion furniture but all very pleasant. In our room we had no shower, but a bath with plenty of hot water. White soft towels. Plenty of tea/coffee and fresh milk in a small fridge on the first landing. Staff friendly and accommodating, breakfast very good with pleasant service. A little over priced but I would still return when we are in Sussex again. Lovely village, we ate at The Chequers Inn in the evening and would recommend this. The local people use this pup and you can see why. Fresh cooked food.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mills, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Not so much tired as narcoleptic, at just shy of 100 pounds a night, this hotel is poor value indeed. Yes, the staff are nice and welcoming, but does that compensate for the dusty jam pots on the breakfast table, the stained beds, the fraying carpets? I think not. Lowlight of the stay was the waitress bringing to the breakfast table to clear up an orange juice spillage a sponge/scourer that looked like it was used to clean the toilets. My girlfriend was forced to intervene saying 'don't use that - it's got hairs on'. A great shame given how nice the place looks from the outside. Avoid.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

The hotel is well positiones in Steyning, very clean all over, friendly staff .Very comfortable lounge area . I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Springwells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springwells

Address: 9 High Street, Steyning BN44 3GG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Steyning
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Steyning
Hotel Class:3 star — Springwells 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Springwells Steyning, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Springwells, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.