We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private Dining Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lucknam Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lucknam Park to your Saves list
Lucknam Park
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Colerne, Colerne SN14 8AZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colerne
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Private Dining Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

A 40th birthday required a long and lazy lunch somewhere very nice for mainly grown ups with the odd couple of children thrown in.
A couple of the party had just completed the Bath half and were generously given use of the spa to change and we all sat down to a extremely enjoyable late lunch that stretched well into the evening.
The hotel itself is beautiful, the private dining room was perfect for us and my well traveled party commented on the lovely feel to the whole place.
Food was excellent (even the dairy free macrobiotic tendency gluten intolerant vegetarian beer connoisseur was very well looked after) , wine choice by sommelier was spot on and it all added up to a perfect event. The couple of teenagers having their cars brought to the front on departure added to their fun.
Having had the luxury of a stay at Gidleigh Park the week before it had a hard task to make itself stand out but it was in no way the poor relation.
Some hotels you go for lunch and you're fine about going home. This was one of the hotels where you really wish you had a night over , its been organised very well.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    73
    18
    9
    2
See reviews for
71
234
15
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Gwent
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I stayed here with a friend for a special birthday and so booked treatments, dinner etc prior to our stay. The staff (especially Melissa in reservations) could not have been more helpful. She organised everything for me, including the champagne for our room.

The stay itself was excellent, beautiful food and amazing spa; particularly the heated loungers! The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and the afternoon tea was a delight.

We couldn't have asked for more from a few days away; I will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london england
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This is somewhere to go for that really special treat. Spa, food room , service etc all fab . Whatever the weather and whatever the time of year this hotel will smother you in a blanket of luxury. Before you know it, it will be time to leave and return to the real world of average everything, It's not cheap - especially the riding - but heck some things are worth forking out for. Btw the riding is real riding around the gutless and tracks of the estate - no plodding around roads and all that usual tosh. Would come back any time .

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

This was not our first time here, and we came for a Friday – Saturday stay, booked as a package. Super-friendly, courteous staff, sometimes almost too concerned about our wellbeing. We had booked the small cottage behind the main building, and spacious room on the first floor, overviewing the courtyard. The day of arrival was rainy and cold, and we stayed in the spa for several hours. This spa is a real highlight with a hot pool, which extends to the outside, steam rooms, sauna and ample space to relax. The Bistro and the restaurant are both excellent, with perfect service and food a very high standard (in particular in the Restaurant). Breakfast is high quality, and a highlight is the Afternoon tea – book in advance to make sure you get a table. Overall, the service, ambiance and food were impeccable, and make this a memorable stay.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the rooms in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We returned to Lucknam Park for my husband's birthday. We stay in a lot of hotels - perhaps 150 nights a year - and this is our favourite anywhere. As always the hotel and staff were fantastic.

The welcome and service immediately makes you feel relaxed and at home but the suite we were shown to was rather better than our bedroom at home! It was beautifully furnished with an amazing four poster bed, wonderful scale and space, probably the best bathroom I have ever been in and stunning views down the tree lined drive. A wonderful start to our celebration.

The day continued well with an England rugby victory for him (not sure the hotel can claim credit for this) whilst I enjoyed the luxurious spa, the best I have experienced.

Dinner in The Park restaurant is our favourite place to eat and is consistently excellent. As a treat Chef had prepared a birthday cake and one of the waitresses (Laura) had decorated a plate with birthday messages. We were also so impressed by how one of the other waitresses (Esther) cared for an elderly diner who was not well: amazing customer care and on a very busy Saturday night service.

On Sunday we had room service breakfast which again is done so well; the food is as fresh/ hot as if served in the restaurant and it was set up perfectly on a linen tablecloth on a table looking down the tree-lined drive.

This was then followed by a morning in the leisure club and spa indulging in the wonderful treatments. We then had a late Sunday lunch in The Park restaurant which for Michelin quality food and service is amazing value at £39 a head.

After just one night we felt completely refreshed. It was a perfect birthday celebration.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

An amazing hotel and equally amazing spa!!!

This is what customer service is about - please take note all other ' upmarket' institutions !!!
This hotel is so well run esp by a very good manager!!

An amazing Park Restaurant [ even if the head chef had the night off as his beloved Wales were thrashing the French } with an amazing fare of food - the lemon grass sorbet was out of this world!

Id like to highlight a few very special individuals - the general manager, the french head waiter in the Park restaurant , the Belgian restaurant manager in the restaurant and the Brasserie manager who I thought encompassed and exhibited a great skill set.

A very enjoyable and well recommended stay!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We attended for afternoon tea. Firstly let me say that the rooms and grounds are beautiful and the girl on reception was very good and friendly.

I phoned and booked afternoon tea for three people. A few weeks later I phoned and requested that I alter my booking to add an extra person, it's a good job I did as they had no record of my original booking, although I'm pretty sure from his voice and accent it was the same person I spoke to on the second occasion as it was the first occasion. During the second phone call the man asked if there were any allergies, I said No. He then asked for a name for the booking, I told him, he then asked me again if there were any allergies, I again said No. Three days later the same man phoned to confirm the booking and to again ask if there were any allergies. I again said No. A small thing but a bit annoying. How many times do you need to ask?!

The afternoon tea looked spectacular when it was brought out, and it was nice, but not £23.50 each worth of nice. The finger sandwiches were dry, as though they had been left out for a while rather than being freshly made to order. For 8 scones there was one table spoon of cream and the same amount of jam, although I must say that the scones were delicious. The cakes looked pretty but tasted pretty average. No one came to the table to ask if everything was ok. We had to flag down a member of staff to request more cream, which was provided without fuss but not the point.

I've had afternoon teas in similar hotels which were less money and much better. The lack of service also took the shine off.

I was going to give 4 stars but 4 stars is Very Good and it was just good. No very. There are better places to treat yourself.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lucknam Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucknam Park

Address: Colerne, Colerne SN14 8AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Colerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lucknam Park 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lucknam Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucknam Park Hotel Colerne
Lucknam Park Chippenham
Lucknam Park Hotel Chippenham
Lucknam Park Colerne, UK - Wiltshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lucknam Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.