We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and cozy stay in the Swiss Alps” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Chamois

Save Saved
You added Hotel du Chamois to your Saves list
Hotel du Chamois
Hotel du Chamois
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel du Chamois
Le Contour, L'Etivaz 1660, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 L'Etivaz B&B and Inns
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Charming and cozy stay in the Swiss Alps”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The Hotel du Chamois is a very special place and a great way to experience Switzerland. It has been owned and operated by a kind and gracious Swiss family for over 125 years, who all chip in on the many tasks, from the 90 year old grandmother who still washes (and irons!) the sheets -- to the accommodating chef/son/operator and his lively, lovely wife. Another sister makes the beds, and this is obviously the local gathering place of this small village, L'Etivaz. The hotel, with its low ceilings, paneled walls and warm globe lighting oozes Swiss tradition. We found our room very comfortable and very clean, with plenty of hot water and windows that let in the sun in both the sleeping area and bath.
You can enjoy the local wine and cheese outside in a patio area, and we found dinner to be very good and reasonable considering Swiss prices. Since we don't eat much red meat, a local staple, we enjoyed a delicious meal the first evening of local morel mushrooms in a rich sauce. The next evening we had sauteed trout, very fresh since they are also local and kept in an aquarium in the kitchen. Breakfast is included in the price of a room, served in a sunny room on the second floor. This is quite the buffet and will tide you over while you explore the gorgeous countryside around. Be sure to try the local L'etivaz cheese. Cheese making, and the tending of the cows that goes with it, are an integral part of life in this village. You can visit the local cooperative to hear about the process and production. We were lucky enough to be there for the festival where they bring the cows down from the upper pastures and decorate them with headresses made of flowers. So charming! I will never forget the ringing of the cowbells, such a meditative sound that reminded me of the chanting and ringing of bells in the buddist temples in Thailand.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

After a hike from Chateux D'Oex, we were delighted to arrive at the Hotel du Chamois in the lovely village of L'Etivaz. We had two comfortable rooms - one for four children and the other for my wife and myself. Both were clean and ours had a new bathroom with good water pressure. Dinner in the hotel restaurant was very good - appetites no doubt influenced by the long walk. Recommend staying here for those who are looking for an uncomplicated and friendly inn.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Spent 1 night as part of a longer hiking trek in the Swiss alps. Biggest plus is the excellent service. Very friendly, attentive and helpful. Rooms are cozy, have a nice atmosphre and are spottlessly clean (though, for single rooms, the shower is communal, but also very clean) overall, good vibe in a nice Swiss mountan village, definitively off the beaten track.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

This is a little gem hidden in the L'Etivaz valley. The rooms are large and comfortable. By no means a modern hotel, so if you equate comfort and quality with 'modern' decor, this place isn't for you. We came up for a weekend of cross-country skiing with friends in Les Mosses, a mere 5-10 minute drive away from the ski area (downhill & cross country), but didn't want to stay in the middle of the crowd. We originally booked for just a Saturday night, but we liked the hotel and the ski trails so much we chose to extend our stay for another night. Unfortunately, we had to eat dinner with our friends at a restaurant in Les Mosses that didn't impress us (okay, we had fondue, and it was a decent fondue—probably because they used the Etivaz cheese that the valley is renown for—but the atmosphere was by no means relaxing), but on Sunday evening we corrected that oversight and ate at the restaurant in the Hotel du Chamois. The trout dishes were outstanding, and other diners appeared to be relishing their meat dishes. Definitely save room for the ice creams that they make themselves—they are far-and-away superior to anything you can buy in a store!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dordrecht, Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

I stayed in this hotel with my partner and some friends following a hike from Gstaad to L'Etivaz. We were very pleased with the large, comfortable rooms which were typically Swiss in style. Dark wooden furniture, creaking floor boards and low ceilings gave the place a cozy, homely atmosphere.

We chose to eat dinner in the hotel restaurant and weren't disappointed with our delicious meals. Beef, duck and chicken all cooked to perfection, and some delicious desserts to complete the meal. Breakfast was good, although the selection of food was a bit limited.

The best part of our stay by far was the exceptional service that we received from the manageress. Due to bad weather, we decided to cancel the second day of our hike, but we were still keen to reach our planned accommodation for the next night. Being such a small town, public transport was limited, so the manageress called the local bus driver on our behalf to request that he alter his route slightly in order to get us to the necessary train station. In addition to this, she also asked him to pre-purchase our train tickets so that we would not risk missing the train. We found this service to be extremely kind and quite unexpected, and it allowed us to maintain most of our plans for the following day.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Still looking for a hotel?
Travelers also viewed these L'Etivaz hotels
Hotel des Bains 5.0 of 5 stars 2 reviews
Show Prices
View all 0 hotels in L'Etivaz, ranked by popularity

Been to Hotel du Chamois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Chamois

Address: Le Contour, L'Etivaz 1660, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Vaud > L'Etivaz
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in L'Etivaz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel du Chamois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Chamois Switzerland/Vaud

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Chamois, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.