We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best introduction to North Yorkshire” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairhaven Country Guest House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Goathland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fairhaven Country Guest House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Common, Goathland YO22 5AN, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Goathland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“The best introduction to North Yorkshire”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Without exception,this is the best guest house in which we have ever stayed. The standard of furnishing and decor is vey high , and the quality of locally sourced food is excellent. Liz ,Keith and Kelly gave our friends and us a marvellous welcome ,and by the time we left it was almost like leaving "family". The house is situated in stunning countryside and was a marvellous introduction to a part of England with which we were not familiar. An additional bonus was the close proximity to the steam railway which took us to Whitby and an opportunity to be in "Aidensfield" and "Heartbeat" country. We will definitely be back !

Room Tip: Get one in the front !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    144
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
65
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Viljandi, Estonia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Keith, Kelly, Liz and Richard doing serious work in Goathland. Their hospitality, kindness and courtesy is a heartwarming. Room had a good view and comfortable, everything you need for holiday. Breakfast was delicious, freshly baked.

It was our first visit in Goathland and certainly I choose the Fairhaven next time again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Recently we stayed for the second time and standards were as high as our last visit about two years ago.
All the family are extremely welcoming from the moment you enter the house. Our room was at the front and was very comfortable..the views lovely as ever. It is nice to stay away from the busy heart of the village and be able to park safely at the back of the house.
Breakfast was wonderful and what a good idea having some alternatives to the standard English breakfast! We wandered to the nearby hotel (mallayon spout) and had good evening meals at reasonable prices.
Another bonus is being able to walk down to the station and catch the stream train to Whitby for the day avoiding the usual hassle of parking in the resort.
Thanks again to Kelly and Co for a great stay!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billingham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

A beautiful building, extremely well decorated and spotlessly clean, but this was by far outshone by the hosts; Liz, Keith and Kelly. We have never ever come across such nice people, making everyone feel at home the moment you arrive. The breakfasts are awesome and plentiful with a large buffet bar of cereals and fruits to choose from. Oh, and Keith should be rightly proud of 'his' coffee :)
This one is definitely on our list of return spots!

Room Tip: room 4 is large and overlooks the moors for a cracking sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We have stayed at Fairhaven on a regular basis for a number of years - our recent stay this weekend was our third visit this year! We booked the hotel for the weekend at the beginning of July for close family and had a great time celebrating my husband's 65th birthday and forthcoming retirement. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners who make everyone very welcome. The hotel is situated in a great location - plenty of walking on the moors, riding the steam trains and the coast. The food is excellent with a great choice of traditional English cooked breakfast and also specials. We are already planning a Winter Warmer for January.

Room Tip: I think we have spent a night in most of the rooms over the past years and all are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

I come to Goathland regularly as I work in the area from time to time and was aware of the Fairhaven from a colleague who stays there often. I stayed for two nights and was very impressed. Staying in a double room on my own meant there was plenty of space and the supplement for sole use of a double was very reasonable. The en suite shower room although compact was clean and everything worked well.
The thing that made it for me was the people. Friendly and welcoming so within five minutes you feel you've known them for years. On arrival cake and tea appears as if by magic and very good it is too. Speaking of food the breakfast was top quality. Plenty of fruit ,a choice of cereals and as well as the normal full English there are different specials each day. One morning I had the Eggs Benedict which was very nice. Plenty of strong tea too which is always my preference first thing.
It is a relaxing place to stay being slightly away from all the tourist hubbub in the village centre but conveniently located and within easy walking distance of local attractions such as the North Yorkshire Moors Steam Railway , the walk to Grosmont down the old railway trail, The Mallyan Spout Waterfall , etc. There are several places in the village to get an evening meal and of these I've found the Mallyan Spout Hotel to be the best. It does bar meals as well as more upmarket restaurant food.
At the Fairhaven there is (free) wifi in the building although it works better in some rooms than others , and mobile reception in the village is notoriously fickle.
Goathland is a good base on the Moors to visit various places and I would recommend the Railway but hope the management alter their current preference for running lots of diesel trains instead of the Steam engines they advertise.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROMSEY
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

First time at this lovely B&B. The owners are really friendly and welcoming. On arrival a pot of tea and cake. Clean room (most important to me), good shower, nice view over the Moors from the room. Goathland is a lovely village, fortunately not spoilt by all the Hearbeat nonsense. Fairhaven is ideally situated near the centre of the village. Adequate parking. Excellent location for exploring the area, travelling on the North Yorkshire Moors Steam Railway to Whitby, lovely walks etc.
Outstanding breakfast. Lots of choice and daily specials such as Eggs Florentine, Eggs Benedict, Smoked Haddock, along with all the usual breakfast choices. Was good to have plenty of fresh fruit available for breakfast too.
For evening meal, the Mallyan Spout is only a few minutes walk down the road and do good food. Otherwise plenty of nice places to eat in surrounding villages or in Whitby. I do not recommend eating at the Goathland Hotel in the village.
Would not hesitate to stay at Fairhaven again. One of the top 5 B&B's I have stayed anywhere in UK.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairhaven Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairhaven Country Guest House

Address: The Common, Goathland YO22 5AN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Goathland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Goathland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairhaven Country Guest House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairhaven is a family-run licensed Edwardian Guest House set in the heart of the outstanding natural beauty of the North York Moors National Park. With private car park, extensive gardens, lovely guest rooms and stunning guest lounge, the house is a perfect spot from which to explore the area: from coast to countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fairhaven Country Guest House Hotel Goathland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairhaven Country Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Fairhaven Country Guest House to your Saves list