We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice staff grumpy boss” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Goathland Hotel Restaurant and Bar

Goathland Hotel Restaurant and Bar
Goathland | Whitby, Goathland, North York Moors National Park, England
01947 896203
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 5 Restaurants in Goathland
Price range: $6 - $14
Cuisines: English
Restaurant details
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“nice staff grumpy boss”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The staff were helpfull & poilite the food was average but ok but the lady in charge was rude one lady who very politely complained the her food was not hot and she was rude to them but replaced the food and another customer was holding a door half open while waiting for a knife and fork and she was very rude and abrupt telling her to close it as it was a fire door.Also a couple of weary travellers who got caught in the traffic turned up to collect the keys to their room 5 minutes after they stopped taking orders and she refused to give them hot food only sandwiches. All this in 15minutes whatever happens the rest of the day.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    16
    23
    32
    66
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Grumpy man”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Went in for a drink and was so disappointed with the attitude of the man who served us. the place had a terrible atmosphere and I agree that it is a let down to a lovely village. There was no Yorkshire hospitality in this bar.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Remodelling when we visited”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Probably a great place most of the time, but when we went they were in the middle of remodelling, which meant no draught beer and a lot of chaos. The staff were either stressed or a little off-hand - I'm trying to be nice and allowing the former. The food was good, though a little slow to come. What really let it down for me was the toilet facilities. At first I didn't think there were any, and the staff ignored me when I asked. Then another customer told me we were allowed to go upstairs (past the notice which said "strictly residents only past this point"). This would have been fine, but no hand washing facilities whatsoever, just an old fashioned toilet in a tiny room. With a five year old in the middle of eating a meal, not good, and the staff simply didn't want to know. Luckily my daughter had an antibacterial hand wash in her bag which we could use, but for a fairly substantial hotel like this, totally unacceptable.
Hopefully this is a temporary blip which will be sorted once the remodelling is over, and future visitors will have a better experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Stopped for a drink”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stopped to enjoy a cold drink, the beer garden was super, view beautiful. The staff were pleasant and polite, the property seemed a little dated, which is a shame because this pub is in a great location in the village.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Stuck in the past, needs to spend some of the beer money!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Like many who take a trip back in time, expecting too much, disappointing.
£4 a pint! Having a laugh on that one.
Food was OK but nothing special.
Not even proper milk with the tea, but we was given some upon asking.
No atmosphere at all, I would have expected some 60's music but no.
Worth avoiding and going to the station or tea room instead.
This place must solely exist on tourists because if I lived there, I would go at all.

Unfortunately the whole town have not capitalised on the Harry Potter link either which would bring a fresh visitor stream.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goathland Hotel Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Goathland, North York Moors National Park
Goathland, North York Moors National Park
 
Goathland, North York Moors National Park
Goathland, North York Moors National Park
 

Been to Goathland Hotel Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goathland Hotel Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.