We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic break and location and hosts!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rose Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Goathland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rose Cottage
Save
You added Rose Cottage to your Saves list
Goathland Village, Goathland, North York Moors National Park YO22 5AN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Goathland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“fantastic break and location and hosts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We had a great break in Daisy Cottage (annex to Rose Cottage) with friends, who are already regular visitors to Rose Cottage. Emma and Jaz are the prefect hosts. Would recommend to everyone (but do bring wellies for the surrounding countryside). Ideallc location, yet so close to local attractions. Thanks Emma for everything - will see you again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
141
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hull
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

just to say thank you Emma for a most delightful stay at Rose Cottage..we booked the weekend there as it was our sons 40th Birthday and he loves the North York Moors.i have to say what a great choice we made..the rooms are beautiful and spotless plus tea making facilities,but Emma was the perfect host and made us feel very welcome.last but not least thank you to Emmas partner for the most heartiest breakfast.certainly set you up for the day!would we recommend Rose Cottage?without any doubt yes.And we will certainly go back.xx

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice but the one facing the back is enormous and has the loveliest views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We said in the newly refurbished daisy cottage wich is self catering and emma could not have made us feel more welcome. On arrival she had left us with milk, tea, coffee, sugar and even 1/2 doz eggs to get us going. The facilities were excellent and extremely clean and tidy. Will definitely be staying again when we can get some time off. The area itself was of outstanding beauty and many many thanks to all that made us feel so welcome xx

Room Tip: if you want a self catering short break this cottage is absolutely ideal - it is so quiet and peacef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

we have just returned from a stay at daisy cottage which is the self catering part of rose cottage all i can say is fantastic it was an absolute dream both myself and my husband took his 83year old grandma with us and left my mum dog sitting but we will return hopefully very soon and maybe even take the dogs with us.Daisy Cottage was very well equiped and also very clean a welcome hamper was also provided i would totally recommend a stay here we loved it and we didnt want to come home its well situated and theres plenty to do and see we were hardly in,also perfect hosts made us feel really welcome the views are to die for around the property

Room Tip: we stayed in the self catering cottage along with its own garden and private parking i would totally...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This is an excellent place to stay with your dog. We could not have been made more welcome, especially our border collie. Spotless clean - no doggy odours. Dog towell just inside the front door was a good idea. Nice & quiet. Lovely room, and wine glasses were a nice touch. Thank you to Emma & Jazz for a lovely 5 days.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Had lovely overnight stay at rose cottage again,Emma and her partner look after you really well,rooms spotlessly clean,bathroom ,bedrooms and dining room,top class breakfast to set you up for the day and a credit to the owners.Will be back when in the area thankyou for having us.
RW@BK EDWARDS

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

absolutely top class b&b.Emma was a perfect hostess,nothing too much trouble even when i knocked on her door at 7am to ask for milk and sugar to make tea.didnt get to meet jaz but have to say his breakfasts were scrumptous.plenty food and well cooked.would truly recommend to anyone thinking of staying there.the rooms were spotless and really comfortable.the bathrooms were delightful with complimentary shampoo etc,and with bath and power shower no waiting to use bathroom.would love to stay again and would not even think to book elsewhere.

Room Tip: all rooms good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rose Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Cottage

Address: Goathland Village, Goathland, North York Moors National Park YO22 5AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Goathland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Goathland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rose Cottage is a Grade II listed building located in the centre of of Goathland. It is a wonderful old cottage which is beamed throughout and has an open fire in the breakfast room. Rose Cottage is in the the heart of the North Yorkshire moors and only a stone's throw away from Goathland steam railway station and all the sights from the ITV series Heartbeat. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rose Cottage Hotel Goathland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rose Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.