We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every way!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heatherdene Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Goathland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Heatherdene Hotel
Save
You added Heatherdene Hotel to your Saves list
The Common, Goathland, North York Moors National Park YO22 5AN , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Goathland B&B and Inns
Birmingham, England
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

The welcome was friendly, warm and genuine, the hotel and rooms were immaculate, and the food tasty. With ample room for parking and a peaceful location (just a gentle stroll from Goathland's facilities) Heatherdene Hotel had it all for me and my senior parents. Jill and Tony make you feel that nothing is a problem, without getting 'in your face'. Having stayed at three 3 other properties in Goathland, this is the place we intend to return to in the future.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
25
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

Great place to stay, was only there two nights but very relaxing, big room, clean and tidy. Just one thing the breakfast was more about quality than quantity so did leave me a little hungry.. but it was well worth it overall!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

Received a very warm welcome, despite having turned up a day early by mistake! Twin room was very spacious, with good facilites and comfortable beds. Owner had suggested local evening meal which worked well for us. Breakfast was good quality and service overall was excellent. local views were also stunning.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

I stayed here on business for a few weeks last summer and it was very good.

I ate in the dining room most nights and all of the food was great, the owners and staff are really friendly and the hotel is very tastefully decorated. The breakfast is extra good!

For the money you can't get much better.
It's in a nice area with plenty for tourists to do including walking, Whitby and the steam railway.

I will be visiting again for a weekend break.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

We stayed at Heatherdene Hotel over the easter break and really enjoyed our time there. The hotel is located in a beautiful area and the rooms at the hotel have wonderful views over the country side. The rooms were nicely decorated, clean and very comfortable and the breakfast in the morning was delicious with home made bread, jams, fresh fruit and cooked options. The hosts were friendly and helpful giving us great advice about walks in the area. Lots of nice touches such as easter eggs, and fruit to take on walks. Would definitely recommend you stay here and we hope to return.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selsey UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

We have been talking for years about visiting "Heartbeats Aidensfield" and finally made it this September. The village is amazing and very little changed from what you see on the TV programme, a bit busy during the day but it quietens down in the evening.
We stayed at the Heatherdene Hotel and really enjoyed our stay there.
Our room was on the top floor with a beautiful view over the countryside. The room was very comfortable, clean and well furnished. The bathroom was also well appointed and spotlessly clean.
Breakfasts were excellent and we had dinner in the hotel on 2 of our nights which were also excellent, good food, well cooked and presented.
We ate in a nearby hotel called "Mallyan Spout Hotel" on our 1st night and had their Whitby Fish and Chips which was very good and the "Black Sheep Beer " on draught was a really good bitter.
We used our free bus pass and had a trip over the moors to Whitby which is a very nice albeit busy seaside town. We returned to Goathland on the steam train which brought back some memories.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

My husband and I booked this hotel for a weekend away and stayed for two nights in room 6. This room overlooked the street, but this wasn't a problem for us.

We were made to feel welcome the minute we pulled into the drive and again everytime we came back to the hotel.

Our room was very clean with kettle and water in the room. The bathroom had a shower with lovely products to use. The double bed was very comfortable and not small as I was expecting.

Breakfast was great and with good choices. It is served between 8.30am and 9.30am, but it's nice to be up early. Our papers were on our seats waiting for us in the morning. We kept forgetting to order them and only remembered as we were going up to bed, but they were still there!

We spent an evening in the living room playing Connect 4 and looking at the view while enjoying drinks from the bar. It was a very nice evening.

I cannot fault this hotel in any way at all!! There isn't any phone reception except when you hang out of the window, but we were offered the use of the hotels phone at any time. It was lovely to just switch off and relax for a few days.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone! If you want the personal service, then this is the one for you.

My husband and I would give this hotel 10/10 and a huge thumbs up!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heatherdene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heatherdene Hotel

Address: The Common, Goathland, North York Moors National Park YO22 5AN , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Goathland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Goathland
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A welcoming licenced guest house surrounded by stunning scenery within the village of Goathland.Goathland is a small village in the North Yorks National Park. It has a station on the North Yorkshire steam railway. Ideal for walking on the surrounding moors, Whitby and the coast is 7 miles away. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heatherdene Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.