We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pub grub” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Woodman Inn

The Woodman Inn
Bedale Road | Burneston, Bedale DL8 2HX, England
+44 1677 426123
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 25 restaurants in Bedale
Price range: $12 - $68
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Description: The Woodman Inn is a family run pub in the peaceful village of Burneston near Bedale. Inside is a cosy bar, a 28 cover restaurant and 3 letting bedrooms. Serving good local ales, fine wines and quality food using locally sourced produce. This is a very welcoming place to everyone who walks through the door. Also welcoming your four legged friends into our bar area! Our Head Chef is CJ Mottershead aged 18. He started his career at the age of 13 as a pot washer, then progressing into a chef and has a background in a number of 2 rosette restaurants. CJ left school a year early to attend Darlington College where he studied for a Diploma in Professional Cookery. At the age of 15 he was entered into the National Junior Chef Competition, judged by celebrity chef Gary Rhodes and proudly achieved a creditable runner up position out of hundreds of participants. From then he has gone onto work in highly regarded restaurants under top chefs. Also getting the chance to spend a week with Tom Kerridge at the 2 Michelin Star, Hand and Flowers in Marlow. Although very young, CJ is extremely talented.
Richmond, North Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Pub grub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Called in for a meal following a long journey. Although the welcoming was warm enough the pub itself wasnt, it was freezing. We went for warming comfort food i.e steak pie and chicken and ham pie. The pies were typically butcher type pies which had plenty of filling. The chips were lovely home made and it was decent pub grub. We understand from talking to the landlady that tthey have only been in residence for 6 weeks and we wish them all the best.
It cost £10 for the two meals which was pretty good value.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    8
    1
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent - you've got to try it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My wife and I called in today 2nd June and we were greeted with open arms. The owners were very welcoming and the whole visit was excellent and relaxing from start to finish. We both had the soup for starters which was gorgeous and obviously home made and served with warm bread. Again for main we both had roast beef Sunday lunch and was good old home cooked food with Yorkshires to die for. Although we were bursting we couldn't resist the home made apple pie which my wife had with custard and I had with iced cream..... The food was very reasonably priced and do were the drinks...We look forward to returning very soon

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed at the Old Chapel across the road with the previous reviewer and just wanted to add that we too enjoyed the food and the friendly welcome we received at The Woodman. Lesley makes a great apple pie, wish we could have stayed longer to sample some more of her great food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south coast
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Pub Grub!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Like other reviewers, we were staying at the Old Chapel across the road from the Woodman. We normally travel around and try out a few local pubs but the friendly welcome, the convenience and the quality of the food persuaded us to leave the car and just walk over the road for our evening meal on several nights.
The menu is very good quality pub grub - it's not 'fine dining' so don't go looking for the latest trends - but your palate, and wallet, will benefit accordingly! Although the menu is large enough listen carefully if you are told of special 'cooked today' items. It's been years since I have had 'corned beef pie' and it was smashing.
The pub was very quiet on each of the evenings we were in there, which is a shame, but hopefully word will travel and the very friendly couple running it will build up a regular appreciative clientele.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Just returned from the Woodman Inn, had a lovely meal on Saturday night and a lovely restful sleep. The couple that now run it (I think they arrived in Feb 2013) are absolutely lovely and very welcoming.

Didn't stay for sunday lunch, but I caught a glimpse of the yorkshire puds - lordy they were huuuuuge and the smells were amazing!!

Highly recommended!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Woodman Inn also viewed

Bedale, North Yorkshire
Bedale, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Woodman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Woodman Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.