We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lodge At Leeming Bar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lodge At Leeming Bar to your Saves list
Lodge At Leeming Bar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Great North Road, Bedale DL8 1DT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bedale
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great staff and good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were attending a wedding and decided to stay a few more nights to make the most of being away from home. The hotel itself is a little dated, but you definitely get your moneys worth. It is clean and well located for both the moors and the dales. Yes, it is next to a motorway, but you honestly couldn't tell that when you were in the hotel itself. The staff were great- and even allowed us to use our room before check in to get ready for the wedding. Breakfast was standard buffet and full breakfast style and we had no real issues. Would recommend for a cheap base. If you are looking for something more stylish then there are plenty of b&bs nearby, but they are more expensive. Here, you definitely get value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    32
    22
    15
    13
See reviews for
21
40
4
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Hair splitting about the fact that this is on the junction of the A1 and A684 aside, this is (effectively) a motorway service station hotel and, if anything, the layout and décor of the place seemed to emphasise this fact.

In terms of my room (Room 34 if anyone from the hotel is reading this), I have two major criticisms:

(a)
Even when in the Freeview programme guide, the TV changed the channel when using the up and down arrows to scroll through the channel list – something it should not do – and also when the ‘cursor’ was on a channel the TV took ages to find the list of programmes for that channel

(b)
The door to the bathroom of my room did not shut properly, meaning that I did not take the shower that I was planning to take out of fear that I would set off the smoke detector next to the bathroom entrance

In terms of the hotel as a whole, you will either love it or hate it:

>>
If you have been conditioned by and/or accustomed to modern hotels – such as the generic ‘business chain’ hotels – you will not be able to see beyond the dated décor, which screams 1960’s and will make you think of the TV sitcom ‘Are You Being Served’, and will hate this place

but

>>
If you can see this place in the narrow purview of ‘bed and bog’ and as an initial ‘base camp’ to head into the Yorkshire Dales or Yorkshire Moors, you will probably be able to tap into the personality of this place – as the staff will see and treat you as a person rather than a customer


I have therefore initially awarded three out of five because I can see both sides of the coin of how you may view the hotel as a whole, and have then deducted one for the two issues specific to my room to arrive at my final rating of two out of five.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Rolled up just after 5pm to find that "there was no record of our LateRooms.com booking", despite having it confirmed nearly two weeks ago. Slightly alarming as this is not an area of the country which is over-run with accommodation. Think they did us a favour, however, given the dowdy impression of the exterior of the building.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife and I have Just enjoyed a short weekend at the above hotel (junction 51,A1/A1M) and we thoroughly recommend it to all travellers who are attempting to avoid the normally uncivilised service stations. Accommodation was very good and we had a choice of Cafe, bar meal or restaurant food. We opted for the bar meal that would have given a quality restaurant a good run for its money. The bar eating area was very welcoming and homely and the food and service was excellent. This is a very comfortable place to have a break, either for for a short time or overnight. Spotlessly clean, quiet, good menu that is not too expensive despite being within visual distance of the motorway. Can be tricky to spot the correct signage but well worth the effort. Enjoy!

Room Tip: All rooms are situated away from motorway at rear of hotel with easy access.Reception is central wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed 3 nights with our dog, excellent value for money, food was very good both breakfast and evening meals, no traffic noise either, good close bridle way to walk the dog as well which she was pleased with
Would recommend this as very good for getting to either the dales or the moors, we spent a day in each area

Room Tip: We had ground floor which was good for the dog
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel for 23 men age range from 30 to 75... They were on a Fishing weekend.. Up early out late .... Up early ish next day.. They all enjoyed the hospitality the rooms and the Food... They had evening 3 course meal with choices and buffet breakfast. Ample supply of tea an coffee .... Would recommend this place as great base to visit Thirsk and surrounding area... Very reasonable too.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morley leeds
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Agree with everything Lindah says.you get what you pay for no saunas or fancy spa just a good room clean hotel good food and friendly staff. Would have no hesitation in staying again or recommending to friends

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lodge At Leeming Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge At Leeming Bar

Address: Great North Road, Bedale DL8 1DT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Bedale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bedale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lodge At Leeming Bar 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge is situated in its own extensive grounds, adjacent to the A1 Great North Road, one mile from Bedale. The 39 bedroom Lodge offers free WiFi and is perfectly situated for a North/South stop over or to discover the beautiful countryside of the Yorkshire Dales and North York Moors. The special executive rooms are brand new and have 32 inch flat screen TVs as well as air conditioning.All bedrooms are ensuite and feature all modern comforts such as Flat Screen TV, Freeview, trouser press, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. The Executive rooms have air conditioning and 32 inch flat screen tvs. Some of these rooms are situated on the ground floor and have wheelchair access.The Old Market Square Restaurant & Cafe Bar enjoy an award winning reputation, renowned for traditional English cuisine complimented by friendly service in a relaxed atmosphere. The Virtual reality world of a Market Town in the Restaurant has been created by a local artist. Doors, Windows & Shop Fronts all tell a story that reflects the history of the owners over the last 50 years. Access via reception is through a level passage with no steps to negotiate, easy for anyone with limited mobility or users of wheelchairs.Two dedicated meeting rooms are available and popular as the hotel is in an ideal location just off the A1M for business people wanting to meet up in a location halfway between Leeds and the North East (or London & Scotland). The biggest meeting room can take up to 150 delegates theatre style.Local attractions include the Yorkshire Dales, a national park with beautiful scenery. The Historic City of York is just a short drive away as are Ripon and Richmond. There is also a Tourist Information Centre based at the Lodge which provides information on local and national things to see and do. The Wensleydale Railway passes through some of the most beautiful scenery in the Yorkshire Dales, running for 17 miles from Leeming Bar to Redmire on the edge of the Yorkshire Dales National Park. Trains run throughout the year (daily during the Summer; at weekends and during school holiday periods during the rest of the year). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, LateRooms, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Lodge At Leeming Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Leeming Bar Hotel Bedale
Hotel At Leeming Bar
At Leeming Bar Bedale
Lodge At Leeming Bar Bedale, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodge At Leeming Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.