We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mill Close Farm

Save Saved
You added Mill Close Farm to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mill Close Farm
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Patrick Brompton, Bedale DL8 1JY, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Discount Rates
Ranked #3 of 12 Bedale B&B and Inns
Bingley, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Weekend away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Had a fantastic stay, the bedrooms are first class with my view over the farm fields which is part of the B&B and would fit any 5 star hotel, the place is spotless, breakfast all home grown food and enough to last me the day. Very friendly and ideal lacation. Will visit again.

Peter

Room Tip: I had the room facing the front but as all the rooms have views over farm fields.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
31
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penarth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed at Mill Close Farm while touring Yorkshire and The Dales. The accommodation was on a par with a first class hotel and the quality of service top notch. This is far from being an average Bed and Breakfast establishment as it sets a standard to which others should aim to achieve.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed on 9th. June and had the same wonderful welcome as described by others, a beautiful room and the best breakfast we have ever had in any B&B. We intend to stay here again when the opportunity arises.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed at Mill Close farm as a stop over while en route to a vintage car rally in the scottish borders. We arrived tired and somewhat weary after the long drive in our 80year old car. We were greeted by Patricia our host, who soon had us settled in to a very welcome tea and homemade cakes in her delightful farmhouse. We, were also given an upgrade to the Four poster bedroom. I echo the comments of the other reviewer, it was a beautiful room with an enormous four poster bed which was very comfortable. The room was tastefully decorated with lots of nice little touches such as the bowl of fresh fruit, homemade chocalates in the fridge which also had bottled water and the "real" milk for tea and coffee, the windows looked out onto fields with grazing highland cattle and sheep.The large bathroom had a corner spar bath which was complimented by high quality toiletries, very relaxing after our drive. Patricia really cares about hers quests and it shows not only in the quality and cleanliness of the rooms but also in the choice and quality of breakfast which was excellent. Choosing a good B&B can be a lottery, choose Mill Close farm and you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms have their our characters and charm, try the 4 - poster room for that extra little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed at Mill Close in April this year. The property is in the most beautiful area, very peaceful and quiet. Patricia's attention to detail made for a wonderful stay for 3 weary travelers. Breakfast was just perfect, we didn't want for anything - and Patricia was a warm and friendly hostess. We would definitely recommend this B&B and only wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

This is a superb venue with a welcoming host, Patricia, who offered tea or coffee with homemade cakes on arrival.

We had a complimentary upgrade to the 4-poster bedroom but also had an oppportunity to view the other rooms during our stay of 4 nights (we'd originally only intended to stay for three!), and would have been delighted to stay in any of the rooms.

Our bedroom was superb with very high standards of taste,decor and cleanliness with lots of special "touches". Tea and coffee making facilities were available (with fine bone china cups and saucers) as well as a bowl of fruit. The totally silent fridge contained drinks and fresh milk as well as homemade chocolates.

The bed was enormous and very comfortable and the bathroom was very large with a spa corner bath.

The view from the bedroom looked over fields with highland cattle only 30yds. or so from the window and the two bathroom windows overlooked open fields.

The breakfasts were superb with plenty of choices including a daily variety of freshly baked scones, bread rolls etc, straight from the aga, complemented by homemade jams.

We're amazed that Mill Close Farm is not No. 1 on the Tripadvisor site as it's difficult to believe it can be bettered!

It's by far the best B&B we've ever stayed in and exceeds, by far, the vast majority of hotels (some very expensive) we've visited.

In fact, we've already booked a return visit!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Patricia is a warm and friendly hostess, welcoming us with afternoon tea and a roaring fire!
We stayed in a beautiful room overlooking the walled garden with lily pond. The breakfast was delicious with lots of choice - what a feast!
This country house b&b is totally tranquil with complete silence and a great location. Great value for money - we'll be back for sure!

Room Tip: The room overlooking the garden was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mill Close Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Close Farm

Address: Patrick Brompton, Bedale DL8 1JY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Bedale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Bedale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mill Close Farm 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Mill Close Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Close Farm Bedale, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mill Close Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.