We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Devonshire Fell Hotel and Bistro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Devonshire Fell Hotel and Bistro to your Saves list
The Devonshire Fell Hotel and Bistro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Burnsall, Burnsall BD23 6BT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burnsall
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely Break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed here on a Travelzoo voucher. We had afternoon tea in the conservatory. The service was excellent and attentive. Our room was comfortable though rather warm as it was a hot day, when we mentioned this a member of staff placed a fan in our room. The tasting menu was excellent with an extensive list of accompanying wines. Breakfast was good and well served. The views from this hotel are breath taking.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    73
    41
    14
    11
See reviews for
52
156
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wetherby
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Do not use this Hotel. I totally agree with Barlow5's review of the Devonshire Fell. Once they get the money off you they are not interested in you as customers. We booked our wedding at the Devonshire and paid a £500 deposit, within a month we had to postpone due to a family bereavement and the Devonshire refused us our deposit back and refused to even transfer the deposit so we could return at a later date. The customer service involved was appalling, the wedding co-ordinator had frequently got things wrong on our initial meetings (prices for wedding, our address, our email) but we loved the views and location so wanted to proceed. Once the Devonshire took our deposit they showed no interest in us even though we wanted to come back and pay for a full wedding, but they refused point blank to show any compromise. They then sold a number of rooms on the night we had to book for but still no return of any deposit. This shows a staggering level of greed and terrible customer service. Stay away from this place at all costs. The most impersonal, rude place I ever come across. I wish I could give a 0 rather than a 1

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon S, Manager at The Devonshire Fell Hotel and Bistro, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Mr Maxfield’s comments are not an accurate reflection of the situation.

We have every sympathy with the unfortunate circumstances experienced by Mr Maxfield and his family. However, Mr Maxfield was fully aware of the terms and conditions of the booking, which he received in writing.

The deposit taken is nominal compared to many other equivalent venues and due to the cancellation, the monetary loss to The Devonshire Fell far exceeded this figure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

We saw this travel zoo offer and could not resist the chance to try one of the Yorkshire hotels of the Devonshire group, as we have had good stays in both the Derbyshire pubs.
The location is stunning, and we were pleased with our spacious room and bathroom with all the details we expected. Our package included tickets to Parcevall Hall gardens, parking at Bolton Abbey and a Cream tea.
We took tea in the conservatory, all delicious cake and scones with a huge pot of tea, looking out at the view and watching the swifts who had nests in the eaves.
The five course tasting menu was excellent, we found each course a delight, especially the pre dessert and the the main dessert of textures of rhubarb. The wine was fairly priced and service good.
Breakfast was not to the high standard we were expecting, sliced bread toast and all seeming a bit average, but very cheerful service.
We would visit again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axbridge
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

On arrival we were greeted at reception, given our key to room15 , told it was on the 2nd floor and left to find it ourselves and cope with our luggage although a very half-hearted offer was made to assist with our bags. On finding our room we discovered it contained a babies cot, this was removed at our request but shortly afterwards we were asked to move to a much smaller room. This we declined as we had specifically booked room 15.We can only assume that had we arrived later then we would have been given the smaller room anyway.
Our room was newly refurbished, a nice size with a sitting area, the bathroom was good with bath and shower over, plenty of toilettries and big white towels.
Sadly things started to decline when we arrived for dinner. The menu was extremely limited and did not change in the 3 nights we were there.One would have thought that there might have been a couple of daily specials in a hotel of this supposed quality. The first night we both chose steak. What a mistake! It was tough, dry and tasteless. Subsequent evenings showed a slight improvement but not to the standard we expected. Breakfasts were a little better although it was mostly self-service. The only food the kitchen had to prepare was the bacon etc and coffee. Service was altogether slow and it would appear the kitchen was inadequately staffed.
The final morning was a disaster. Staff failed to turn up,we were all awaiting breakfast and eventually guests helped out. A girl was called in on her day off so one chef and one waitress really struggled to cope with the situation. Worse was to follow. On check-out we were presented with a totally inaccurate bill. It was incomprehensible and in excess of £100 more than it should have been. Once again, the poor girl was left alone trying to cope with check-outs and remaining breakfasts and when we queried our bill she had no paperwork to establish the correct terms. I have never been to a hotel where there is no breakdown of accommodation and food on the bill.
What this hotel needs is a manager in residence to really pull it back in line. This is a lovely position for a hotel and it is a shame that we had so many problems.

Room Tip: Room15 newly refurbished, nice bathroom, on top floor so 40 steps, good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

we went to the Devonshire Fell for My cousins wedding it was lovely and set in the most beautiful location, myself and my family ( 4 adults and 2 children) shared a Family suite which was lovely and spacious however myself and my husband has to sleep on the sofa bed which was not comfortable at all and you both roll in the to middle and the matress was very soft and you can feel all the metal underneath, My other adult family members use the two twin beds in the other room which looked lovely and comfortable however due to having two young children with us we had to squeeze a 'put up bed' and a travel cot along either side of the sofa bed and it was very tight. In the main room with the twin beds there is a tv with freeview and a DVD player and plently of wardrobe space, both rooms has their own bathroom in one was a great walk in shower which was lovely and the in the other was a bath and shower overhead, all in all the rooms were great with lovely views.

The staff were all very nice and friendly when we turned up we realised a bed for my son was missing we informed the staff and this was sorted straight away.

The only downside I found was the breakfast was from 8am which I found a little late especially with 2 hungry children, one morning we went down at 8 and nothing was ready they were just starting to bring the food out for the buffet but other than that the food was very nice and you can order a cooked breakfast if you wanted or stick to the buffet.
A member of my family is a coeliac so she has to have a gluten free menu we told the staff who make sure that her meals were all gluten free which she really like.

We stayed for two nights and we all had a great time the wedding reception was lovely and had the perfect backdrop with the amazing views, its a beautiful hotel with friendly helpful staff!!

Room Tip: if your is more than 3 people in your party I would recommend the family suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
301 reviews 301 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Went to this hotel for my cousins wedding.
Had the actual ceremony there, reception, sit-down meal for 50 people & disco later.
I have to congratulate all the staff & management who did a first class job of everything.
Every aspect of the wedding day was no less than 100%.
I have spent 41 years in the catering & hospitality business, they all did a brilliant job as I know full well what has to go on for everything to be this good on the day.
Well done to all the staff at this hotel.
Although I did not stay overnight my sister & her husband did & there bedroom was first class & worth the £100 she paid for B&B.

Room Tip: Room 3 has fantastic views & faces the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We stayed many years ago at the Devonshire Fell and stayed again for my husband's birthday. It was just as nice as we remembered. Great location overlooking the River Wharfe with its stone bridge: the fells and beautiful countryside surround you for miles around. As you enter the hotel you are in the lounge area and bar with wooden floors and comfy armchairs with daily newspapers to read. The conservatory and dining room both have those amazing views. Our room, the LInton had great decor and a very comfortable sleigh bed and a generous hospitality tray was provided. All the staff made us feel very welcome and we had service with a smile. Our five course taster menu was a delight. I would describe the hotel as relaxed luxury. For things to do in the area - a visit to Parevall Hall Gardens about 3 miles away is well worth it. This area perfect for people who like walking as we do. The walk from Burnsall, a very pretty village to Linton, another pretty village, follows the river and then back over the fields and is very enjoyable with wonderful views the whole way. Another fairly flat walk is, of course, the walk from Bolton Abbey with the magnificent ruins of the abbey to Barden Bridge, following the river and passing the Cavendish Pavillion where you can stop for lunch. The Devonsire Fell is owned by the Duke and Duchess of Devonshire as is the Devonshire Arms Hotel at Bolton Abbey and one of the staff mentioned that their policy was to welcome everyone to their hotels as they would a guest to their own home. They certainly did that.

Room Tip: The two rooms on the first floor that we have stayed in were both lovely so I think you can be prett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Devonshire Fell Hotel and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devonshire Fell Hotel and Bistro

Address: Burnsall, Burnsall BD23 6BT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Burnsall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burnsall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Devonshire Fell Hotel and Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Devonshire Fell is a vibrant, lively & different hotel in Yorkshire Set on the Duke & Duchess of Devonshire's 30,000 acre estate with 16 fantastic bedrooms, great food and some of the best views & walks in the Yorkshire Dales. Muddy boots no problem, pet friendly & dogs stay FREE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Devonshire Fell Hotel and Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Devonshire Fell Hotel And Bistro Burnsall, Yorkshire
Devonshire Fell Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Devonshire Fell Hotel and Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.