We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attitude” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Red Lion Hotel to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel
Main Street, Burnsall BD23 6BU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Burnsall
Manchester
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Attitude”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is the third time we have visited this hotel / pub, twice whilst out walking and once a stay.

The recurrent problem has been the attitude of the staff, echoed by my walking companions spontaneously, which was unwelcoming and stiff, especially one senses to those who only want to drink and not eat, highlighted by the seating arrangement which were hostile to the casual passerby.

Whilst the hotel occupies a premium spot by the river I would avoid this hotel again.

Simon Hanley
07828417512

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
We were very sorry to hear you have not enjoyed your stay or our customer service, we always strive to give the best service possible, a little unsure as to wether it was bar staff or waiting staff who were 'stiff' I can assure you that we welcome drinkers just as much as food customers, however we do have assigned tables for diners as this makes it easier to serve, We are not aware of any hostile seating arrangements.
Regards
Sarah, Victoria, Katy and Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    118
    69
    39
    30
See reviews for
62
298
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stopped here for just one night mid week in early Oct.

The room was clean, comfy and warm. The bathroom large & clean, with very nice Malton Brown products available.

We ate in the hotel restaurant, the food and wine were delicious. The breakfast the next day was made to order & again it was delicious. I would definitely visit again, sadly as we arrived quite late on & had to leave early the next day so I didn't see anything of the village or surrounding area.

Thank you for a nice stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlionmanagement, Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Really pleased you enjoyed your stay, hope to see you again in the future
Regards
Sarah, Victoria, Katy and Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Visited this pub on a Sunday for lunch before a big walk.

We sat out side as the weather was warm which was lovely right by the river.

The food was lovely. I had sausages with bubble and squeak (which came with 4 sausages!!) and my boyfriend had the gammon. The portions were very generous an the prices were reasonable.

This is a lovely pub. The foods great, the locations great and definitely worth a try.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review us. Whatever the weather the views from our terrace are just fantastic and in the sunshine its a great spot for a bite to eat !
Really pleased you enjoyed your lunch, portions big enough to set you up for your walk !
Hope to be able to welcome you back to The Lion in the not to distant future.
kindest regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

My husband and I recently had a small intimate wedding of 20 guests at The Red Lion. It's set in such beautiful surroundings and from the moment we walked in we knew we wanted our reception there. Sarah the wedding co-ordinator looked after us from the offset, very helpful and made the whole process a very relaxed one.

The lounge/bar are very comfortable and cosy and the restaurant where we had the reception was perfect size for our party. The food was beautiful especially the sticky toffee pudding which went down an absolute storm with the guests! The service was very efficient and the day went exceptionally smoothly.

Later we indulged in bacon butties and chips and wow they were soooooo good!

The bedrooms are beautifully decorated, we stayed in the bridal suite and can honestly say the bed is one of the comfiest I have even slept in!! This was also replicated by other guests who stayed over as well.

The next morning the breakfast was absolutely spot on. All in all the whole weekend was perfect and I cannot recommend the Red Lion enough, especially as a wedding venue. I am also looking forward to our next visit there so that we can sample some of the restaurant menu.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Mark and Kerry,
so pleased that you enjoyed your day ! It was an absolute pleasure to be able to look after you and your guests. We work hard to make sure every wedding we hold is a memorable and happy occasion and its great to know that we achieved this on your special day.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to The Lion
Many thanks and kindest regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

clean, friendly,busy but not overwhelming or hurriedly so. The weather was lovely which helps, but enough nearby to see if not-we'd planned- An especil praise for the effort in producing spectacularly good Vegetarian menu options. And an utterly beautiful position

Room Tip: we could hear the kitchen extractor which irritates my husband- but not me- it wasn't that intru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review us. Really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your food, especially our vegetarian options, your comments have been passed on to the kitchen. Hope we can welcome you back to The Lion to enjoy our hotel and the surrondings.
kind regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Lovely boutique style hotel - high spec, very clean, "Molton Brown" toiletries.

Ate by a wood burner (recommend table 3 in the snug for couples) with a fantastic range of ales and good food. Small error on our tab was corrected very quickly without hesitation, and all the staff made us feel very welcome. Great place to stay - right on the Dales Way footpath - would not hesitate to go back.

Room Tip: Loved the character, comfort and view from room 8. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review us. So glad you enjoyed your stay and that our staff looked after you so well. The Bar lounge is a favourite for many guests to dine in, its very homely especially when the fire is lit. We are in the perfect location for walking and cycling, its all on our doorstep !
Looking forward to welcoming you back to The Lion in the not too distant future
kindest regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

went to the red lion for sunday lunch and ordered 2 x beef dinners at a cost of £13.95 each upon arrival of the meals i was dissapointed to say the least 1 x yorkshire pudding with a cpl of small slices of beef and 4 small sections of potatoe then a side dish of vegables that wasnt enough for one person never mind two.
the only thing edible was the beef the rest was hours old warmed up to a luke warm tempreture the gravy was like brown tasteless water.
i sent my meal back as it was cold and i got it back having been microwaved and a bit more gravy poured on making the yorkshire pudding all soggy and the potatoes even worse than they were to start.
both of us left the meals and when i went to pay the manager or owner was very obnoxious with me and said he would only charge for one meal when i said we left both meals he just threw his arms up in the air and said forget it the bill then and goodbye in a unfriendly manner.

sorry to say i would not reccomend this place to anyone and would rather go to burger king to get better food and better service

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review us. We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal or service. At the time we gave you a full refund for your meals and drinks and we also wish to apologise for your unsatisfactory experience.
Yours sincerely
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel

Address: Main Street, Burnsall BD23 6BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Burnsall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Burnsall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion itself is a 16th Century building located next to the River Wharfe in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales National park.The Manor House is our B&B located 150 yds away from the Red Lion along the River bank, and is an ideal base for those walking the Dales Way or budget conscious.We are a traditional Yorkshire Dales family run business offering excellent cuisine focusing on local produce.Whether you wish to relax and enjoy our hospitality or explore the Dales there is something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Skipton
Red Lion Skipton
Skipton Red Lion
Red Lion Hotel Burnsall, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.