We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous food, lovely location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Red Lion Hotel to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel
Main Street, Burnsall BD23 6BU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Burnsall
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food, lovely location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed overnight on a living social deal. Bed and breakfast for £40. From the moment we purchased the deal to our arrival we had no problems. The check in was quick and easy and we were told of all of the guests facilities available to us. We had a gorgeous evening meal in the restaurant and i have to recommend the sticky toffee pudding it is delicious. The breakfast service was faultless with an adequate choice. Overall we were very impressed with our stay and look forward to returning in the future. Next time we will take our dogs as the area is ideal for long walks

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review us. Really glad you have enjoyed your stay with us. The sticky toffee pudding has been on our menu for 22 years ! its a great pud and very popular, we use our auntie Jennys recepie !
Hope to be able to welcome you back to The Lion and Manor House in the not too distant future.
kindest regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    118
    69
    39
    30
See reviews for
62
298
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
west yorkshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Having eaten at the Red Lion several times previously, I purchased a LivingSocial deal for a double room with breakfast for £40. No problems booking the room and using the voucher. The person I spoke to to book the room was pleasant and efficient.
When we arrived, the gentleman on reception was very friendly and informative and made us a reservation for dinner.
The Manor House is on the far side of the pub carpark. Nice gardens overlooking the river. The entrance to the Manor House takes you into a little sitting room and then you go through to the rooms. We had a room on the second floor. The room was a reasonable size but because there was a day bed in the room you had to move backwards and forwards to actually get into the room. The decor was a little jaded, with paint peeling off around the windows and the throw on the bed was very creased. It looked like it had been tumble dried but not ironed. The wardrobe was very old but in a tatty way, not an antique way. The back of the wardrobe was broken when opened and the mirror was all cloudy. The bathroom was very small and there was mildew around the bath. Nice Molton Brown toiletries in the bathroom and nice fluffy white towels. The bed was one of the most uncomfortable I have ever slept in. I had backache when I got up in the morning and the pillows were also lumpy.
The dinner in the Red Lion was lovely that evening with pleasant and efficient service. No complaints there. Breakfast the following morning was nice enough. A good selection of cereals, juices, fruits etc followed by a cooked breakfast, which was cooked to order. It was nice enough but nothing special. Certainly not to the standard of the lunches/dinners.
The room should have been about £95 for a double with breakfast. Would certainly have complained if I had paid that for the room but for what I did pay it was adequate.
Would probably stay again if I was in the area but only if I could get a room on a deal. I don't think it would take much to make the rooms a bit more special for the price being asked.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review us. Great to know that our reservation system and check in service is working well.
We have put a day bed in several of the rooms as this can offer a more reasonably priced family accommodation and makes our rooms more versatile, we happen to like the day bed !
When we purchased the Manor House 5 years ago non of the rooms were en-suite therefore we installed en-suite facilities at the expense of space !
The bed spread is a crushed satin effect and therefore is wrinkly by nature !
As soon as we read your feedback re the wardrobe we had the back of it mended. We have tried in all our rooms to get a mix of antique furniture and modern furniture.
We have a full time maintance man and we are constantly updating and redecorating our rooms and public areas.
Sorry to hear that you had such a bad nights sleep, all our beds and mattresses are checked regularly.
Glad you enjoyed your evening meal. If your breakfast had not quite been what it should have been, then at any point you were more than welcome to ask your waitress to replace what you had or get you something different.
you are incorrect re the pricing structure, we only charge full rate on a Friday and Saturday (which you didnt stay on). Our midweek deal for that room is £80.00 but you got this discounted by 50% as was offered to all Living Social customers.
Its a shame you didnt feel you were able to raise any of these issues on check out as we ask all guests if they have enjoyed their stay.
You should have been presented with a discount gift voucher for another stay, if you wish to return you can be more specific about your room type and requirements.
Kindest regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Absolutely stunning location. Large car-park at rear. Reception took a bit of finding, though, but friendly staff assisted us in finding it. Nothing much provided by Reception except the key. Would have been useful to know that there was a Sitting room in the main building for Residents, for example. Our room was at the top (2 flights, no lift) of the Manor House - a cottage on the main street about 100m away from the main hotel. Good job it wasn't raining as we would have got soaked - no umbrella provided at either end of the route. Also no lights for bottom of steps up from the car-park - its very dark at night. Room was quite tight for space but bed comfortable. Frugal tea making facilities. Electric light in room was very low wattage saver bulbs - I found it difficult to read small print / maps. Selection of Molton Brown toiletries provided. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice, good portions and friendly service. No rush.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review us. On customers making a reservation enquiry we explain the selection of accomodation and its whereabouts along with prices to all customers so that they have a choice. On booking we then confirm the reservation via email reitterating what you have booked. Many people stay in the cottages or The Manor House because they are attending an outside function and need late access due to The Lion not having a night porter.
On check in you should have been told about your keys, late access, breakfast times, table reservations (if not attending an outside function), the opening of a bar tab and the whereabouts of our sitting room ~ apologies if this was not the case !
We provide a selection of brollies in the entrance of the Manor House and on the coat stand in The Lion for guests to help themselves to.
There are lights at the bottom of the steps and at the top of the steps of the Manor House, they work on a sensor system and therefore come on when dark, if these were not working and it had been brought to our attention on check out then we would have looked at them, our electrician is here today so we will look in to it.
In The Manor House we put in a selection of Taylors of Harrogate Tea, cartoned milk, freshly ground coffee, bottled water and biscuits. If you required anything further we would have happily provided this.
We do use energy saving bulbs throughout for obvious reasons but we are currently changing these in the bedsides lamps.
Glad you enjoyed your breakfast.
Yours sincerely
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Enjoyed a short break at this hotel. Lovely, helpful staff. Amazing food with a varied menu. Good beer and wine. The accommodation in the Manor House was ok. Large comfortable bed and very clean room. Shower very cramped. Beautiful situation next to the river.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Pleased you enjoyed your stay, when we took over the Manor house all the rooms were not ensuite so at the expense ot space we fitted shower rooms, they are compact but beautifully decorated and furnished more recently in a boutique style. The price does reflect the rooms size over at the Manor House.
You are right we do have great scenery and walking in the area and we hope to see you soon!
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed on a Monday in late-August in one of the Hotel's cottages. The Hotel was guesting a wedding that day/evening, but this in no way detracted from our welcome nor the service which was both friendly and efficient - part of the outside terrace was closed off, but there were other places to sit to soak up the summer sunshine. The beer was first rate Theakstons and the food was very good. Breakfast was locally sourced and of a high quality - if you want gut-busting portions, forget it and go to Premier Inn, but if you prefer quality over quantity, then you cannot do much better. The cottage had all we needed for an overnight stay, but looked tired in a few places (e.g. - the window seat was threadbare), but with a view from the bay window over the water, you can see why it had become so. As the evening progressed towards sunset, the view just gained in beauty. The bedsheets though were clean and crisp and the Molton Brown toiletries a welcome addition. We went for a walk along the river which was nicely paved and fairly even - just the right challenge for our 7 year old to do a good 5-6 miles without complaint. All in all a very good stay in a very nice hotel. Thank you.

Room Tip: Cottage 4 has a lovely upper bay window overlooking the River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review us. Lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay, the cottages are perfect for families. All the cottages have different views of the river, valley and village. We have this week just replaced the window seat in cottage 4, youre right it got quite badly damaged (dogs !)
We take real pride in our food, your compliments have been passed onto the kitchen !
The Dales Way that passes the cottages is a great walk with beautiful views of Wharfedale, its flat and so perfect for little ones.
Hope to be able to welcome you back to The Lion in the not too distant future
kindest regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Annes
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Two nights starting on the August Bank Holiday Monday. Although only living 1.5 hours away, we had never previously visited this beautiful part of Yorks, As we have two Labradors we were in one of the cottages which was excellent. Hotel happy to set up table in bar so the dogs could "eat" with us and everyone and everything was most welcoming. Food also excellent and Theakstons kept in cracking condition. Will most definitely be returning asap and would readily recommend. That's how we found it and we're highly delighted.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
We are always happy to cater for dog owners, as we are dog owners ourselves!
Pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I visited the Red Lion Hotel 220813 with my family and sat outside at the roadside and enjoyed the stunning scenery. The drinks were reasonably priced and we requested and were served with free glasses of water with ice and lemon upon our request. very impressed. we walked down the riverside from Grassington, so had no parking issues.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
There is no where batter to enjoy a drink than sat outside the Lion on a lovely day by the river overlooking the fell, pleased you have found out our secret!
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel

Address: Main Street, Burnsall BD23 6BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Burnsall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Burnsall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion itself is a 16th Century building located next to the River Wharfe in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales National park.The Manor House is our B&B located 150 yds away from the Red Lion along the River bank, and is an ideal base for those walking the Dales Way or budget conscious.We are a traditional Yorkshire Dales family run business offering excellent cuisine focusing on local produce.Whether you wish to relax and enjoy our hospitality or explore the Dales there is something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Skipton
Red Lion Skipton
Skipton Red Lion
Red Lion Hotel Burnsall, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.