We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Worsley Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Worsley Arms Hotel to your Saves list
The Worsley Arms Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Street, Hovingham YO62 4LA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hovingham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just stayed for one night with my husband whilst passing through in this lovely quaint hotel in the pretty little village of Hovingham. Management and staff were friendly and welcoming, great service, room and bathroom were really nice and the bed was really comfy. The weather was freezing outside but heating was fine inside the hotel and there was a lovely real fire in the bar area. The food was delicious and there was a great selection of rooms. Couldn't praise it enough and we will definately stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorsleyArmsHotel, Owner at The Worsley Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear NikkiP

Thank you for your review, we circulate all comments to the team and it is good to know that they are appreciated! We are only a small business but place a lot of emphasis on customer care and old fashioned courtesy. February was one of the coldest on record and we are aware of the efforts that people went to come and visit us.
May be next time you visit the weather will be warmer, Ryedale has so much to offer in spring and summer, check out our special offers page on our website there are always some good deals to be had if you are flexible over dates.

Thank you again for taking the time to leave your thoughts.

Regards
Tony Finn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    128
    38
    24
    12
See reviews for
40
264
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed here last weekend and had a really lovely time. Warm and friendly welcome and shown to our room which was across the road in their cottages. Nice room and good size with big bed and bath. All staff were very friendly and made us very relaxed. Loved afternoon drinks in front of the fire in the bar area. Ate in the hotel on both evenings, in the restaurant one night and the bar the other. Excellent food, couldn't fault it. Lots to do in the area, walking and touristy stuff. Unfortunately with us going out of season alot of the touristy stuff was closed. Would definitely return, great couple of days away

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorsleyArmsHotel, Owner at The Worsley Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear ClareMatt
Thank you for posting a review. "A lovely little hotel" what a nice way to sum us up! Winter as you discovered finds a lot of the local attractions closed, but there are still things to do as you found out, coming in the summer months offers a wider variety of activities but you have to share them with the holiday crowds! Hovingham though remains a quiet oasis for you to return to in the evenings and drinks can be taken in the garden rather than infront of the fire. I look forward to welcoming you back when the sun is shining!
Regards
Tony Finn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malpas, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I love North Yorkshire, so when KGB offered a two night stay at The Worsley Arms in Hovingham, I was quick to respond. We arrived on a cold grey afternoon at the beginning of February and were delighted to see welcoming open fires as we settled in. The hotel is owned by the Worsley family and managed by Tony Finn and his staff, who are an excellent team. There was a pleasing buzz in the Cricketers' Bar, where we chose to eat, and a warm fire in both lounging and dining areas. Breakfast was served in the light, airy and elegant dining room. All the food was delicious and beautifully served. We had thought we might eat out on the second night but the lure of the cosy bar was irresistible. Our room (we upgraded to have a super- king size bed) was plain but nicely decorated, and a decent size. We had a large modern bathroom with a good independent shower over the huge bath and plenty of hot water and generously-sized towels. I would strongly recommend the hotel to any one who appreciates a touch of individuality when they go away. Hovingham is a picture postcard estate village, totally unspoiled, and the ambience of hotel fits wonderfully with its environs.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6 at the back which was quiet but with an outlook over the carpark. It would be mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorsleyArmsHotel, Owner at The Worsley Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear KateH
Thank you for your review. I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you on your return. It has been a very cold start to the year so we are very lucky to be able to offer real fires as part of our welcome. Roll on the summer!

Thank you again

Tony Finn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Having stayed at the hotel many years ago, we wanted to return, we found a great deal on KGB which we jumped at. We were not disappointed, fantastic relaxing stay, food was amazing, hospitality and service amazing enough couldn't be done for us, nothing was too much trouble, I have to mention josh, seems to do a lot of jobs always happy to help, he is a true credit to the hotel obviously happy in his work. We will definitely return as soon as possible. We met some lovely people and all had a good natter and laugh.

My only gripe would be staying in the cottages, although very nice and well equipped the bathroom could have been cleaner although I am picky, would prefer to stay in the main hotel next time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorsleyArmsHotel, Owner at The Worsley Arms Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your review.

It is always good to welcome returning guests back to the hotel, whether they are on a special deal or not. Please remember that we do have some great offers directly available from our website.
Your stay coinceded with our Valentines weekend package hence the full hotel and that great atmosphere in the bar on Saturday night.
We look forward to welcoming you back and please state you preference and we will try to allocate you a room in the main hotel. I have passed on your compliments to Josh- he enjoyed the weekend as well!

Regards

Tony Finn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We arrived on a snowy afternoon to a very warm welcome and lovely warm fires. We were shown to our room with 4poster bed which was extremely comfy.
The bar has a nice relaxed atmosphere and we ate in the cricketers arms, the food was of a fantastic standard, as was breakfast, we shall definitely return.

Room Tip: 4poster room recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorsleyArmsHotel, Owner at The Worsley Arms Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review which will be circulated to the team.

The past few months we have had some very inclement weather to say the least! So we do try to keep fires bright and the welcome warm!

I am delighted that we seem to have ticked all the box's for you and look forward to welcoming you back when maybe you can enjoy drinks in the garden on a barmy afternoon when you can experience Ryedale at its most beautiful.

Regards

Tony Finn

Tony Finn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights on 08/02/13. We arrived at the hotel about 7pm to a friendly welcome from the owner. He took our case up stairs and showed us to our room. The room was a good size and looked very cozy. Some of the decor might seem a little dated but this all adds to the tradition of this little gem.

The staff were very friendly and always gave excellent service. The bar area is very cozy with the fire and we ate both nights in the more informal bar dining area. The food is excellent and is quite rightly well regarded in the area. If you staying here make sure you eat in the restaurant you won't be disappointed.

All in all an excellent stay in what is a cozy little bolt hole. I would definitely stay again.

p.s. Wifi is available at the hotel for a small charge.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a two night break, our second in six months. Can't really fault any aspect of our stay.
The welcome was second to none and continued throughout our stay. Our room was large and comfortable (we had been upgraded at no extra cost) and though plenty warm enough we were offered an additional heater if required.
The food in the restaurant is excellent with plenty of choice to suit everyone and we opted to dine on our second night even though not included in the deal.
The log fires in the bar, lounges and Cricketers Bar/ Dining room are very welcoming and make the whole hotel warm and inviting.
Our only, but very minor niggle is why oh why do they use such thin sliced bread for the toast at breakfast!!
It all but disintegrates when attempting to spread the rock hard butter and spoils an excellent breakfast.
Despite this we will be looking out for future deals and on the website. Thanks Tony and your excellent staff.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Worsley Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Worsley Arms Hotel

Address: Main Street, Hovingham YO62 4LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Hovingham
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hovingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Worsley Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Priceline and HostelBookers so you can book your The Worsley Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Worsley Arms York
Hotel Worsley Arms
Worsley Arms Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Worsley Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.