We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis and refuge in a wild wilderness” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lion Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirkbymoorside
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lion Inn
Save
You added The Lion Inn to your Saves list
Blakey Ridge, Kirkbymoorside YO62 7LQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Stilton
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Oasis and refuge in a wild wilderness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

The lion Inn. It stands in the Yorkshire Moors in solitude. On the Coast to Coast walk. But where all the people who fill the place come from is anybodies guess. A lot are local, allot are walkers and travellers and some like us just return because we like it.
Always a warm welcome from the staff that do there utmost to help. A good selection of ales and lagers at the bar at reasonable prices.
The food is first class and once more reasonably priced regardless of whether you eat in the bar or restaurant. Breakfast is well laid out and makes you want to eat with a good choice of cereals, yogurts, full English and kippers.
The rooms while not large are comfortable, clean and in good order and kept up to date.
A place to return to.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    52
    26
    11
    3
See reviews for
33
81
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southport
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

Friendly reception even though the staff were very busy at the time. The room was very comfortable and recently decorated. The Inn is full of character and serves very good beer and its location, of course, is unique. We were disappointed by the food though which was very average pub grub (huge portions!). Restaurant staff kept disappearing and the breakfast girl forgot to even take out order.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

When we booked our Coast to Coast Walk accommodation one pre-requisite was to stay at The Lion Inn. We have eaten there loads of times but had never before stayed there.

We were with two US friends who didn't quite get round the fact that the Inn is hundreds of years old and no, the ceilings heights wouldn't be allowed in a modern restaurant.

The setting is amazing - right in the middle of the North York Moors. The rooms are what you might expect from a small isolated pub - spacious enough, very clean and comfortable and a good en-suite.

The bar and restaurant are very good, as is the service.

If you want a modern hotel, this is not the place for you. If you want something a little different then you get exactly what you might expect.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perthshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

Serves its purpose well fitting as many people in as possible at location where accomodation is limited and demand high. Rooms as a result small but nearly perfectly formed. Bit of inter room noise but no worse than some city chain hotels. Baths in ensuite. Restaurant and breakfast service excellent. Packed lunches good value.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winchester
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

how can anyone say it is a poor menu. pork fillet was the favourite. good service wonderfol food. brilliant location. had the super cars there one day and grandson had the honour of having a spin in the new lambourgini.

Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina, Hawaii
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

I suppose we love this place because my husband grew up near it and it's been a place we visit to have a proper pub meal whenever we're in the area. We absolutely believe no one should go through Yorkshire without stopping in to at least have a pint.

It's a walker's delight. Sadly they don't allow camping in their field any longer but it's still a nice place to stay due to the quaint rooms they have above the pub. It's old and therefore dated but it's so worth it to stay in such a well established landmark!

If you ever get the chance I would recommend staying at least one night at The Lion Inn! You'll get to tell everyone back home that you did!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peak District National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2010

Fantastic place to stay if you are on the Coast to Coast walk or touring the area. Warm and friendly staff and service gives it a good atmosphere. Great food and beer too.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion Inn

Address: Blakey Ridge, Kirkbymoorside YO62 7LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Kirkbymoorside
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkbymoorside
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Lion Hotel Kirkbymoorside
The Lion Inn Kirkbymoorside, Yorkshire - North Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.