We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick visit ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Head Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kings Head Hotel to your Saves list
Kings Head Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 High Market Place, Kirkbymoorside YO62 6AT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kirkbymoorside
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Quick visit ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

So far so good. Pleasant staff very nice clean rooms with character. Just had a Sunday lunch they gave us extra veg etc, no extra.
See what breakfast brings apart my cholesterol level ( full English ) but I'm on holiday and I going to have it! ....;)

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    15
    12
    7
    1
See reviews for
19
39
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
doncaster
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

3 of us went for an evening meal, we are stAying the area on business and wanted to try it out. We wanted garlic bread to share between the 3 of us and when she brought it it was bread and spreadable garlic butter but into triangles and not even seen an oven, never I have I ever seen this before and wasn't up to much taste. We took it on the chin and waited for my fish and chips. Over 1 hour later with only one waitress who was running all over the place kept " not long now and I have told the chef to put extra chips on your plate. Well the meal came and if there were extra chips I would of got more at a drive through. Chips under cooked and the fish was over done and very greasy. I'm not one for leaving food but I left over two thirds. I had also ordered a second pint guinness with a touch of black current in when the second pint came it had more black current in than guinness . The pub was clean but was like a nursing home. Will not be going back sorry for the negative reading but I can only say what I see

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brierley Hill, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We spent four nights here, over the Easter weekend. It's ideal for visiting Whitby and Robin Hood's Bay, the North Yorks Moors and the lovely towns and villages nearby such as Pickering, Helmsley (particularly lovely) and Rievaulx Abbey.
The accommodation was spotlessly clean and the food was absolutely wonderful. We became quite friendly with the staff who did their utmost to make our stay as pleasurable as possible. Our room had a large ensuite, which I loved, the bedroom accommodated a king-size bed and a large wardrobe so was of a reasonable size. The wardrobe though could be done with replacing as it does look old and tired (and the doors didn't shut properly). The proprietors to be fair, have only been here for around 12 months, so I assume that there is work to be done in some areas. All in all, highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Have spent two nights here. What a great hotel. Steve and Maria Wrigley where wonderful host and could not do enough for us. The facilities were extremely good and the food was wow. If you are looking for a hotel with a friendly atmosphere, good food and good location then try the Kings Head.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liversedge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We have just spent 3 nights here and found it to have very friendly hosts and staff, a great location for walking or simply exploring the area. We decided to have our evening meal on the first night at the hotel and what a pleasure that was, so much so that we ate at the hotel for the other 2 nights of our stay. The food was well presented, tasty, served hot and reasonably priced. The breakfasts also offered a good choice and again was well presented and tasty. The bar was another bonus for us as it served a choice of cask ales as well as the regular lagers etc. Our room was a little small but perfectly adequate for the 3 nights stay. The only negative comment would be that the shower had little power. The hosts were extremely friendly and helpful, one morning we had no hot water and it was rectified immediately. We are now planning to return here for another short stay. If you are looking for a hotel with a friendly atmosphere, good food and good location then try the Kings Head.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We stayed here Saturday night the 7th March 2014. What a great choice this was! Exceptionally good. We were shown to a very nice room by such a pleasant lady. Later we enjoyed a nice meal at a very reasonable price!! And after a few drinks in the other bars in the village we enjoyed some late drinks back at this hotel. They made us so welcome. We will be returning soon. . Graham from Leeds.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We had just been for a great walk through beautiful Farndale and were very hungry our first port of call was to Kirkbymoorside in search of a hostelry. We found the Kings Head ! We were greeted by a very friendly lady, who we now believe to be the proprietor, and made very welcome,it was nearly two o'clock but food was she advised us '' no problem''. We settled in a beautifully decorated lounge with seating smothered in cushions placed our drinks order and perused the menu. An excellent choice of light bites,sandwiches,baked potatoes, specials and mains....spoilt for choice. We settled on haddock in a Jennings beer batter with chips and mushy peas. After a reasonable time our meals arrived piping hot and enormous portions. We were not disappointed the batter was crisp and tasty,the fish thick and meaty, the home made chips were perfection and the peas....mushy. Excellent value for under £10. We shall return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kings Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Head Hotel

Address: 5 High Market Place, Kirkbymoorside YO62 6AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Kirkbymoorside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kirkbymoorside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kings Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kings Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Head Hotel Kirkbymoorside, Yorkshire - North Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Head Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.