We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had some excellent meals.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Head Hotel

Kings Head Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Kings Head Hotel to your Saves list
Kings Head Hotel
5 High Market Place, Kirkbymoorside YO62 6AT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kirkbymoorside
Heywood, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“We had some excellent meals.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

My husband and I were staying in a holiday cottage opposite this pub so we ventured there for the evening. There are several hand-pulled ales, of good quality and our meals, duck in blackcurrant sauce and twice baked souffle was delicious. Dessert was also heavenly. The service was friendly, attentive but not intrusive. We had a relaxing evening and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    12
    12
    7
    1
See reviews for
11
35
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

I've only dined here but the place is pleasant enough, the food acceptable and the handpulled real ales well kept. Service with a smile in a relaxed atmosphere. Not sure what else to say - been here half a dozen times in the last couple of years. No bad points and quite a number of positive aspects.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011 via mobile

We stayed in the De Villier Suite @£120 on a Saturday night. The room consisted of a lounge, bedroom and bathroom. The toilet was noisy, the room was not spotlessly clean with cobwebs off the ceiling light. The tv in the room was a rather old portable with poor channel choice. The double bed was rather small as well.
Breakfast was good and there seemed to be a shortage of staff.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Characteristic, homely hotel. We were made welcome and the room was clean and en suite. The evening meals were very nice and plentiful, offering good vegetarian options. My only issue would be that if several vegetarian options can be offered for the evening meal then a vegetarian breakfast (incl veggie bacon/sausage) could be offered in the morning instead of just the items on the traditional breakfast that didn't contain meat. We were offered soya milk having contacted the hotel previously about our dietary needs. I would stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: Expect old characteristics! Walls and floors aren't perfectly straight but that added to the tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

A rather tired hotel with staff who were polite but showed little interest. Breakfast was ok but all-in-all, not good value for money

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Stayed here as we were at a music event in the area. We had been worried following some of the reviews so were pleased when we were shown our room. We got room 4. It was roomy enough and clean, with the adjoining bathroom area with shower. There is a slight slant to the floor, but it's a very old building and what you get, didn't disrupt our sleep. Only grumble would be the shower, the mixer didn't seem to work properly and you got either scalding hot or freezing cold water.
The evening meal was lovely. Breakfast was adequate in comparison, no frills really which we felt a bit disappointed by.
Staff were helpful and friendly. Would go there again but would try other hotels in the area also.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

I have stayed here twice now, the first time in 2006, and recently in October 2011. The building is very old, I think possibly 17th century, and the rooms are decorated in a fairly classic style, with exposed wooden beams.They're clean and well maintained. I find it reasonably priced considering that it is basically a nice pub with rooms, so the price is presumably calculated as per-person, like a B&B would be. We effectively paid £35 per person on the rack rate, which is pretty decent.
By far the best thing about the Kings Head is the food, which is why I came back. It's simple gastropub food, perfectly executed and with quality ingredients. I had wild boar sausage and mash, there was also an amazing pork belly with the crunchiest crackling.
There are a few negatives: breakfast was a bit disappointing - scrambled eggs were watery, poached eggs slightly overcooked. The service was also a little lacking. While they're perfectly friendly, I get the impression they are short-staffed. It was a shame there was no TV reception in the room, but they do supply a DVD player and free wifi.
All in all, it's a good place to stay, and Kirkbymoorside is big enough to be able to browse some shops and and choose different restaurants, rather than staying right in the middle of the Moors.

Room Tip: The family room (De Villiers) is good value but the rooms in the main house are much nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kings Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Head Hotel

Address: 5 High Market Place, Kirkbymoorside YO62 6AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Kirkbymoorside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kirkbymoorside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Kings Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Head Hotel Kirkbymoorside, Yorkshire - North Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Head Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.