We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a very good position” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bettmerhof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bettmerhof to your Saves list
Hotel Bettmerhof
Postfach 33, Bettmeralp 3992, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Bettmeralp
Kauniainen, Finland
1 review
“Nice hotel in a very good position”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We spent lovely four days in Hotel Bettmerhof in August. The owner was very helpful and gave us good advice. I did not like the carpet floors, but i presume it is very common in that climate. The sauna and spa was nice. Only thing I found annoying was that wifi worked only in common livingroom, and the noise from adjacent childrens playroom was occasionally very loud. It would be very good idea to install a door in between Food was good and breakfast was tasty.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
31
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We just returned from our 5th stay at Hotel Bettmerhof and the service, food (both menu's and a la carte at Picobello Pizzeria and Alputreff) and ambiance were as good as ever ! Really a special place run by special people. The location is also excellent (right next to the slopes). We will be going back there, no doubt !

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graiguenamanagh, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed two nights in a typical Swiss alpine room with a wonderful view of the Alps. Indeed the Matterhorn was visible in the distance! We were picked up by the hotel after a quick call to announce our arrival at the top. Very glad we did as it is a good climb up with cases etc. The owner was very helpful and patient at all times and had good English. I found the staff also to be very pleasant and helpful although my lack of German did lead to some amusing situations.
Breakfast here was the best of our 10 day stay as it included a freshly cooked hot meal if required. We were half board and the dinners were excellent with variety and well cooked. Walking from here is easy with access to the Gondola next door. We had the best of weather and would go back at any time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Old rooms unfortunatly, need desperatly refresher!No shampoo.But you sleep well.
Only one "living room" with wifi!
Nice playroom for kids with a lot of toys. Games available for adults too.
Everything very clean.
Great new and super clean spa!Breakfast fantastic.
Service super friendly, quick and very efficient by all members of staff.
The highlight is definitly the restaurant with a decorated Chef( who comes out to see the customers with a big smile: he loves what he s doing!)!Reservation required or you ll regret it.The food is incredible.If you don t stay at the hotel go eat there, and don t miss out on deserts,Whatever you ll eat : it s heavenly.
The owner oh the hotel is absolutly helpfull .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva2009
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Typical Swiss chalet in Bettmeralp. The village is car free and you access basically by cable car. Make sure that hotel picks you up (especially for the bags). The hotel itself is clean and has a pizzeria restaurant (downstairs - underground) as well as a good nice restaurant with a nice variety of food. Breakfast is basic but you find everything you want.
Rooms are good size (for Swiss size) and either to the mountain side (where far away you can indeed see the Matterhorn) or on the opposite side.
Fairly central for walks to either direction.

Room Tip: No elevator in the hotel and no wi-fi (except in a "library room").
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
117 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed at this property for two nights. The village is fairly typical - not too small or too large. There is even a Coop market. The village is reached by cable car and there is a board on which you can telephone the property. I was promptly picked up by a electric cart after calling.

The rooms are basic and clean. There is no mini-fridge and no kettle tea-coffee making supplies. As a measure of the owner's helpfulness, when I requested a kettle, he loaned me his fathers.

I had the half-board option and the meals were plentiful and tasty. There was always a salad buffet with a limited number of items.

The owner was very helpful in suggesting hikes in the area.

My only suggestion. Extend the Wi-Fi so that it reaches all rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Cute typical chalet, very good food, very welcoming staff (rare in this country!), had a simple but clean and practical single room with a balcony. Great location, very cute village with no cars but electric minibuses.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bettmerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bettmerhof

Address: Postfach 33, Bettmeralp 3992, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Bettmeralp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Bettmeralp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our three-star superior hotel! A harmonious atmosphere with a personal touch, peace and quiet, relaxation, friendly staff and genuine hospitality await you. Our motto – "It's our pleasure" – will be a recurring theme on your vacation. Whether you wish to admire the views of the Matterhorn from our sun patio or enjoy the culinary delights in our restaurants SacréBon, AlpuTräff or PiccoBello, friendliness and attentive service will make you feel at home. You'll be able to relax and feel a sense of wellbeing in our elegant guest rooms or our wellness area with sauna, steam bath, Kneipp facility and relaxation room. Children are also very welcome at Bettmerhof. Special rates, children's menus, baby care room, family rooms and a fantastic children's playroom provide the ideal setting for a comfortable family vacation. An ideal location – in quiet surroundings in the heart of the Swiss Alps' Jungfrau-Aletsch UNESCO World Heritage Site, right next to the ski runs. Vacation at last! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Bettmerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bettmerhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.