We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confortable place to stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Bergen Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Bergen Airport to your Saves list
Scandic Bergen Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kokstadflaten 2, Kokstad 5863, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kokstad
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Confortable place to stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I have stayed for two nights, single room. The room facilities cannot be said new but it is decent. no water cooker nor movie channels provided. I asked for room service but the restaurant staff told me they will call me then i need to go and pick it up. So, not really sure if they have room service for food delivering or not. I have tried the hotel restaurant menu and i actually liked it. Gym room isn't big but it's cozy and with sauna on the side. You may enjoy it after the gym and a quick shower. Staffs are in general friendly. Overall, it was a pleasant stay for me.

Room Tip: There are restaurants nearby if you don't want to eat at hotel's restaurant, about 150 m, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geir A, Manager at Scandic Bergen Airport, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking your time to review Scandic Bergen Airport; very happy to hear that you had a nice two days stay with us!

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the restaurant menu.
Regarding the question about room service, you are correct that we do not offer this.
Guests may call and order, and then we will let them know when the order is ready to be picked up.

Thank you again for your review and welcome back some other time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    28
    51
    23
    12
See reviews for
9
16
12
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ellon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

I stayed here for one night this week on business. I didn't eat there but had breakfast. The hotel is clean and the rooms are somewhat basic but very clean.
I was on the third floor and there was a strange smell, evident in the corridor. It could have been from the carpets but not sure. It did not affect the room and indeed the window could surprisingly open wide, so temperature in the room was fine. Such is indeed a challenge in Norway! The breakfast was traditional and quite excellent spread - typical of Norway. Where Norwegian hotels win you over is the free supply of coffee in the public areas (at least that has been my experience). It is not exactly an inspiring hotel and relatively near the airport (about 5 mins in a taxi). The décor is worn but acceptable. The rooms are basic but again not unusual in Norway in this standard - for the price you expect better but it is Norway!

Room Tip: I stayed on the third floor which you access further along the main corridor from reception (second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geir A, Manager at Scandic Bergen Airport, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking your time to review Scandic Bergen Airport.
We are very pleased to read that you had a good experience with your room. When it comes to the standard of the hotel, we have recently renovated 52 of our hotel rooms. On the agenda is furthermore 40 hotel rooms, as well as some of the common areas in the reception and the restaurant.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the breakfast!

Thank you for the review and we hope to get the pleasure of welcome you back to Scandic Bergen Airport!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleport, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Good, clean comfortable hotel. Nice welcome on arrival and the room was very bright. Only minor criticism would be that the room was quite warm at night and there was some noise from people in the car park with the window open. Wouldn't stop me from using the hotel again though. Thank you Clarion.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geir A, General Manager at Scandic Bergen Airport, responded to this review, December 16, 2014
Dear guest,

thank you so much for taking your time to review Scandic Bergen Airport.

We are glad to see that you had a good stay here with us and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back some time!

Best regards,

Geir A. Olsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

This Scandic is like many others if a little bit on the lower, worn-out side. The reception staff was OK but I had better experiences in Denmark and Sweden, it took an unusual long time to get my room but the lady manning the reception was alone to deal with several guests arriving at the same time. The restaurant staff was more cheerful and the Scandic burger kept its promise.

The most disappointing was that – for the first time of many stays in a Scandic – the cleanliness of the room was not spot on. While entering the room, I noticed a crumbled green paper on the floor, close to one on the beds. It was in fact a 50 NOK banknote, god knows who left it there. While this is not the kind of dirt you’ll automatically report to the housekeeping, I was faced when picking up the banknote with a thick layer of dust under one of the single beds as you can see in the enclosed picture.

Hej, Scandic, why do you continue to promote this twin beds rooms under the pretext that most of the customers are businessmen travelling alone- like if it wouldn’t be nice to have double beds ?

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geir A, General Manager at Scandic Bergen Airport, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Hello

Thank you so much for taking time to review Scandic Bergen Airport.
We are very pleased to read that you had a good experince in our restaurnat.
We are sorry to hear that you did not get a room that was up to our normal standard of cleanliness. If you had let us know, we would gladely offer you a new room or make sure to clean it.
Furthermore we are happy to inform you that we will get new beds and many of them double within short time.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Scandic Bergen Airport also in the future and that your stay then will be a good experience.

Have a nice day and good weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
377 reviews 377 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 157 cities Reviews in 157 cities
278 helpful votes 278 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed at the Scandic Bergen Airport for the night before an early flight out of the Bergen Airport. With the airport being under a 5 minute drive away, it was an excellent location for us. The hotel had plenty of parking available when we arrived and the front desk staff was very friendly. The room itself was clean and comfortable. However, there was some paneling torn off the bathroom doorway and housekeeping left an empty shampoo/body wash in the shower for our arrival. If you're staying here before a flight out of the Bergen Airport, it is an ideal spot (and much cheaper than the hotel attached to the airport). However, this hotel is far from Bergen itself, so it would not be a good place to stay to explore the city for a few days.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

The breakfast is the highlight of the hotel here.
Ask for a room not overlooking the car park as taxis seem to arrive constantly through the night.
Air con seemed not to be working as room was very warm.

Good nights sleep once temperature adjusted.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geir A, General Manager at Scandic Bergen Airport, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you so much for taking time to review your stay at Scandic Bergen Airport. We are pleased to read tha you enjoyed the breakfast. Sorry to hear tha cars on the parking lot disturbed your stay.
All our air con should work, however we will dbl. check to see if there is anyting wrong. Thank you for letting us know.

Again thank you for the review and we hope to get the pleasure of welcome you back to Scandic Bergen Airport.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

The hotel is close to the airport, in a quite industrialized area. If you plan to do anything except staying in the hotel, then I would recommend a hotel closer to the city. The rooms are small but ok, bed was on the soft side for my taste. Breakfast was very good, and service as well. Overall an ok hotel if you just plan to spend a night before a flight, or need to do business in the area.

Room Tip: Maybe avoid rooms towards the airport road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geir A, General Manager at Scandic Bergen Airport, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you very much for taking time to review Scandic Bergen Airport.

We are very pleased to hear that you were satisfied with both breakfast as well as service provided.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to Scandic Bergen Airport also in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Bergen Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Bergen Airport

Address: Kokstadflaten 2, Kokstad 5863, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Kokstad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kokstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Bergen Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Scandic Bergen Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Bergen Airport Hotel Bergen
Scandic Hotel Bergen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Bergen Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.