We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Moulay Yacoub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sogatour Moulay Yacoub

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sogatour Moulay Yacoub to your Saves list
Sogatour Moulay Yacoub
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   B.P. 40 Centre Moulay Yacoub, Moulay Yacoub, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Moulay Yacoub
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hotel Moulay Yacoub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

This is more or a romantic getaway than a city break hotel. Whilst it is very remote, it is also beautiful. Driving to the hotel through the countryside and the mountains is an experience itself - however make sure you negotiate the price with the driver before leaving!! (From Fés airport, price should be 300 dhms).

The food here is not Moroccan. It is British food - awful British food at that. The 'salade mixte' contained pineapples, apples, carrots, bananas, salad leaves, olives, fish....bit of a medley from the kitchen really!

However, if you are not planning on staying here for that long and you can deal with average food, this place is a pretty cool for a stopover. Good views, nice staff and very relaxed.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    11
    9
    13
    12
See reviews for
20
20
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Girona, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

I already read a review about this place saying that the moment you left they would come after you for money, next time I will listen to what people say here on the reviews: I got there on a Friday and the gentleman at the front desk gave me a 45€ deal for 2 nights, I payed and was tired from the trip and forgot to ask for an invoice, on Monday that gentleman was not working, and the people there would not let me leave the hotel and tried to extort 45 more euros, saying I didn´t pay, they yelled and insulted me for 1 hour under the scorching sun, and was held against my will, they would not let me go, I was totally terrorised by these people, crying to the top of my lungs, and asked a modern looking Morroccan lady to call the police, to my surprise she went and payed the 45€ and they let me go, i couldn´t believe it, one of the most surreal situations in my life

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Moulay Yacoub hotels

Casablanca, Morocco
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2008

we booked two rooms, one for my wif and me and one for my children, we stayed 10 days. the staff were very nice especially restaurant staff, the food was OK, but a lot of works must be done to improve the rooms, leak of water in bathroom, the balcony is dirty, the chairs and the table in the balcony seem are from WWII,
animation in the swimming pool is very poor.
the village of moulay yacoub is very nice and safe.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2008

We booked a bungalow in the grounds as being a mountain retreat we thought this would be a wonderful place to relax for a few days. When we arrived we were taken to the 'bungalow' - it was AWFUL'!! It smelt, the soft furnishings were filthy and there were a load of cigarette burns - the kitchen was rudamentary to say the least and the bathroom - well, best not say. The 'terrace' had high walls and had not been swept for months - covered with grime and grot thoughout....We expressed our disappointment and were moved to a bedroom in the hotel, this was better but still not of a very high standard with chipped and broken furniture, coffee cup rings throughout and a bathroom that looked as though it was last cleaned in the 1970's!! We stayed two days and then checked out. The bar was dark and miserable. The restaurant was OK and the service good, food of a reasonable standard and reasonable value - decor - out of the 70's - general level of cleanliness was poor - OK in the public areas, which are the areas that they photograph - last straw was the swimming pool - it was 2'6" deep throughout - hopeless for swimming and too deep for a paddling pool for the kids!! This is a wasted opportunity - in the most wonderful of locations and the worst hotel I have ever seen......do NOT visit here

  • Liked — Absolutely nothing at all
  • Disliked — Dont get me started
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charleston, s.c.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2008

We had a great time @ Moulay Yacoub..Service was great. Just squeezed Fresh orange juice. Great ambience..Thermal spa is cheap for foreigners..Full body massage and other treatments for less than $100.00 USD. I would definitely go again. The townspeople are great also.

  • Liked — the view from our private patio..Rolling hills and orange trees.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca, Morocco
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2006

In my trip to the center of morocco,i started with ifrane,azrou and then moulay yacoub wich is known for its thermal station.
we did not have any booking,so we decided to look for a hotel once there.we choosed Moulay yacoub hotel.My husband and i choosed it because of its location a bit far from the noise of the market of moulay yacoub.(thing that i recommand )
they proposed a room with a big bed but its was too small and a middle of bangalows,therefore i accepted a double room with two seperate bed (i was a bit frustrated by that! lol)
The room in general was nice,very clean and bathroom well equiped (exept a bad smell that comes from time to time from the toilet).the room was also equiped with an air conditionner.
the room had a large balcony that was in front of the swimming pool and a garden.But that created an inconvinient : the animation in the swimming pool started early in the morining for kids,and continues till 11PM at night for adults!!! my husband retained me many times for calling the administartion,because i was very disturbed and my trips object was to relax!!! that was a very bad point for the hotel.
we stayed for one night ,and the day we leaved ,i was surprised early in the morning by the slamming of the doors (very very noisy)that even awaked me.that noise was engendered by the cleaning ladies who just cant do an effort and block the room's door when thay are cleaning it!!
The only god thing i can retain is the good price we got while leaving 570dirhams (57usd)
Its a clean hotel,with a nice rooms,but its staff needs to be more professionnal (im talking about cleaning ladies) its more a hotel suitable for families and not for a couple ,hopefully we spent there only one night otherwise i would be mad of noise!!!!

Stayed August 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sogatour Moulay Yacoub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sogatour Moulay Yacoub

Address: B.P. 40 Centre Moulay Yacoub, Moulay Yacoub, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Moulay Yacoub
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Moulay Yacoub
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sogatour Moulay Yacoub 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sogatour Moulay Yacoub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sogatour Moulay Yacoub Hotel Moulay Yacoub
Moulay Yacoub Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sogatour Moulay Yacoub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.