We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They bribe you to write a good review with free pizza!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Milano Due

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Milano Due to your Saves list
Milano Due
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   113 the Strand, Il Gzira, Island of Malta GZR03, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Il Gzira
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“They bribe you to write a good review with free pizza!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

They offer a free pizza for a positive review so don't believe what you read.
Position and view terrific .
Don't take half board option - service is chaotic and you eat in a cafe . We waited over an hour for our food and then it was cold and horrible.
Breakfast is patchy and they are overwhelmed when the hotel is busy.
Reception staff were often engaged in their own conversations and arguments and dealt with people grudgingly.
There are better places to stay and eat!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    95
    126
    54
    60
See reviews for
30
169
54
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I read the great review this hotel had received and looked forward to our stay. Although I must say everyone who worked at the hotel was pleasant, the first impression of the room was very much a let down. The room looked as though it was a dumping ground for furniture. The first 'bed' we came to was a futon bed. We then found the twin beds in another room. The mattresses were like sleeping in a bath, they curled round you! The decor was a bit dark and dismal, although clean. Being on the side it didn't get much sun and the walls were a mustard yellow.
I was wondering if all the people who had given a really excellent review had enjoyed the free pizza ? This was being offered to the guests in exchange for a good review on Trip advisor. i have still got the paper on which it is offered.
Needless to say we did not partake of the offer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

As an experienced traveller I was very happy with my stay at this Hotel. It has a fantastic position on the Sliema Strand overlooking Sliema harbour. The views from the 7th floor restaurant are spectacular. I was travelling on my own, but was made to feel very welcome by the charming and friendly by all the hotel staff. The room was smart and cleaned everyday with new towels, the breakfast was very good offering a choice of cereals, fruit tea, coffee, fresh bread, as well as a full English. There is also a restaurant at street level specialising in Pizzas and of equal quality to the breakfast.

Malta is a great place to visit with a high guarantee of warmth and sunshine and the Milano Due offers a quality place to stay at an excellent value for money.

Room Tip: For an extra few Euros, if available you can book a sea- view room, which is worth while doing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirsk, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Booked at Milano Due Sliema for Room + breakfast in Feb 2013. Hotel is on the Strand sea front with Fantastic view of the Gzira Creek with with all the boats and yachts and with Valletta in the background.
Breakfast is a buffet style with a good selection of hot and cold food, compared well against other hotels we have stayed at.
Room is comfortable and very clean. Excellent bathroom and shower- the best bathroom we have seen. Very friendly staff, they always speak and smile creating a welcoming atmosphere.
Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Sea view is breath taking
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stayed on a solo week break in February.The room I was allocated on my first night was spacious,clean and quiet,but had no windows.I had an upgrade the following day to a room with a harbour view. Although this was a bit noisier due to the traffic, it was well worth the change. The views across to Valetta were so beautiful,at all times of the day or night.I stayed on a B&B basis,and the breakfast was fine,with plenty of choice. Staff were polite and helpful,and the hotel clean,warm and comfortable. Ideally situated for buses,and for good local shopping.Good value for money. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Sea views fantastic,but moreaware of road noise.Internal rooms a bit claustraphopic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We have come out of season and we have had a very warm welcome from the staff and weather.

They are happy to offer us advice on a range of topics, where to go, visit, how, where to find good restaurants, etc.

The room is clean, tidy with plenty of hot water. They are cleaned daily if you want it to be. We have the room with a side sea view which is beautiful, well worth the little extra we paid. Smokers can have cigarette on the balcony and for non smokers you cannot tell that someone has smoked.

The breakfast is good, with a wide variety available with additional benefit of a stunning harbor view.

We would highly recommend this, alongside the Malta sight seeing hop on, hop off bus which you can get a good deal from the hotel.

We are already planning our return trip. :)

...Swimming pool is not in use as it is out of season and we did not need the spa but we have used suncream

Room Tip: Side sea view very good value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

20 minutes bus ride from Valletta where you can get buses to anywhere else. The staff are friendly and always willing to help. I am staying for 6 weeks and the room has been perfect. Breakfast is good as well.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Milano Due? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milano Due

Address: 113 the Strand, Il Gzira, Island of Malta GZR03, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Il Gzira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Il Gzira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Milano Due 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Milano Due Hotel has just recently undergone major refurbishment work with much attention given to creating a more comfortable atmosphere. Every room now offers modern bathrooms, lighting and an efficient new water system which has been designed to reduce waste and at the same time be environmentally friendly. The hotel entrance, reception & lobby area, 7th floor panoramic restaurant, sun terraces & whirlpool have also been refurbished giving the hotel a new fresh look. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Milano Due reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milano Due Hotel Il Gzira
Milano Due Hotel Sliema
Milano Due Sliema
Milano Due Malta/Il Gzira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milano Due, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.