We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic budget hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Milano Due

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Milano Due to your Saves list
Milano Due
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   113 the Strand, Il Gzira, Island of Malta GZR03, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Il Gzira
Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Basic budget hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This hotel, whilst clean, is very basic and quite dated. The penthouse suite where guests dine is like a seaside cafe and the food is very basic. Seemed to be yesterday;s uneaten food made into another dish for the following night. Not too expensive to eat out and I would not recommend booking half board. There is only 1 lift which is not adequate for the amount of rooms. The lift can barely fit in anymore than 3 people at one time. However, the hotel's location was excellent and the staff were very helpful and polite.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    95
    126
    54
    60
See reviews for
30
169
54
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

A fantastic holiday.. Holiday was great but basic.. You need this in Malta as the island has soooo much to offer that you don't want to stay indoors... Had a side sea view room.. Really pretty pic when u sit on balcony :)

Staff are very good and efficient until it comes to wifi access.. Cheap wifi but not compatible with iPad/iPhone..vno need to buy any tho as walking a couple of blocks down will give you free wifi at almost all the cafes, restaurants and bars..

Room is cleaned regularly and towels replaced very quickly..

A fantastic stay and would Defo recommend :)

P.s Hotel does not have a pool or spa, however the beaches are only 5 mins away in the bus (two mins away from hotel)

Room Tip: Pay for hotel yourself.. Call them direct to book... We paid £150 each for 8 days/7nights but if we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Funnily enough I did not mind the Milano Due although I will look around for a different hotel next time I visit Malta. In fact, I might even look for a different location altogether.
Reasons? Mainly to do with the noise. Along the Gzira/Sliema waterfront it tends to be noisy, not just the road traffic noise but the sound of people talking loudly, shouting, dropping things goes on until late into the night, There are a few boy racers on their motorbikes revving and tearing up and down the road at anytime up to midnight and then the voices start again around 5am. Don't know whether it's the bin-men, newspaper delivery to the shop next door or what but always got woken up around that time.
If you are anything over 13 stone, around 82kg, you will problems with the shower. The shower itself is great, powerful jet and an easy to handle heat control. The problem is the shower cubicle is tiny and many portly guests complained that they couldn't even close the bi-fold door. I knocked the control a couple of times while turning around and went from cool to scalding one time and stopped the water flow completely another time.

Breakfast is ok if you like muesli and toast. Drinks machine is ok but the hot breakfast is pretty dismal with frankfurter style sausage OR very mashed together bacon which is either crispy of insipid fatty rashers, you don't get both on the same day. Eggs are a disaster unless plain old hard boiled. I wish they would just do eggs to order like other hotels. These hot items are intermittent in their availability, It's either sausage or bacon one day, boiled eggs OR fried eggs (hard and piled on top of each other) OR 'scrambled eggs' which looked like vomit to be honest!

After reading through my review I don't think I'll stay there next time! I only picked it because I thought the name sounded great.
Staff can be friendly, Karl or Sharon, but the others were difficult to get an acknowledgement or a smile out of them.

Yes, look elsewhere for accommodation and enjoy the beautiful Islands of Malta, Comino and Gozo.

Room Tip: Didn't use the Spa (hot tub jacuzzi) and no swimming pool. The location is superb and the bay vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Arrived on 24th Sept.12, given the worse room in the hotel, no window, air con didn't work. Paid for an upgrade to the front with balcony. Bathroom good, clean but shower cubicle for Twiggy. Air Con worked but smelled of disinfectant. Food and restaurant service appaulling, full of noisey rude students. You get what you pay for I suppose, so never again.

Room Tip: Always book a seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Il Gzira hotels

Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My sister and I stayed at the Due for 4 days in September. For a budget hotel we felt the Due was excellent! Very very reasonable rates and helpful friendly staff. Breakfasts were delicious and the coffee excellent. The room was kept spotless and the beds were really comfy.
To be honest, if we came again, we wouldn't choose half board as the evening meal was not brilliant. Discovered the Pizzeria downstairs on the last night and the pizzas were to die for! I suggest save your pennies and eat there if you want to eat close to the hotel.
Will be coming back for sure!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north west england
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Because we had already had two holidays this year we decided to save ourselves around £500 for a fortnight and stay here instead of where we have stayed previously, the Preluna, big big mistake.
Lets start the the good point… The maid service kept our room clean, towels changed every day and bedding changed several time during our stay.
The bad…
1. I have never stayed in such a small room, which bearing in mind we had paid extra for a so called best room I found disappointing, the bathroom was so small you had to squeeze between the sink and shower screen to get to the toilet, anyone with a waistline over 34/36ins will struggle to A) get in the shower, and B) once in would not be able to turn round without hitting the screen, or tap.
2. A faulty hairdryer which blew hot air onto the hands of anyone using it, reported on three occasions, yet never fixed.
3. Unable to get the only british TV channel advertised (sky news) although some must have been able to because the walls are so thin I could hear Emmon Holmes from the next room every morning, again reported but never fixed.
4. A lift that says it holds four people, if so, they must be twiggy and her sisters.
5. The breakfast is so poor we ended up eating out several days. I don’t expect a full English when away, but have travelled enough to know what constitutes a good continental breakfast, fresh bread, fresh meat, fresh fruit, yogurt etc etc served in clean surroundings, the so called “enhanced” breakfast does none of this, I lived off toast and marmalade.
6. Students..the hotel seems to cater for groups of students, who do not seem to be able to behave whether in the breakfast room, the lift or the corridors late at night.

Anyone who reads my reviews of other hotels around europe will see I do not expect 5 star luxury, and always try to find the good points, however on this occasion I found it hard to find any.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

2nd time at the milano due this year excellent location clean rooms modern bathrooms staff helpful and pleasent espcially Antanova and Kurt I have visited malta over130 time in the past 25 yrs best value for money location and service highly recomend

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Milano Due? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milano Due

Address: 113 the Strand, Il Gzira, Island of Malta GZR03, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Il Gzira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Il Gzira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Milano Due 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Milano Due Hotel has just recently undergone major refurbishment work with much attention given to creating a more comfortable atmosphere. Every room now offers modern bathrooms, lighting and an efficient new water system which has been designed to reduce waste and at the same time be environmentally friendly. The hotel entrance, reception & lobby area, 7th floor panoramic restaurant, sun terraces & whirlpool have also been refurbished giving the hotel a new fresh look. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Milano Due reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milano Due Hotel Il Gzira
Milano Due Hotel Sliema
Milano Due Sliema
Milano Due Malta/Il Gzira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milano Due, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.