We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“extraordinary assistance with booking local adventures/tours” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Esperanza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Esperanza to your Saves list
Hotel Esperanza
APDO 65-5235, Playa Carrillo 5235, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Playa Carrillo
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“extraordinary assistance with booking local adventures/tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Dennis, owner and operator, has a genuine interest in making sure you get the most out of your stay. He will make calls, book tours, give spot on advice about local attractions tailored to your interests. Very professional. Very friendly.
A great find!

Room Tip: Small hotel, all rooms similar. There is a room with handicap equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    17
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
63
70
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We had a great stay in mid May. Dennis, the owner was knowledgeable about excursions and local restaurants. He made these arrangements for us a la concierge. Each morning he made our breakfast - hot and included in the room charge - to our orders,, including guya (sp) pinta, a traditional Costa Rican bean and rice dish.
This is a good value hotel. I felt very safe and would recommend this for young adults through the retired.
Thanks Dennis for everything that you did for us, especially for taking care of Pat's personal matter.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

My wife and I had a perfect week in Carrillo and Hotel Esperanza was a huge part of that. The hotel was very easy to find, about a minute past the beach (5 minute walk). The hotel itself is very nice. Rooms were cute and very clean. They are on the small side but if you're in your room enough to care about that, you're doing something wrong! The pool was perfect at night and walking out of your room at any time and grabbing a star fruit right off the tree was amazing. We saw trees full of howler monkeys about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Went on a beautiful horseback right from the hotel. Nice breakfast variety every morning (fruit, eggs, french toast, gallo pinto, juice, coffee). Dennis & Kattia (husband & wife) are the perfect hosts. Dennis is from the US and Kattia is local. This was perfect because it was easy to communicate with Dennis and Kattia made phone calls for us to get info from Barra Honda National Park that we would have never been able to get ourselves. A couple good restaurants in Carrillo and a bunch in Samara (10 minute drive). I recommend renting a car for your trip because of the freedom it provides. I would absolutely visit Carrillo again and wouldn't even think of staying anywhere but Hotel Esperanza. Thanks Dennis & Kattia!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Gorgeous and convenient, tucked in just off the main road, Dennis and Katya were more than gracious in accommodating us. They have neat rooms with A/C, a cute little child-friendly pool and shaded courtyard. Playa Carrillo is arguably THE most beautiful beach on the Nicoya peninsula.

Room Tip: The doubles at the far end of the courtyard are the largest rooms offered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We found Hotel Esperanza while exploring in 2009 and we just stayed there again in March. Dennis and Kattia and their family made us feel so welcome! Dennis cooked our breakfast to order every morning and offered all sorts of advice on things to do in the area (Playa Carillo is now our favorite beach in the world!) He also offered us towels, chairs and even a cooler that we could take to the beach. The hotel atmosphere is very relaxing and laid back. While there are not fridges in each room, the cooler in the lobby is stocked with beer and wine that guests are welcome to based on a simple honor system. The rooms are cozy and clean and Dennis has over 1000 DVDs to choose from in case of a rainy day.
The hotel is near a small grocery store and the best restaurant in the area. The beautiful beach is short 5 minute walk down the road. You really can't beat the location and hospitality of this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell, Montana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We had a wonderful 8 day stay at Hotel Esperanza. Dennis, Kattia and their family are wonderful people and keep a very clean hotel. They treated us like part of their family which made our stay more than a vacation. The beach is just awesome and a short walk away. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

My stay at this hotel was perfect, and the attention of dennis and kattia was excellent, they worry about keeping us comfortable and provide a quality service, I stayed with my family, we are very pleased and grateful for the attention.Clean and comfortable rooms, the location is absolutely Ideal, the beach is very close. an excellent hotel...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Carrillo
1.7 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 15 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 stars 613 reviews
10.8 mi away
Hotel Leyenda
Hotel Leyenda
#2 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
4.5 of 5 stars 150 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Sueno Tropical
El Sueno Tropical
#3 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
4.5 of 5 stars 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Guanamar
Hotel Guanamar
#4 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
3.5 of 5 stars 189 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#3 of 15 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 stars 246 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#12 of 15 in Playa Samara
3.5 of 5 stars 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Esperanza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Esperanza

Address: APDO 65-5235, Playa Carrillo 5235, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Carrillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Playa Carrillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family oriented hotel, welcoming singles, couples, wedding parties, families, children, and handicap guests. Being a small hotel of 7 rooms we offer a warm family atmosphere with the added bonus of having the amenities of the larger hotels. In 2007 we accomplished a total remodel including all guestrooms with European tiles and exotic Mahogany and Cedar woods throughout. The hotel also features the addition of a new custom pool and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Esperanza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esperanza Hotel Playa Samara
Hotel Esperanza Guanacaste, Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Esperanza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.