We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great intimate hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Esperanza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Esperanza to your Saves list
Hotel Esperanza
APDO 65-5235, Playa Carrillo 5235, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Playa Carrillo
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“Great intimate hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The hotel is very clean and comfortable. It's minutes away from a beautiful and quiet beach and the pool is refreshing and pretty.
Dennis is a great host, very accommodating and helpful. My husband got sick during out stay and he helped us with everything. He is such a nice guy and will do anything to accommodate his guests.
Breakfast was good and plentiful, and Dennis' recommendations for restaurants hit the mark every time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank V B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Dennis, the genuinely friendly owner, will go the extra mile and a half to make you feel at home in his impeccably clean Hotel Esperanza. A tasty and generous breakfast was included and served in the cozy outside dining area next to a small but refreshing pool underneath a starfruit tree. A very impressive collection of movies in the lobby's bookshelves is free to use, and you'll also find free internet to help plan your days on the Nicoya peninsula.

Martin and Tijana from Montréal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Backpacker728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varberg, Hallands Län, Sweden
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Do not usually write here on TripAdvisor, but the experience at the Hotel Esperanza was so good that it would be wrong not to let others know. Major hospitality is hard to find. Dennis received us with open arms and solved everything he could to make our stay great. Fixed with extra mattress, drying rack so we could wash up some clothes and even cereal and milk for our son who didn't get any food at the restaurant ... A hotel with a warm atmosphere, nice pool area, good breakfast, walking distance to the sea and Dennis who generously shared everything worth knowing about Carrillo, and about good tours, like horseriding. Thanks Dennis from the whole family. Regret that we did not show up on New Year's Eve with you too :-).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlott E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

My husband and I and our 2 daughters and their husbands had a wonderful three days stay at Hotel Esperanza. Our host, Dennis, made us feel like we were right at home. We enjoyed the delicious breakfasts, the honor bar, the pool, the beach and the clean and comfortable rooms. Dennis recommended a sunset horseback ride that was a highlight of our trip. The town of Carrillo has a local, friendly vibe and the pizza at Toucan was delicious.We would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Costa Rica!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the nice, cozy and quiet Hotel Esperanza with our two kids. We really enjoyed our stay: rooms are clean, nice pool, very good breakfast, really close to the beautiful Playa Carillo. The owner Dennis is really friendly and really took good care of us! Do not hesitate to go at this hotel.

Also, don't miss Gusto restaurant in Samara!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mag555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pewaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

My husband and I spent one night at this hotel and would highly recommend it to others. The rooms are very nice and the pool area is beautiful. In addition to the hotel being clean, comfortable and affordable, Dennis, the owner was a fantastic host. He really made us feel at home with the little things that really matter, such as lending us a knife and plates to cut our pineapple! He also gave recommendations on dining and activites. The hotel is a short walk to Playa Carillo and a short taxi ride (about $15 for the 2 of us) to Playa Samara. It is also on the bus line. Both beaches are absolutely breathtaking.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

This is a cozy little great hotel, my family and inlaws stayed for a whole week, everyone enjoyed the warm service and great weather, Carillo beach is one of the best beaches in Costa Rica. Dennis, the hotel owner, made us feel at home and even better. I really recommend this hotel for families and friends that like to enjoy the beach in a relaxing and healthy way.

Room Tip: Room 7 has the biggest bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose_Conejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Carrillo
1.7 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 15 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 stars 664 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Guanamar
Hotel Guanamar
#4 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
3.5 of 5 stars 220 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Leyenda
Hotel Leyenda
#2 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
4.5 of 5 stars 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
El Sueno Tropical
El Sueno Tropical
#3 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
4.5 of 5 stars 129 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#12 of 15 in Playa Samara
3.5 of 5 stars 535 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#3 of 15 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 stars 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Esperanza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Esperanza

Address: APDO 65-5235, Playa Carrillo 5235, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Carrillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Playa Carrillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family oriented hotel, welcoming singles, couples, wedding parties, families, children, and handicap guests. Being a small hotel of 7 rooms we offer a warm family atmosphere with the added bonus of having the amenities of the larger hotels. In 2007 we accomplished a total remodel including all guestrooms with European tiles and exotic Mahogany and Cedar woods throughout. The hotel also features the addition of a new custom pool and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Esperanza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esperanza Hotel Playa Samara
Hotel Esperanza Guanacaste, Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing