We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was perfect, thanks Dennis!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Esperanza

Save Saved
You added Hotel Esperanza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Esperanza
APDO 65-5235, Playa Carrillo 5235, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Playa Carrillo
Varberg, Hallands Län, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Everything was perfect, thanks Dennis!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Do not usually write here on TripAdvisor, but the experience at the Hotel Esperanza was so good that it would be wrong not to let others know. Major hospitality is hard to find. Dennis received us with open arms and solved everything he could to make our stay great. Fixed with extra mattress, drying rack so we could wash up some clothes and even cereal and milk for our son who didn't get any food at the restaurant ... A hotel with a warm atmosphere, nice pool area, good breakfast, walking distance to the sea and Dennis who generously shared everything worth knowing about Carrillo, and about good tours, like horseriding. Thanks Dennis from the whole family. Regret that we did not show up on New Year's Eve with you too :-).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    14
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
54
58
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dana Point, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My husband and I and our 2 daughters and their husbands had a wonderful three days stay at Hotel Esperanza. Our host, Dennis, made us feel like we were right at home. We enjoyed the delicious breakfasts, the honor bar, the pool, the beach and the clean and comfortable rooms. Dennis recommended a sunset horseback ride that was a highlight of our trip. The town of Carrillo has a local, friendly vibe and the pizza at Toucan was delicious.We would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Costa Rica!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the nice, cozy and quiet Hotel Esperanza with our two kids. We really enjoyed our stay: rooms are clean, nice pool, very good breakfast, really close to the beautiful Playa Carillo. The owner Dennis is really friendly and really took good care of us! Do not hesitate to go at this hotel.

Also, don't miss Gusto restaurant in Samara!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pewaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

My husband and I spent one night at this hotel and would highly recommend it to others. The rooms are very nice and the pool area is beautiful. In addition to the hotel being clean, comfortable and affordable, Dennis, the owner was a fantastic host. He really made us feel at home with the little things that really matter, such as lending us a knife and plates to cut our pineapple! He also gave recommendations on dining and activites. The hotel is a short walk to Playa Carillo and a short taxi ride (about $15 for the 2 of us) to Playa Samara. It is also on the bus line. Both beaches are absolutely breathtaking.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

This is a cozy little great hotel, my family and inlaws stayed for a whole week, everyone enjoyed the warm service and great weather, Carillo beach is one of the best beaches in Costa Rica. Dennis, the hotel owner, made us feel at home and even better. I really recommend this hotel for families and friends that like to enjoy the beach in a relaxing and healthy way.

Room Tip: Room 7 has the biggest bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Me & my hubby stayed here on the tail end of our honeymoon & we were thrilled with the personal attention of owner Dennis & his staff & the clean & cozy rooms. We enjoyed the daily delicious free breakfast in the outdoor patio next to the sparkling pool. We savored a sizzling pineapple flambé dessert made in honor of our honeymoon courtesy of Hotel Esperanza! The hotel is just minutes away from Playa Carrillo. We highly recommend Hotel Esperanza for any tourists and would definitely return here!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio De Belen, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed for two nights in hotel Esperanza. About 5 minutes walking from one of the most beautiful beaches in Costa Rica. Playa Carrillo, 7 km south of the village of Samara.
The owner Dennis received us with open arms and directly we felt at home in this small ( 7 rooms) hotel. Clean rooms with airco and just some meters from the pool. In the direct surroundings are a lot of restaurants to each wish. Italian, Argentina and typical Costarican. All at some minutes walking. So you can drink without problems your favorite beer or wine with your dinner. In the morning a perfect breakfast was served with fresh fruits, fresh coffee, juice and your eggs the way you want them. Dennis gave us a lot of information about what to do in this area. We travel a lot in Costa Rica but the hotel Esperanza is one of the best in value for quality and hospitality.

Johan

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Esperanza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Esperanza

Address: APDO 65-5235, Playa Carrillo 5235, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Carrillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Playa Carrillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family oriented hotel, welcoming singles, couples, wedding parties, families, children, and handicap guests. Being a small hotel of 7 rooms we offer a warm family atmosphere with the added bonus of having the amenities of the larger hotels. In 2007 we accomplished a total remodel including all guestrooms with European tiles and exotic Mahogany and Cedar woods throughout. The hotel also features the addition of a new custom pool and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Esperanza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esperanza Hotel Playa Samara
Hotel Esperanza Guanacaste, Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Esperanza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.