We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking views and will do a return trip!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Guanamar

Save Saved
You added Hotel Guanamar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Guanamar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Carrillo, Playa Carrillo 1260, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Playa Carrillo
Black Creek, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views and will do a return trip!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This hotel is amazing. The views from any angle are to die for!! Staff is very accomodating and pleasant. We stayed there for 2 nights and enjoyed many adventures. Walking on the beach and taking in the tropical atmosphere was unreal. Went on a half day fishing trip from the hotel ($350) and caught black tuna and needle fish. Delightful guide that knew some English and worked very hard for us. We wanted to do the Marlin fishing, but other charters were very expensive to rent.

We did take in the Turtle tour and was able to see a rare black turtle come into shore and lay her eggs (85 of them), and the release of new borns back into the ocean from the sanctuary/reserve. This is conducted at night so its very hard to see. Unfortunately the people that were with us kept putting on their ipod lights that was disturbing the turtle.

The restaurant was very good and plentiful. I am elergic to some items so they accomodated me and made me special plates for me to enjoy.

The sunsets were without words. Sitting back on the deck, drinking Miami Vices (pinocolada mixed with strawberry dacqari), with peace and quiet.... what more could you ask for?

We took a taxi to the beach town ($10) for our shopping adventures. Fantastic people that you can barter with and came away with some really nice gifts at very reasonable prices. The tempature for this day was 34 degrees celcuis (94 farenheight) . Extremely hot but SO loved it and absorbed it all!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    51
    28
    10
    15
See reviews for
34
57
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The pool is fabulous with an incredible view. The Restaurante is great! you can eat there and you will pay a low price for delicious typical and tropical dishes.
Customer service is excellent.
I can not wait to stay there one more time!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Excellent oceanview cabins and cleanliness was amazing. Food was good but not inexpensive. The sunsets are worth it, especially for the excellent pool and a walk on the sandy beach is a 2 minute walk down the hill. There are options to fish and snorkel in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This hotel is perched in the best spot in all of Carrillo for sunset viewing. The pool, restaurant, and ocean view rooms were money on their views of the bay. The pool was fantastic. The restaurant food was average and certainly the most expensive I've encountered so far in costa rica. There are a few options for food outside of the hotel so no worries there.

I stayed in an ocean view room. It was sparsely decorated, reminding me of how the non-secured hotels looked in New Orleans a few months post-Katrina. They were open but you sense something just isn't right upon entering the room. I couldn't imagine paying high season rates at this hotel. There isn't much to do at the hotel or in Carrillo to warrant paying more.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My family and I enjoyed staying at the hotel. We spent two nights at Bay Front and we do recommend to reserve a room at Ocean View just to get the beautiful view of the ocean that the hotel has to offer.
The pool and the restaurant is awesome and the staff is very nice and friendly. Carrillo beach is a beautiful clean beach which is a short walking distance from the hotel. We really hope to go back there some day soon!

Room Tip: Ocean View rooms have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I had asked for the nicest hotel in Carrillo and the taxi driver brought me here. The hotel has the appearance of luxury at first, but upon a closer look, it is really a dump. The rooms have an absolutely incredible view, but they are not very clean and in disrepair. The AC was very loud and kept turning off and on all night waking me up. The staff were totally UNhelpful. The kicker was that after spending the night I woke up with bug bites all over my feet arms. Mind you, I slept with long pants and a jacket, with the covers on. I believe there was some kind of biting insects in the bed/mattress. When I informed the front desk that this had happened, the receptionist gave me a dirty look like I was crazy and told me that "we have never had this problem here". If you want to go to this place, go to the bar for a drink during sunset. Don't stay overnight.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Stayed for a week ocean view room 120. Great timing I hear its during the indian summer and noone was at the hotel, pool or beach and it was sunny. Staff was helpful and nice. Everything at the hotel is rundown, old and not cleanist (shower) but for the price the room was spacious and had a great view. Paid $67 for oceanview through Hotels.com. There were people that would just come for the sunset and then leave. Air conditioner was very loud. Had some small ants on the bathroom counter (they gave us ant spray) and the shower water did back up. Trek up to the pool/restaurant using the stairs is not for elderly. Food was very good. I would go back to this hotel.

Note:
- Sunset is at 6:15 pm and sunrise is at 5ish am. So the monkeys, birds will wake you up at 5-5:30 am. Breakfast is not unit 7:30 am.
- If you need to charge a laptop the only three-pronged electrical sockets are on the back side of the resteraunt and the office in the lobby. No Wi-Fi at the pool I found the best reception at the back side of the resteraunt were the electrical socket to charge my laptop.
- Bring bug spray, the mosquitos were merciless.
- If you are going on a tour and getting picked up before 7 am, tell the lobby and they will have security open the gates.
- There is a room safe but you have to pay each day for it.
- There is crocodille (12ft) by the first bridge that stays on the river side so if you are walking to Carrillo beach, just stay on the road. Actually I wouldn't go in the woods or brush. I wash told there are scorpions, corral snake, vipers, etc...
-There is a coffee maker in the room but you have to ask for the coffee packet at the lobby
- The road that hotel is on if you keep going up the road, there is a small store with with drinks, snacks, shampoo, etc...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Guanamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Guanamar

Address: Playa Carrillo, Playa Carrillo 1260, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Carrillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Playa Carrillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Guanamar 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guanamar is a three star family hotel in Playa Carrillo Costa Rica in Guanacaste province which has been operating for the last 25 years in the North Pacific coast of Costa Rica, near the warm waters of Pacific ocean.It just 2 miles from Playa Samara. The hotel is surrounded by the rich and exuberant flora and fauna typical from the area. Guanamar is perfectly situated on the hill top at the southern end of the bay, inviting guests to enjoy the spectacular panoramic views and sunsets. Guanamar is located close to samara beach hotels (4miles) and just 1 mile from local airport (samara airport). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Guanamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guanamar Hotel Playa Carrillo
Hotel Guanamar Guanacaste, Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Guanamar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.