We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I like this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Sueno Tropical

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added El Sueno Tropical to your Saves list
El Sueno Tropical
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Carrillo | Guanacaste, Playa Carrillo 50205, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Playa Carrillo
Alta Loma, California
1 review
“I like this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

A great place to stay in CR. Jose and his staff were probably some of the nicest people I met in Costa Rica. The place is very clean, spacious, and the whole resort is nicely laid out and a bargain for the price. The food was great as well. They easily accommodated and fed the seven of us in two rooms.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    20
    4
    6
    2
See reviews for
24
46
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

A wonderful place to stay in Costa Rica! Modest prices, amazing food, close to the beach in a tropical-garden setting and extremely helpful, caring staff. Friends and I have been coming to El Sueno Tropical almost annually since it first opened about 20 years ago. There have been a handful of owners over the course of the last two decades and the hotel has seen some ups and downs. After our recent stay, however, all of my friends agreed that Jose and his staff have the El Sueno back where it belongs - friendly service, delicious food, amiable bar. Wish I was there with friends now. Many thanks to Jose, Maria and all the staff. Pancho

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosefromCostaRica, Owner at El Sueno Tropical, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
hola pancho

thanks for the great review, a pat on the back is always nice, and having you guys here was the reason i am here, to see people enjoying each other's company in this wonderful setting. hope to see u back here soon, or i will see u this fall when i go to gainesville for a Gator game.

jose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Great place and the most important thing great people working there. The owner Jose and is staff gave me great service. One of the best that I got during my 3 week vacation in CR. The place has been renovated recently and the rooms have new beds and freshly painted. The hotel is close to a beautiful beach. I highly recommend this place.... Thanks again Jose and Maria for your help and hospitality. Sebastien

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosefromCostaRica, Owner at El Sueno Tropical, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
hola sebastian

it was great that u stumbled into our place, we had a wonderful time with u guys, and loved hearing about ur adventures in jaco. c u back here soon,

jose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

This recently renovated hotel has new colors, new amenities, great staff, beautiful setting, near one of the most beautiful beaches in Costa Rica, Playa Carrillo. The wildlife sightings on the property were incredible. The restaurant food and service were excellent with many vegetarian options to choose, and Jose was attentive and personable. We are looking forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I can't find the words to express my gratitude to the staff of this hotel, I spent a perfect time with my girlfriend and my dogs!!! I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking to rest and have a great time in Costa Rica!!!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosefromCostaRica, Owner at El Sueno Tropical, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Google Translation
hola luis carlos

muchas gracias por la reseña, tus perros son super bien portados, y estan bienvenidos cuando quieran, que tengan un feliz año.

jose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montezuma, CR
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Amazing how much beauty can be in one place!. The room was so clean, the restaurant and bar were comfortable. Private, safe parking. Jose knows how to do it right here.......just like he does his B&B in Alajuela, Vida Tropical.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosefromCostaRica, Owner at El Sueno Tropical, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
hola carolina
it was great seeing you again, and please say hi to your friend Sue. it was so nice of you to drive up from your place in Montezuma to see my new place. Thanks for the Gator memorabilia, love the fighting gator song when you poke his stomach. hope to see you back soon,

jose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Zancudo, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I went to El Sueno Tropical for two days and stayed for two weeks. .. I found more than I was looking for at this renovating hotel. .. the new innkeeper, Jose and johanna are the greatest. .. making each guest a special guest. .. the rooms are clean and comfortable. . The tv's are new and work. .. the grounds are immaculate. . And the food was delicious. .. the only thing I can cite as a drawback would be that the hotel is five minutes from the beach. .. Not Bad

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosefromCostaRica, Owner at El Sueno Tropical, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
hey jimmy
thanks for the review, it was a pleasure to have you here for 2 weeks when you expected to be here just a couple of days then take off for your winter digs in Zancudo, i heard it's not bad there...

jose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Sueno Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Sueno Tropical

Address: Playa Carrillo | Guanacaste, Playa Carrillo 50205, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Carrillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Playa Carrillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Sueno Tropical 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Sueno Tropical is a small 16 rooms resort set in 3 acres of tropical gardens. There are 4 buildings that house 4 units per building. There are 8 standard rooms, 4 deluxe rooms and 4 two bedrooms apartments. There is a freeform Italian tiled pool with a small wading pool. El Sueno Tropical has a 40 seat open air restaurant featuring American, Italian and Tico fare along with the best pizza in the area. Adjoining the restaurant is the Gator in the Jungle bar serving your favorite libations along with the freshest tropical fruit drinks you will find anywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your El Sueno Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Sueno Tropical Guanacaste, Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Sueno Tropical, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.