We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Sueno Tropical

Save Saved
You added El Sueno Tropical to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
El Sueno Tropical
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Carrillo | Guanacaste, Playa Carrillo 50205, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Playa Carrillo
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

El Sueno Tropical was a fantastic place to stay. The rooms were great and had A/C. The owners we super friendly and made sure we had a great vacation. The breakfast that was included with our stay was amazing. Make sure you order the tico breakfast. It does not have ocean views, but playa carillo is only about a 5-6 minute drive. We didn't use the pool that was on the grounds because we were mostly in the ocean, but it was a nice pool next to the eating area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    14
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
18
31
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

El Sueno Tropical is the best in the area for Costa Rican and American cusine with local flare by far!
The resort's personable, hands on owners and staff can customize your Costa Rica visit to ensure it is a memorable one. El Sueno Tropical is at the center of world class sport fishing, surfing, nature attractions and boast's the most beautiful crescent white sand beach on the Pacific coast that can make your vacation complete and is minutes away!
We have visited El Sueno Tropical every year for the last 4 years and will continue to do so!
If you truly want to relax on your vacation, El Sueno Tropical fits the bill.
Your trip to Playa Carrillo is not complete without stopping in and let Vinnie and Zeta show you their Costa Rican hospitality.
The best value in the area hands down and don't be offended if you are asked to sample the drink of the night.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orford, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

What a great place to stay at when visiting Samara. It's only 5 minutes drive away and we got a huge family suite (with 2 bedrooms, 1 king bed and 3 twins) for $70 with a delicious breakfast included (take the tico breakfast). The rooms are super clean, the beds are comfortable. It is very quiet and the pool and pool side is great.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasilla, Alaska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stopped in at El Sueno Tropical for dinner last month after a local said it was a great place to eat with a large variety on the menu. The owner, Vinny, suggested the fresh-caught seared tuna and it was excellent.... to gourmet standards prepared by local chefs with very reasonable prices. My husband had a great meal as well and our 13-year-old who had a perfect Costa Rican cheeseburger and fries (his usual). There was also a good live acoustic guitar player/singer. The grounds are beautiful and has very relaxing pool area. I I liked the comfortable, authentic and 'not too fancy' feel of the place and Vinny was a knowledgable, nice guy. I only wish we would have found it earlier that was our last night and we would have returned for sure. We plan to stay there the next time we're in the Carillo/Samara area. Also, the wild deer around the grounds was worth the stop alone.
Andrea in Alaska

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Longmeadow, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

These folks are the best. They are hands-on owner operated. Beautiful rooms and surroundings. Not to mention Vinnie makes an awesome Margarita. The food is fabulous. You don't have to leave to find somewhere else to have a meal and you can make all your tour plans right from there. The people you will meet there and in the open-air bar they also have are the nicest and friendliest people you will meet on your trip. Highly, recommend this property.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, CA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

Stayed here 2 nights, would come back.

Pros -
Super helpful owner, when we encountered a couple of problems he quickly made them right and then some.
Tasty restaurant.
Large quiet (as long as the howler monkeys aren't nearby!) and comfy rooms with AC.
Nice pool.

Cons -
Rooms are a bit dated, and could use some updating.
A bit of a ways to the beach, but no problem if you have a car.
Some of the staff seemed to be new, and made a few mistakes, but as I stated, the owner quickly fixed them.

Would have no problem staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephenville, Texas
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

I arrived with a couple of companions to assess the hotel for my company, Going Native Adventures. My look was designed to be critical based on the possibility of booking our clients there.I found the hotel to be more than adequate in relatioship to price. It's clean and comfortable. The pool area is pretty and relaxing. The staff is beyond friendly, which is extremely important to how I view desirability. The food is good and surprisingly consistent although everyone there seems to have a hand in preparing it. The owners are family and more than great hosts. They are nice people. They try to make your stay as pleasant as they personally can. Vinnie, the managing partner even went as far as taking me around to other hotels and businesses. I intended to part with my companions and make my way back to my home. Zayda, Vinnies wife and co-owner, was going to San Jose on business and kindly offered me a lift to Palmares. She was friendly, polite, and informative. I recommend this hotel as solid and its staff as professional, courteous, and interested in building relationships. Too bad the beach isn't a wee bit closer, but it's only a couple of miles away.

Room Tip: Call in advance and book by phone.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Sueno Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Sueno Tropical

Address: Playa Carrillo | Guanacaste, Playa Carrillo 50205, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Carrillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Playa Carrillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Sueno Tropical 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Sueño Tropical is a small 16 rooms resort set in the 3 acres of tropical gardens. There are 4 buildings that house 4 units per building. There are 8 standard rooms, 4 deluxe rooms and 4 two bedrooms apartments. There is a freeform Italian tiled pool with a small wading pool. El Sueño Tropical has a 70 seat open air restaurant featuring American, Italian and Tico fare along with the best pizza in the area. The restaurant receives fresh fish daily from local fisherman which means it was swimming only hours before it is served to you. Adjoining the restaurant is the Bulldog in the Jungle bar serving your favorite libations along with the freshest tropical fruit drinks you will find anywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your El Sueno Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Sueno Tropical Guanacaste, Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Sueno Tropical, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.