We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service and hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Sueno Tropical

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added El Sueno Tropical to your Saves list
El Sueno Tropical
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Carrillo | Guanacaste, Playa Carrillo 50205, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Playa Carrillo
Stephenville, Texas
Level Contributor
161 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Service and hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

I arrived with a couple of companions to assess the hotel for my company, Going Native Adventures. My look was designed to be critical based on the possibility of booking our clients there.I found the hotel to be more than adequate in relatioship to price. It's clean and comfortable. The pool area is pretty and relaxing. The staff is beyond friendly, which is extremely important to how I view desirability. The food is good and surprisingly consistent although everyone there seems to have a hand in preparing it. The owners are family and more than great hosts. They are nice people. They try to make your stay as pleasant as they personally can. Vinnie, the managing partner even went as far as taking me around to other hotels and businesses. I intended to part with my companions and make my way back to my home. Zayda, Vinnies wife and co-owner, was going to San Jose on business and kindly offered me a lift to Palmares. She was friendly, polite, and informative. I recommend this hotel as solid and its staff as professional, courteous, and interested in building relationships. Too bad the beach isn't a wee bit closer, but it's only a couple of miles away.

Room Tip: Call in advance and book by phone.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank bobinman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

I booked a night in December from El Sueno Tropical through their website, the reservation was confirmed and 25% was charged from my credit card. However, after this I received an email from the hotel that someone else had booked the room before me by calling the hotel so that now they didn't have any rooms left. They said that they could of course reimburse my deposit but that's the last time I heard of them. I have since tried to email them 3 times (no response) and called 2 times (both times being told that the money will be sent as soon as possible) and I still haven't received my deposit back. It's been almost 7 weeks now.

This being said, I really can't comment on the amenities of the hotel itself since I haven't spent a night there. But after this episode, I would rather spend my night sleeping on the beach than going to El Sueno Tropical.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank tna23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TommyTheWho, Propriétaire at El Sueno Tropical, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
It is important to note that Mr. Tna23 has never been our guest. This person has never set foot in our hotel. For this reason we believe that this comment is inappropriate and unfair. This person has paid 25% of the notes in advance using the PayPal service. Following his request, it is important to note that the person has been fully repaid. The delay that the person mentioned to reimburse been out of our control and due to Paypal and no to our hotel. We are very disappointed by the bad experience of this person. However we are more disappointed with the lack of rigor in Tripadvisor, which allows a person aggrieved by the slow service Paypal, tarnish the reputation of our hotel, so that the same person has never been our client.

The Direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

Great place with great people. Very helpful staff that can get you to anyplace that you want to travel. They helped with getting me to a fishing boat as well where I had a wonderful experience catching a marlin in a half a day. Also, wonderful food in the restaurant, beautiful pool and great rooms with very cold AC. Very isolated and would recommend to anyone wanting to see the pacific side of Costa Rica.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shebrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa FL
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

Vinnie and Zayda have created a beautiful, friendly place near Playa Carrillo Costa Rica. I just spent a week there with my 11 year old son. By the time we left we felt like family. We loved coming up to the restaurant nestled in the lush greenery in the morning for our amazing coffee and typico breakfast. Evenings in the restaurant were frequent because we believe Vinnie has the best food in town. The beds are huge and towels yummy - hard to find in this neck of the woods. The pool is crystal clear and best of all the people are wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmcoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicoya, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

The grounds are accessible via three entrances from the main road that passes thru Carrillo. Very secure, lush, and a full service place. There was a TV in the room, plus internet via wi-fi if you are interested in that - we weren't as it was a vacation get away. Every meal was great. The bar has both locals and English speakers where you can catch a mix of both American and World Football plus local rodeo (very popular). The rooms were clean, bed covers and pillows soft & comfortable. Service at all levels was friendly and polite. No phone in rooms however no problem receiving or making calls from the lobby/restaurant/bar. Most rooms had a hammock hung outside them. 10 min from Carrillo, Camoronal, and the Tortuga (turtle) reservation, another 10 min beyond Carrillo to Samara with grocery & hardware stores along the way. Pool with kiddie pool centrally located however with incredible Carrillo beach and it's mostly Tico visitors so close we never used it.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissKahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

Had a wonderful time at El Sueno Tropical. The hotel staff is wonderful, and the new owners go the extra mile to make sure that their guests are taken care of. It is a very relaxed atmosphere, and almost feels like a home away from home. The rooms are a perfect size with everything you would need. If you want to stay around the hotel, the pool and bar are excellent. The restaurant has a wondeful menu, with made to order meals. The beach is a short trip away, and is BEAUTIFUL! If you are looking for more thirlls, the hotel staff was very helpful in setting us up with a zip line tour and deep sea fishing. All in all, a wonderful trip!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mdisney83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2008

There are no hotels directly on Playa Carrillo, a beautiful palm lined beach in the south west Nicoya about 15 minutes from Samara. All hotels in the Playa Carrillo area are along the main road and I would say require a car to get to. El Sueno Tropical is set in the hills and surrounded by a beautiful garden. The rooms are located in little bungalows scattered along the property and the pool, restaurant and bar are at the top of the hill. The pool area is a lovely oasis with really comfy padded, reclining chairs. The restaurant and bar had excellent service and the bartender is happy to walk over and serve you at the pool. The front desk attendants were very helpful and planned all our activities for us. The food at the restaurant was very very good. Breakfast is included and the coffee (made fresh with steamed milk - con leche- if you desire) was probably the best morning coffee we had in our 3 week vacation in CR. The bungalows were extremely spacious, had safes and CD players equipt with a CD of easy listening music. The beds were comfortable but firm. Rooms have all bamboo furniture with brightly colored accents. The water in this area was tricky to get really hot but your in Costa Rica - who cares?

  • Liked — Great pool area and restaurant
  • Disliked — I do not mind a climb but if you do it is pretty hilly
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tigerinthewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Carrillo
0.0 mi away
Hotel Guanamar
Hotel Guanamar
#4 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
3.5 of 5 stars 220 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Esperanza
Hotel Esperanza
#1 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
5.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Leyenda
Hotel Leyenda
#2 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
4.5 of 5 stars 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 15 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 stars 660 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#12 of 15 in Playa Samara
3.5 of 5 stars 521 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#3 of 15 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 stars 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Sueno Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Sueno Tropical

Address: Playa Carrillo | Guanacaste, Playa Carrillo 50205, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Carrillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Playa Carrillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — El Sueno Tropical 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Sueno Tropical is a small 16 rooms resort set in 3 acres of tropical gardens. There are 4 buildings that house 4 units per building. There are 8 standard rooms, 4 deluxe rooms and 4 two bedrooms apartments. There is a freeform Italian tiled pool with a small wading pool. El Sueno Tropical has a 40 seat open air restaurant featuring American, Italian and Tico fare along with the best pizza in the area. Adjoining the restaurant is the Gator in the Jungle bar serving your favorite libations along with the freshest tropical fruit drinks you will find anywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your El Sueno Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Sueno Tropical Guanacaste, Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing