We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best find!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Colibri

El Colibri
200 Mtrs Este Del Hotel Guanamar | 50 mtrs de la Iglesia, Playa Carrillo, Costa Rica
+506 2656 0656
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $32
Cuisines: Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Description: Las mejores carnes al estilo Argentino en una de las mejores playas de Costa Costa, Playa Carrillo. Los invitamos a disfrutar de nuestra comida casera, sencilla en un ambiente familiar.
Oakville, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best find!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We were told by locals to try it out. Well they were so right. I am not a beef lover but the way it's prepared and cooked made it the best i ever had. We chose the diner for 2 and we had a tons of food. It was so delicious. From the service to the food is was excellent. I do suggest that you make reservation, I will be returning, it is on our place to visit when we come back. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    21
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsford, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Place - Very Hard to find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Somebody recommended this place to us and it was much better than expected. The food was much better than El Lagarto, who everybody talks about, and the atmosphere was great too. The service and the drinks were great too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Accidental find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We found this restaurant by accident while looking for our B&B. They have an impressive grill dedicating for steaks. Big portion. I'm not a steak person so I cannot speak on that but my hubby enjoyed it. The staff were friendly. They let us use the phone to call our B&B. A bit pricey.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Québec, Canada
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel and restaurant!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed one night at this place. room was great, good beds, air con, hot water and a pool. We ate at the restaurant for diner and it was one of the best we had so far. They have a great selection of wines and the meal was perfect. We took their plate of chicken, sausage and steak for 2 but there was enough for 4 persons.... But it was so good that we ate it all!!!!! So we had to walk after for digest a little bit.... The place is run by the owners and it was very friendly. Worth the détour if you pass in this place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinnelon, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing service and starters”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Really looking forward to a great steak on a Tuesday night which the restaurant delivered. The ribeye was tender and flavorful but that is where the best part ends. Friends had the NY strip which was flavorful but chewy. All steaks were cooked perfectly as ordered.The waiter forgot the accompting baked potato and after eating half of my steak brought french fries instead. After being reminded of the order the potato arrived with three bites of steak left. The shrimp, avocado and fresh hearts of palm salad disappointed. Palms tasted canned not fresh. The salad came without the promised "pink souse". The waiter was asked 3 times and each time forgot. The sauce finally arrived 15 minutes later after others were long finished with their starters. Malbec by the glass was good and the garlic dipping sauce for the hot rolls was delicious. Waiter was not attentive at all and acted like he did not care if we were there.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Colibri also viewed

Playa Carrillo, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Carrillo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Carrillo, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to El Colibri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Colibri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.