We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and cozy place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Puerto Carrillo Hotel

Puerto Carrillo Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Puerto Carrillo Hotel to your Saves list
Puerto Carrillo Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 meters from the Iglesia Catolica | 150 meters East of the football field, Playa Carrillo 05235, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Playa Carrillo
Heredia, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice and cozy place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

Very inexpensive for what you get: king size bed, air conditioner, ceiling fan, cable, refrigerator and hot water. The owner definitely knows how to make you feel comfortable. The food at the restaurant might not be as good as I expected, but that doesn't mean that it was bad.

Room Tip: Watch out for the ants if you bring food to your room, so picking one room on the 2nd floor might be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    5
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
7
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

The owners were delightfully helpful and the room was clean and spacious. They went above and beyond to make sure that we were taken care of and we stayed an extra few nights because we enjoyed it so much (and it was very affordable). The beach is an immaculate, white-sand beach with little islands dotting the distance. You can walk down the street to a darling pizza joint or stay there at the restaurant for some delicious, homemade pizza. The other hotels nearby were not willing to cut us a good rate, even in the rainy season, but they were very accommodating. I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Choose a room up above with a view of the pool below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

Great place to stay around Samara, just up the road from playa Carrillo a spectacularly beautiful, long, sandy, mostly empty beach lined by palm trees.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

We have been in Puerto Carrillo Hotel for two nights.
Owned by two Italians the place is nice, comfortable and quiet but rooms are not clean well enough and two of them didn´t had hot water during our stay. Also breakfast was not OK: coffee, milk, bread slices, a broken toaster, butter and jam … no juice, fruits, ham or cheese.
In the second day, serious troubles. Without doors or windows forced or broken, 3 of our rooms have been robbed, bags and lockers open, and $ 380 USD have vanish. After participate the assault to the manager he pay the guests the importance missing right away. He also told our local guide that is not the first time that happens in the hotel and that we have been robbed by one of the employees.
For the group it was an unpleasant stay in this place. If you want to spend some peaceful days in Praia Carrillo don´t use this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

Your hosts at Puerto Carrillo Hotel are Silvio and Luka, who opened their laid-back, low-key and easy-going hotel in 2008. Silvio is very kind and helpful! You can listen to him greet his guests in 4 languages. The hotel is operated in the spirit of an Italian pensione - clean, comfortable room with no fuss, A/C, mini fridge, cable TV, en suite bath with hot shower. The hotel has a small italian restaurant with bar and free Wi Fi. The small reception area also has internet access. A light breakfast of fresh fruit, toast, juice and coffee are included.
Along the same road are a couple of stores and several tasty places to eat. If needed, the local bus (300 colones one-way) will take you into Samara which has banks with ATMs, restaurants with bars, shops and the closest thing to a night life - but that's not why one travels all the way to this part of the Nicoya Peninsula.
The setting is a bit rural. You'll be awaken every morning to a cacophony of birds announcing the start of another day in paradise. This is the last unspoiled spot in Costa Rica that hasn't been overrun by tourist. Visit, but leave no trace

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for a couple nights in Feb and were quite happy with our stay. Here is what this hotel "is" and "isn't" to help outline our experience.

Puerto Carrillo Hotel is......

Near great and pretty quiet Carrillo Beach with great swimming
Clean and comfortable and quiet
Good price ($70-80/night)
Nice rooms with good AC (hot in Samara/Carrillo) and satelitte TV (if you need that)
Best for travelers speaking Italian, French, Spanish. Staff not too good with English.
Good internet and WiFi
Conveniently across from a supermarket where you can cross the road for beers, snacks, etc.
About 8-10 km drive from Samara
Best if you have a vehicle to get to beach (down a big hill and hiking up after beach would be nasty in the heat) and Samara.
Nice, small pool for a cool dip after the beach
Best for families with kids, couples not looking to party it up
Good, basic italian food served up at small restaurant

Puerto Carrillo Hotel is not......

In anyway a place to go if you want to party or mingle it up. stay in Samara for that.
Good if you have no vehicle. Expect long hot walks to the beach. Can take the bus though.
For people who demand english be spoken to them.
Great for food other than italian pastas, sandwiches
Place to go for a great view from your room. Rooms look at the pool and not near the beach or on a cliff looking at the ocean.
Most romantic place.
A huge property. Quite small and no area to take a walk.

In summary, we really enjoyed it because it was near a fantastic beach and the rooms and food were good value and very clean. We went into Samara a couple nights for dinner and we had a vehicle to do this. If no vehicle, stay somewhere else is my suggestion.

Cheers

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2010

You'll find a great hangout here in the quiet village of Carrillo - about a 5 minute walk to the beach. We stayed 4 nights and loved every bit. You can take the local bus into Samara if you want a change of scenery, but Playa Carrillo is a fantastic beach and you probably won't want to leave. The owner is delightfully laid back and always willing to assist with anything. We took him up on his offer to arrange a locak kayaking trip - a wonderful idea - lots of fun! Our room was large and comfortable. A couple of evenings we hung out by the bar with the owner and passed the time in great conversation. You can also get dinner here (Italian).

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Puerto Carrillo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puerto Carrillo Hotel

Address: 50 meters from the Iglesia Catolica | 150 meters East of the football field, Playa Carrillo 05235, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Carrillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Playa Carrillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Puerto Carrillo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One finds the tranquility of the surrounding natural greenery (the Guanacaste region) and the neighboring Beach (Carrillo Beach) With 3.5 kms of coastline, a "Corner of Paradise" between the white sand and palm trees kissed by the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Puerto Carrillo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerto Carrillo Hotel Guanacaste, Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puerto Carrillo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.